follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-27-2019, 03:50 AM   #1
aznchris
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Drives: Scion 86 tS
Location: CA
Posts: 47
Thanks: 14
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Chinese speed/auto lock module blinking hazard issue

I bought a auto/speed lock module for my AT FRS and although it works as advertised, it flashes my hazards every time a door or the trunk is opened. It's quite annoying to me. I was wondering if anyone else had this same module and knows how to disable it. I contacted the seller and they sell to do N-R (3x), but it didn't work. Tried multiple times too. I was wondering if anyone else had any luck or maybe knows how to mod one?

aznchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 01:09 AM   #2
davidmcl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Drives: 2013 BRZ supercharged
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Same here. It is apparently a designed safety feature. I think maybe something related to carjacking?
davidmcl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 01:26 AM   #3
Mr.ac
[insert cool phrase here]
 
Mr.ac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Drives: BRZ Premium
Location: Central Coast CA
Posts: 2,279
Thanks: 669
Thanked 1,453 Times in 878 Posts
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Simple. Uninstall it.
Problem solved.

Buy a different unit, one that doesn't have that annoying feature.
__________________
New daily driver - Subaru BRZ Premium
Weekend fun/track car - '91 MR2 Turbo Gen3
Old daily driver - '88 MR2 Supercharged
Mr.ac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 01:49 AM   #4
aznchris
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Drives: Scion 86 tS
Location: CA
Posts: 47
Thanks: 14
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidmcl View Post
Same here. It is apparently a designed safety feature. I think maybe something related to carjacking?
Imagine me carjacking my own car every time? lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.ac View Post
Simple. Uninstall it.
Problem solved.

Buy a different unit, one that doesn't have that annoying feature.
Unfortunately I could only find this one that was reasonably priced at like around 20 bucks. The trac box from seriesblueadventures is like 140 and comes with a bunch of extra things that I don't need. I also tried the DIY one from this forum, but for some reason I couldn't get it to work. Tried so many different boards and troubleshoots for the DIY, but to no avail.
aznchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 08:35 AM   #5
soundman98
threadwrecker
 
soundman98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Drives: '14 brz limited
Location: chicagolandia
Posts: 4,482
Thanks: 10,597
Thanked 4,412 Times in 2,378 Posts
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
sometimes the best option is to not be cheap about it.
__________________
my '14 brz limited "the return to normal" (or is it?)
led mods-10%(planning/designing/sitting on hands)audio mods-99%(done is never done)

hidplanet build log
soundman98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 10:30 AM   #6
gpvecchi
Senior Member
 
gpvecchi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Drives: Toyota 86 G model
Location: Italy
Posts: 522
Thanks: 111
Thanked 119 Times in 71 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I have the Kiramek JDM module, it works flawlessly, the only annoying thing is that for a MT car you have to unlock with handbrake or button, it doesn't unlock with engine off...
gpvecchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 10:51 AM   #7
aznchris
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Drives: Scion 86 tS
Location: CA
Posts: 47
Thanks: 14
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpvecchi View Post
I have the Kiramek JDM module, it works flawlessly, the only annoying thing is that for a MT car you have to unlock with handbrake or button, it doesn't unlock with engine off...
Oohh. I've seen their website. Wouldn't it not matter for M/T that you have to use the handbrake? I mean like uuuuusually you'd pull it before turning off the car right? Too bad it doesn't work for my pleb key turning A/T ): also if it was still available too expensive for me T.T

This got me thinking.. what if I got an adapter, cut the 12v wire from the device side and then just wire the device side to ignition switch. Can't flash my hazards if it doesn't have power lol. Ultimately tho still hate the blinks.
aznchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 10:58 AM   #8
JD001
Senior Member
 
JD001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Drives: Subaru BRZ
Location: UK
Posts: 4,443
Thanks: 4,944
Thanked 3,809 Times in 2,242 Posts
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Educate me, what is it? What's it supposed to do?
JD001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 11:27 AM   #9
aznchris
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Drives: Scion 86 tS
Location: CA
Posts: 47
Thanks: 14
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD001 View Post
Educate me, what is it? What's it supposed to do?
It's an obd2 module that auto locks your door on D gear or 10 KM/h for M/T. Auto unlock your doors on engine off. Has a side function of flashing your blinkers when doors or trunk is open. And for some reason I suspect it will turn on blinkers under hard braking from at least 50mph, but it hasn't happened for me so either I'm not braking hard enough or I'm wrong.
aznchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 11:31 AM   #10
JD001
Senior Member
 
JD001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Drives: Subaru BRZ
Location: UK
Posts: 4,443
Thanks: 4,944
Thanked 3,809 Times in 2,242 Posts
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Aahh.. okay, my car (MT) has automatic door locking when the clutch is released and unlocks when in neutral.. but don't have the auto blinking.. I thought this was standard on all Twins.
JD001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 11:45 AM   #11
Grady
Senior Member
 
Grady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: BRZ Yellow, 00 outback, 05 Colorado
Location: Dallas
Posts: 879
Thanks: 194
Thanked 651 Times in 366 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Garage
Isn't there a switch on the door you can hit with you finger?
Grady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 02:27 PM   #12
JD001
Senior Member
 
JD001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Drives: Subaru BRZ
Location: UK
Posts: 4,443
Thanks: 4,944
Thanked 3,809 Times in 2,242 Posts
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grady View Post
Isn't there a switch on the door you can hit with you finger?
Yep, and you can hit it with anything you like, not just your finger..
JD001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 10:00 PM   #13
FRSBRZGT86FAN
Senior Member
 
FRSBRZGT86FAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Drives: 2015 FR-S AT, 2019 CX-5
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 4,174
Thanks: 3,032
Thanked 2,042 Times in 1,362 Posts
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grady View Post
Isn't there a switch on the door you can hit with you finger?
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD001 View Post
Yep, and you can hit it with anything you like, not just your finger..

This seems like a waste of the obd2 port. I'm surprised this can't be done with software or some rom edits, or a splice that doesn't require being constantly plugged into that port...
__________________
OFT Stage 2 UEL E85/Nameless Performance 3 inch axleback with 5 inch mufflers/ TRD CAI / CNT UEL/ Cusco Strut BAR & LHD Brake Stop / "JDM" Toyota Badges / WinJet JDM headlights - DRL MOD from fteightysix.com - 5000K Diode Dynamics HID kit / Diode Dynamics LED interior Lights and sidemarker bulbs / JDM Clear Sidemarkers / Diode Dynamics LED switchbacks/ OLM LED rear turn signals / Tap Turn Relay
FRSBRZGT86FAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 12:27 AM   #14
aznchris
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Drives: Scion 86 tS
Location: CA
Posts: 47
Thanks: 14
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FRSBRZGT86FAN View Post
This seems like a waste of the obd2 port. I'm surprised this can't be done with software or some rom edits, or a splice that doesn't require being constantly plugged into that port...
I'm surprised too, but there's nothing that I know of. I mean you could always get a splitter too, but the trac box doesn't plug into obd. It supposedly plugs into a connector behind the HU? Idk how that works. Carista doesn't have the open either. I doubt OFT has an option. Idk what else ):
aznchris is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turn Signal/Hazard Lights Issue Kutchak Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 6 12-03-2018 08:51 AM
LED Bulb Change - Hazard Issue Kodename47 Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 8 08-01-2017 03:10 PM
BRZ jammed window issue/blinking auto light? Superhatch Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 28 02-15-2015 05:45 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.