follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Tracking / Autocross / HPDE / Drifting

Tracking / Autocross / HPDE / Drifting What these cars were built for!

User Tag List

Old 06-16-2017, 09:32 PM   #1
Jamestl

Drives: None
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
New Owner Seeking Track Advice!

Hi everyone!

New member here. I got my FRS last weekend in Nashville and drove it back to Chicago. Very excited!

I’m a relative novice to the track (have about 5 track days under my belt in a prior NA Miata, was allowed on track alone under "blue" group) and wanted to get back in the game after about 6 years since my last track event. Idea for the car is to have it serve mostly track duty as I don’t drive much on a daily basis. Having said that, I don’t want to get too aggressive too early as I do want to learn the car and then upgrade as my skills improve. Here are my plans for the summer (planning about 6 track days) and would appreciate some assistance if you have some feedback:

1) Brake pads, fluids – I will swap for something more aggressive for both track and street , and switch to a track fluid to ensure I don’t have issues on track. Based on what I’ve read the stock brakes calipers + rotors should be sufficient until I get much faster or move toward track tires.

2) Tires – I had very good experience with the Star Spec I’s on the Miata so will likely use Z2*s based on feedback on the forums, etc.

3) Alignment - I'm considering a relatively mild alignment (e.g., without camber plates, just camber bolts).

So my questions are as follows for those who have more experience with the car and also with driving on track: