follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Guides

DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Guides For all DIYs.

User Tag List

Old 09-23-2013, 04:11 AM   #1
lazyluka

Drives: GT86
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
DIY Cusco Oil Cooler

Hello all

As some of you know oil coolers are highly recommended for this car if you regularly track it etc...

I will probably re-write this and make it neater at some stage in the near future, I am still working on finishing the install and the main reason for starting this thread is because I need some advice to complete the install.

I am not a mechanic, but an electrical engineer. I'm not too familiar on some of the terms, so please correct me if I am wrong. Yes, it would be easier to pay someone to do the install, but I want to do these things myself to gain more knowledge and to challenge myself. This DIY is all over the place at the moment, I am aware of that, will tidy it up when install is finished and I have more time, but at the moment there is nothing up on the forums regarding this kit except people speculating the performance.

I don't want to go into a big discussion over air cooled oil coolers or the heat exchanger units that use your engines cooling system to cool the oil, but here's a few reasons why I chose the Cusco kit:
  • Excellent price, I don't think I could have gotten anything of this quality for less (Here in NZ at least)
  • I like the idea of this cooler being hidden from view
  • Cools oil even when you are not moving
  • Less likley to get oil all over the engine bay (More likley to get coolant all over the engine bay)
  • Cusco data shows that it will also decrease coolant temperatures (I know I find this hard to belive as well)