follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > FT86CLUB Shared Forum > FR-S / BRZ vs....

FR-S / BRZ vs.... Area to discuss the FR-S/BRZ against its competitors [NO STREET RACING]

User Tag List

Old 08-07-2013, 12:08 PM   #1
Phantobe

Drives: 14 Ultramarine FR-S
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
FR-S Vs. Camaro (Decisons...decisions)

Let me start of by saving this isn't your average versus thread. Allow me to explain my predicament...

I'm 22 years young and I am a engineer working for general motors. I am interested in two vehicles, a Camaro & FR-S/BRZ (FRZ).

I have test driven both cars and I'm pretty happy with how they both drive, although I have my gripes.

The Camaro is wide, heavy with lots of power. After driving it I was pretty satisfied lots of usable power, good handling the only thing that bothered me was the enormous pillars in the car that thing is blind spot city.

The FR-S is awesome just lacking in the power department, its a car about balance not balls to the walls speed. The visibility was much better than the Camaro, as was the handling.

So I'd be happy with either car honestly even though they are two completely different animals. I understand the comparison is a bit ridiculous but the main reason I'm comparing is because I'm a GM employee. And us GM employee get some nice discounts. If both were at the same price I think I would take the FR-S/BRZ hands down, but that is simply not the case.

So basically, If I purchased the Camaro I'd be saving 5-6 thousand with respect to the FR-S. So put yourself in my shoes and imagine this from my perspective.

22 years young, just started career, lives at home (lol), college loans, first NEW car.