follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Software Tuning

Software Tuning Discuss all software tuning topics.

User Tag List

Old 05-16-2014, 12:01 PM   #1
Toyota John
Calle Atun

Drives: 13 FRS, 93 Mr2, 85 ae86
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
AFR leaning out after shifting gears

I have been having a problem with my car since new. After shifting with low load and RPM below 3000 I get a miss right after I start to accelerate after the shift. I have never driven another frs-brs or a car with throttle by wire so I just blamed it on that and learned how to shift around it by pressing the gas down sooner to miss the miss fire. After I got my ECUTEK cable I started playing with it and logging. I realized it wasn't the throttle by wire but AFR. My AFR was up to 16-17 AFR after every shift and causing a lean miss fire. So I thought not enough accel enrichment. I started adding accel enrichment (transient enrichment in ECUTEK). I noticed that the AFR dropped immediately into the 12's right after I pressed the gas pedal down but still climbed up to the 16-17 before coming back down to the requested AFR. Then I did some reading and though maybe my closed to open loop delay was the problem. So I set them to zero. It is still there, although it seemed to have stopped trims from affecting open loop fueling which was nice. So then I thought maybe it’s the transition from closed loop to open loop making the problem. At the same time started realizing soon after I turn off the delays that I have a MAF scaling problem with a stock intake and filter. So I turned off closed loop by filling my whole fuel table with 12. It got better but still there. It only got better because the lean hump was started at 12 instead of 14.7 so it didn't go up to the point of lean miss fire. My