Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB

Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/index.php)
-   Mechanical Maintenance (Oil, Fluids, Break-In, Servicing) (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   Motul gear 300 or Redline MT90? (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=21628)

BRZ NA 11-07-2012 12:50 AM

Motul gear 300 or Redline MT90?

I m trying to choose which one is better to use for transmission and differential.Motul or Redline?need some feedback from people who used them please.and this is my first time changing those fluid myself so just to confirm,there is no additive need to be added in right?and also,is the crush washer same size as the oil pan one?thx

TheSt|G 11-07-2012 01:37 AM

Definitely would avoid the Motul 300 for the trans(we aren't GL-5 rated), but it should be excellent in the diff(what I'm using). Make sure you just get the standard gear lube version though as we don't need the friction modifiers found in the LS version as we don't have a clutch diff.

For the trans I would(and I am) run Amsoil MTG. Proper GL-4 rated fluid that won't eat our syncros unlike what the dealer tried to sell me for a change. I tend to have a rather negative view of Redline as I feel they focus more on hitting the buzzwords than actually delivering a product.

Read around, check bobtheoilguy.com, and get informed. I suspect you will come to similar conclusions.

You also need to order all this crush washers/gaskets(the tranny uses two of the same):

2x M/T Fill plug gasket: 17008AA050
Rear Diff Fill plug gasket: 11126JB000
Rear Diff Drain plug gasket: 1215710010

M1K3 11-07-2012 07:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheSt|G (Post 543225)
For the trans I would(and I am) run Amsoil MTG. Proper GL-4 rated fluid that won't eat our syncros unlike what the dealer tried to sell me for a change.

Yes I like: