Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB

Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/index.php)
-   Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=72)
-   -   Car doesn't want to shift into any gear when stopped (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=142590)

BRZBoosted 09-30-2020 07:36 PM

Car doesn't want to shift into any gear when stopped

I'm new to this platform and this is the first problem I have run into. My car won't shift into any gear when it is standing still and on, but if I turn the car off it will shift into any gear with ease. To get the car to move I have to shut the car off put it into first then start it and it will run through the gears. Then it has the same problem when I come to a stop again. When I'm trying to shift into first gear with the clutch fully depressed the car drops slightly in rpm but doesn't move.
Thanks,
Matt

BlOody_BoOger 09-30-2020 07:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BRZBoosted (Post 3371898)
I'm new to this platform and this is the first problem I have run into. My car won't shift into any gear when it is standing still and on, but if I turn the car off it will shift into any gear with ease. To get the car to move I have to shut the car off put it into first then start it and it will run through the gears. Then it has the same problem when I come to a stop again. When I'm trying to shift into first gear with the clutch fully depressed the car drops slightly in rpm but doesn't move.

Thanks,

Matt

Are u letting it warm up when u start it?

Sent from my IN2017 using Tapatalk

Oxyg3n 09-30-2020 07:39 PM

Have you tried to let go of the brake slightly to let the car move a bit so that it gives the internals some slack and enables you to shift into 1st? Sometimes I do d that when it's difficult to shift into 1st when stopped, that has helped.

Sent from my SM-G973U1 using Tapatalk