follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Wheels | Tires | Spacers | Hub -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack

Wheels | Tires | Spacers | Hub -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack Specific topics relating to wheels and tires.

User Tag List

Old 04-15-2012, 12:26 PM   #1
Sport-Tech

Drives: TBD
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Total noob tire-change question

If we get summer-only rubber here like the US does (the tire choice in Canada is not yet specified on the scion.ca site), a set of winter tires will I think be mandatory for 4 months of the year here (even if you can avoid driving on snow days).

If I put winters on steelies, can I change the tires myself using the standard supplied jack, or will putting the weight of the car on one side for that long put too much strain on the shocks/springs and damage them or wear them out? Will a long-handled manual torque wrench offer sufficient leverage to tighten the nuts up to spec? (I'm not exactly Arnold in the biceps department - I had to stand on the provided wrench to loosen the wheel nuts when my current car got a flat.)
Sport-Tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 02:24 PM   #2
I usually post drunk

Drives: BRZ
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Hard cornering puts more stress on one side than lifting to change tires.

As for using the jack in the trunk that comes with the car, that is a bad idea. That jack is supplied for emergency road side tire change, not regular changes. I have used one from a 10 year old car to change a flat and the jack failed, lucky i had 2 lug nuts on at that point. For about $200 you can get a good enough hydraulic jack and some stands which will pay for itself after a few uses.
#87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 03:20 PM   #3
neutron256

Drives: '13 GBS Subaru BRZ