follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
RR Racing
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-04-2012, 10:40 AM   #29
mikeg7827
Senior Member
 
mikeg7827's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 1995 Ford Probe
Location: Iceland
Posts: 375
Thanks: 31
Thanked 37 Times in 32 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
And you guys were right mine was set to TC. It sounds a little better
mikeg7827 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 02:11 PM   #30
Chip
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: 2013 FR-S White
Location: Boston
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Thanks for the tip.

FR-S is not even an option on my radio. I picked up my car last Monday. Would it be possible that they installed an older radio that doesn't have the latest software to include the FRS in there? In the meantime I have it set to xB. Sounds better than tC setting.
Chip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 04:49 PM   #31
kramerica_industries
Member
 
kramerica_industries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: 2013 Ultramarine FR-S
Location: Chicago
Posts: 72
Thanks: 15
Thanked 21 Times in 13 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I have no FR-S preset either

Can anyone else comment on this? After seeing many other post about the head unit being set to tC, I figured I should check mine. Sure enough, it was set to tC. BUT, when I cycle through the presets, there is NO OPTION for FR-S? WTF? Suggestions?
kramerica_industries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 05:38 PM   #32
|-Goku-|
Senior Member
 
|-Goku-|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 2011 Civic Si
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 332
Thanks: 105
Thanked 122 Times in 69 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
If you don't have an option for FR S. you both need to call your dealership and let them know.
|-Goku-| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 05:56 PM   #33
bneale
Senior Member
 
bneale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Drives: Scion FR-S
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 555
Thanks: 1
Thanked 58 Times in 37 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kramerica_industries View Post
Can anyone else comment on this? After seeing many other post about the head unit being set to tC, I figured I should check mine. Sure enough, it was set to tC. BUT, when I cycle through the presets, there is NO OPTION for FR-S? WTF? Suggestions?
Did you pony up the extra money and buy the Bespoke system?

This is the only reason I can think of which explains why this isn't there. My FR-S was also set to TC when I first got it. Although someone did post earlier with the Bespoke... so I dunno.


If you don't have Bespoke, then do as the person above me suggests and go to the dealership. If they give you crap about "there is no FR-S option" then point them here!

I had the dealership almost refuse to replace my tail lights(condensation) due to the fact they didn't know about the problem. I finally pointed them here as proof of the problem and solution. But I still had to argue with the service manager about it. He finally broke down when I told him "this is your flag ship car and you actually want to piss me off as a customer? Just fix the damn things"

bneale
__________________
bneale is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bneale For This Useful Post:
VictorKassil (05-09-2013)
Old 07-24-2012, 08:54 PM   #34
kramerica_industries
Member
 
kramerica_industries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: 2013 Ultramarine FR-S
Location: Chicago
Posts: 72
Thanks: 15
Thanked 21 Times in 13 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I didn't want to spend $$$ on the Bespoke system because there's no real navigation, just routing using a cell phone plan. I'd really like to get my hands on the GT86 navi unit they ship in Europe and the rest of the world if I can get a North American map for it. I'm surprised that the base Pioneer HU didn't have an FR-S setting since it has everything else including the iQ.
kramerica_industries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 10:12 PM   #35
pkny
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Drives: Firestorm FR-S 6MT
Location: SF Bay area
Posts: 103
Thanks: 12
Thanked 91 Times in 27 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kramerica_industries View Post
Can anyone else comment on this? After seeing many other post about the head unit being set to tC, I figured I should check mine. Sure enough, it was set to tC. BUT, when I cycle through the presets, there is NO OPTION for FR-S? WTF? Suggestions?
Sounds like you got an older ver. of the head unit (part#: PT546-00120). The right one is PT546-00130. You should ask the dealer to replace/upgrade it.
__________________
2013 Scion Firestorm FR-S MT
pkny is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to pkny For This Useful Post:
VictorKassil (05-09-2013)
Old 07-26-2012, 12:18 PM   #36
kramerica_industries
Member
 
kramerica_industries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: 2013 Ultramarine FR-S
Location: Chicago
Posts: 72
Thanks: 15
Thanked 21 Times in 13 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Is there anywhere on the HU I can look to verify what part # the HU is? When I address the issue with my dealer I want to have all my facts in order so they can't throw a line of BS me. Thanks for the input and help.

Last edited by kramerica_industries; 07-26-2012 at 01:51 PM.
kramerica_industries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 04:02 AM   #37
pkny
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Drives: Firestorm FR-S 6MT
Location: SF Bay area
Posts: 103
Thanks: 12
Thanked 91 Times in 27 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
The part # should be on the back of your HU and on the cover page of your Pioneer audio manual. If you don't want to take your HU out, you can just show your audio manual to the dealer, and tell them the manual shows the FR-S car type in page 52, but you cannot get to it.
__________________
2013 Scion Firestorm FR-S MT
pkny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 12:21 PM   #38
kramerica_industries
Member
 
kramerica_industries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: 2013 Ultramarine FR-S
Location: Chicago
Posts: 72
Thanks: 15
Thanked 21 Times in 13 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkny View Post
The part # should be on the back of your HU and on the cover page of your Pioneer audio manual. If you don't want to take your HU out, you can just show your audio manual to the dealer, and tell them the manual shows the FR-S car type in page 52, but you cannot get to it.
Thanks for this info - I'll take a look after work. God I love this forum.
kramerica_industries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 12:04 AM   #39
dunphyjp
Member
 
dunphyjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: Ultramarine FR-S
Location: Villanova, Pa
Posts: 54
Thanks: 16
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
ok i'm having some either major problem, or am massively misunderstanding how to do this... how do i get to this menu? do i have the CAR off or have the car on and turn the head unit off?

[QUOTE=pkny;237244]Got my FR-S on Thursday, and found out that the dealer set the FR-S base audio to tC in the Car type (EQ) setting instead of FR-S. Oh well, that's a easy fix.

Here is the instruction for changing the Car Type (from p.52 of the manual):
To display the SETUP menu, press
and hold the MULTI KNOB while
the power is in "OFF" position.
When the MULTI KNOB is turned,
the setting item of the SETUP
menu will switch in the following
order:

SUB-W CTRL, OPENING, CAR TYPE
dunphyjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 12:13 AM   #40
dunphyjp
Member
 
dunphyjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: Ultramarine FR-S
Location: Villanova, Pa
Posts: 54
Thanks: 16
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
COMPLETELY NIX THAT COMMENT!!!! just had a MASSIVE facepalm moment.... anyway, as a quick side note... WTF is the sub control? i didn't even know our car had a sub?

side note 2... my car was on tc too ><
dunphyjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 02:31 AM   #41
civicdrivr
Senior Member
 
civicdrivr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: 2018 Golf R
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,807
Thanks: 5,386
Thanked 1,095 Times in 647 Posts
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 7 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunphyjp View Post
COMPLETELY NIX THAT COMMENT!!!! just had a MASSIVE facepalm moment.... anyway, as a quick side note... WTF is the sub control? i didn't even know our car had a sub?

side note 2... my car was on tc too ><
It doesnt have a sub (unless you got the accessory but I dont think its available yet). The headunit has sub preamp outputs.
__________________
Parting out HERE
civicdrivr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 02:00 PM   #42
dunphyjp
Member
 
dunphyjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: Ultramarine FR-S
Location: Villanova, Pa
Posts: 54
Thanks: 16
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by civicdrivr View Post
It doesnt have a sub (unless you got the accessory but I dont think its available yet). The headunit has sub preamp outputs.
makes perfect sense to me... nice to know they think about us a lot :P
dunphyjp is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wrong Fuel Hawx AUSTRALIA 22 12-11-2011 06:08 PM
16 inch wheels for the base model!!! Blokatos Wheels | Tires | Spacers | Hub -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack 2 12-07-2011 11:17 AM
Base BRZ exterior pictures? mines13 BRZ First-Gen (2012+) -- General Topics 15 12-05-2011 02:11 PM
Feds find majority of Toyota unintended acceleration cases were people hitting wrong ichitaka05 Other Vehicles & General Automotive Discussions 15 03-16-2011 01:19 AM
Could this be the base FT-86 boxer engine? iff2mastamatt Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 2 02-10-2011 10:55 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.