follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Software Tuning

Software Tuning Discuss all software tuning topics.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-23-2015, 05:15 AM   #169
Kodename47
Senior Member
 
Kodename47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: UK GT86
Location: UK
Posts: 2,900
Thanks: 178
Thanked 1,499 Times in 1,040 Posts
Mentioned: 137 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fizz View Post
Thanks, but lol at the backorder till June 2015. Anyways I found a very good deal on the AEM UEGO so might jump on that instead...
I've been warned off the AEM sensors. The AFR500 is a direct replacement for the AFX, it even looks the same.
__________________
.: Stealth 86 :.
Abbey Motorsport/K47 Tuned Sprintex 210 Supercharger

Kodename 47 DJ:
Soundcloud / Instagram / Facebook
Kodename47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 12:19 PM   #170
Gopherboy6956
Senior Member
 
Gopherboy6956's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Drives: 13 BRZ Limited WRB
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 723
Thanks: 17
Thanked 295 Times in 195 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Hey Guys - I have a AEM Digital Wideband A/F (30-4110) installed, and had it hooked up to my previous P&L Header (had 3 A/F bungs)
I switched to the Open Flash UEL header, and didn't even think to remember to add a 3rd Bung.

What's the best process to have this stuff hooked up?

Is it:
1. Just take the header off and add a bung?
2. Remove one of the stock 02's and the tune can 'turn it off' ?
3. Play around with wiring and have all 3 signals coming from two 02s?

Any help is appreciated.
Thank you!
__________________
I plan to live forever. So far, so good.
My Build - http://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=31925
Gopherboy6956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 08:04 PM   #171
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,631
Thanks: 980
Thanked 4,732 Times in 2,832 Posts
Mentioned: 524 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gopherboy6956 View Post
Hey Guys - I have a AEM Digital Wideband A/F (30-4110) installed, and had it hooked up to my previous P&L Header (had 3 A/F bungs)
I switched to the Open Flash UEL header, and didn't even think to remember to add a 3rd Bung.

What's the best process to have this stuff hooked up?

Is it:
1. Just take the header off and add a bung?
2. Remove one of the stock 02's and the tune can 'turn it off' ?
3. Play around with wiring and have all 3 signals coming from two 02s?

Any help is appreciated.
Thank you!
rearly easy option is to just rescale the stock front 02 sensor to read more wideband, it will read doen to about 10 afr which is good for NA and even some boosted setups

http://www.ft86club.com/forums/showp...6&postcount=40


dont remove or alter the front o2 sensor its the primary fueling sensor.

if you want to add the wideband best to add the third bung and wire it in completly independantly.

you could use the rear 02 sensor port and disable a few cel codes in tune and disable the AF#3 correction.

Ot mabe remove the frontpipe and put in the third bung at the start of that some frontpipes i have seen have a third bung installed their.before cat
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 06:40 AM   #172
Low&Slow
Senior Member
 
Low&Slow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Drives: 10 Series #845
Location: Stockton
Posts: 218
Thanks: 21
Thanked 44 Times in 38 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Sorry to revive an old thread, but I’m going to be installing the AEM failsafe I just purchased but the pictures aren’t working.. I’d feel more confident learning visually aswell lol. Is there anyway you can update/ re-upload the pics you initially posted for the diy @Sportsguy83 ?
__________________
Low&Slow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 08:08 AM   #173
Sportsguy83
I Love custom Turbo kits
 
Sportsguy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: Limited BRZ
Location: Miami
Posts: 10,753
Thanks: 19,993
Thanked 8,303 Times in 4,348 Posts
Mentioned: 437 Post(s)
Tagged: 12 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Low&Slow View Post
Sorry to revive an old thread, but Iím going to be installing the AEM failsafe I just purchased but the pictures arenít working.. Iíd feel more confident learning visually aswell lol. Is there anyway you can update/ re-upload the pics you initially posted for the diy @Sportsguy83 ?


Unfortunately I donít know how they got lost. They were in my Google account and one day just disappeared


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sportsguy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 05:57 PM   #174
Dru670
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Drives: 2016 Scion FR-S
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 154
Thanks: 11
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sportsguy83 View Post
So I've spent the last few weeks tuning my car (or @jamesm tuning it and me trying to learn as much as possible). the process has sometimes been slow by not having the Wideband logged by Ecutek, which means anything below 11.02 AFR is not logged. This makes it hard to know how much fuel needs to be taken out of the tune and be able to reach target AFR's quicker (in summary, spend less time modifying the rom, flashing and more time fine tuning it).

Well @EcuTek responded quickly to the community requests and has provided us a way to log the Rear O2 input which otherwise is useless.

We now can connect our aftermarket Wideband (AEM Failsafe in my setup) to the O2 sensor wiring and have it all together in a nice clean Ecutek log! This also helps verify how well/bad is the stock O2 calibrated.

Below is what I did: (Special thanks to my good friend @jamesm who helped me figure it all out).


James showed me: from page 48 of the ecutek docs. Get that thing wired in and it'll make both of our lives much easier



Then i started digging into it:

So from the wiring diagram:

This is the A34 connector, and we need to connect to pin 21:



Pin 21 takes signal from the C13 Rear O2 connector, blue wire (see below) #3 on C13




Finally, below is C13, the Rear O2 connector. I'm in the process of connecting the Failsafe White cable (analog AFR output) to pin #3 in C13.



This is the table AEM gives for output AFR vs. Volts.





DONE!! Wideband is logged via Ecutek. Software update AND tune file update is required. This is only capable in Ecutek RaceRom 7.

Hope it helps!!
Pictures disappeared lol
Dru670 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Dru670 For This Useful Post:
freerunner (07-12-2018)
Old 07-12-2018, 11:04 AM   #175
Sportsguy83
I Love custom Turbo kits
 
Sportsguy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: Limited BRZ
Location: Miami
Posts: 10,753
Thanks: 19,993
Thanked 8,303 Times in 4,348 Posts
Mentioned: 437 Post(s)
Tagged: 12 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dru670 View Post
Pictures disappeared lol
See previous post
Sportsguy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Sportsguy83 For This Useful Post:
freerunner (07-12-2018)
Old 07-15-2018, 04:12 PM   #176
Dru670
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Drives: 2016 Scion FR-S
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 154
Thanks: 11
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Do I Tap into pin20 (CPC input) with the 0-5v Analog output or am supposed to cut the wire on c20 and have only the analog output connected to pin20 ECU?
Dru670 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 07:54 PM   #177
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,631
Thanks: 980
Thanked 4,732 Times in 2,832 Posts
Mentioned: 524 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dru670 View Post
Do I Tap into pin20 (CPC input) with the 0-5v Analog output or am supposed to cut the wire on c20 and have only the analog output connected to pin20 ECU?

If your running ecutek you could just rescale the current front 02 sensor to read more wideband it reads quite reliably down to about 10 afr if rescaled.


you can then feed that "wideband" afr into an ecutek custom map and use it for afr failsafe. cost is zero, no wiring or aditional sensor required
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 04:51 AM   #178
Kodename47
Senior Member
 
Kodename47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: UK GT86
Location: UK
Posts: 2,900
Thanks: 178
Thanked 1,499 Times in 1,040 Posts
Mentioned: 137 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve99 View Post
If your running ecutek you could just rescale the current front 02 sensor to read more wideband it reads quite reliably down to about 10 afr if rescaled.
I still don't trust the OEM sensor 100%.
__________________
.: Stealth 86 :.
Abbey Motorsport/K47 Tuned Sprintex 210 Supercharger

Kodename 47 DJ:
Soundcloud / Instagram / Facebook
Kodename47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 06:35 AM   #179
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,631
Thanks: 980
Thanked 4,732 Times in 2,832 Posts
Mentioned: 524 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kodename47 View Post
I still don't trust the OEM sensor 100%.

Why you not trust it ?
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 07:17 AM   #180
tomm.brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: brz 2017
Location: italy
Posts: 1,236
Thanks: 291
Thanked 438 Times in 357 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
i m letting racerom v10 do the closed loop instead of the open loop with the oem lambda, so I hope it is trustable lol
tomm.brz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 07:50 AM   #181
Kodename47
Senior Member
 
Kodename47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: UK GT86
Location: UK
Posts: 2,900
Thanks: 178
Thanked 1,499 Times in 1,040 Posts
Mentioned: 137 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve99 View Post
Why you not trust it ?
Because of the variance I've seen in it vs a WBO2 at the tail. The variance in "trusted" O2 sensor scalings. The fact that at higher exhaust pressures that the readings change. It's certainly good enough to give an indication but I wouldn't say that it was accurate all the time.
__________________
.: Stealth 86 :.
Abbey Motorsport/K47 Tuned Sprintex 210 Supercharger

Kodename 47 DJ:
Soundcloud / Instagram / Facebook
Kodename47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 08:02 AM   #182
Tor
Senior Member
 
Tor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Drives: Toyota GT86
Location: Europe
Posts: 919
Thanks: 369
Thanked 542 Times in 300 Posts
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kodename47 View Post
Because of the variance I've seen in it vs a WBO2 at the tail. The variance in "trusted" O2 sensor scalings. The fact that at higher exhaust pressures that the readings change. It's certainly good enough to give an indication but I wouldn't say that it was accurate all the time.
If it's consistently reading inaccurate, does it really matter? Say, it's always reading 12 when the WB at the tail reads 11.5.

How much variance did you see? It would also be interesting if the variance is the same between different cars (canned tunes).

For NA it seems that the engine is to a certain degree pretty tollerant of varying AFRs anyway. I run mine at 12.2 in normal conditions, which is fine. On track it starts to FLKC like crazy (had -5 deg in one log). With 11.1 it has virtually no FLKC at all even on track. So with not too much logging it should be relative simple task to adjust the tune for whatever conditions the car is expected to be driven at. Or with Ecutek to make it automatically run richer depending on FLKC. I suppose this is kind of the same as what the stock MY17 tune is doing with "power AFR" just using a different input parameter.
Tor is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BRZ Front and Rear LED Turn Signal Bulbs convoy Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 23 11-25-2013 07:51 AM
Aftermarket Rear Diffuser Realm Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 8 05-08-2013 11:23 PM
FS: BNIB Concept Three LED Amber/White signal bulbs Front and Rear with Relay xxscaxx Exterior Parts (Aero, Lighting, Etc.) 10 03-27-2013 10:17 AM
DIY: front and rear LED turn signal bulbs jjdrivesajazz DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Guides 6 10-15-2012 09:53 PM
Innovate Wideband Air/Fuel Ratio LC-1 Wideband Kit **Special Price** Titanmotorsports Audio/Visual, Electronics, Infotainment, NAV 2 09-14-2012 12:42 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.