follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > FT86CLUB Shared Forum > Regional Forums > AUSTRALIA

AUSTRALIA Australia and New Zealand


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-06-2012, 03:38 AM   #1
RJ_
Member
 
RJ_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: BRZ
Location: NE NSW
Posts: 38
Thanks: 16
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
OBD2 Port

Can someone tell me where the OBD2 port is on the AUS spec BRZ? TIA.
RJ_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 04:12 AM   #2
proficience
Senior Member
 
proficience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: Velocity Orange 86 GTS M/T
Location: Sydney
Posts: 430
Thanks: 59
Thanked 113 Times in 79 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
right under the steering wheel on the leftish side - take a look under with the flashlight and you cant really miss it
proficience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 04:17 AM   #3
RJ_
Member
 
RJ_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: BRZ
Location: NE NSW
Posts: 38
Thanks: 16
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Cheers. I'm still waiting for mine. Just planning where to put my Kiwi BT cable when the car finally arrives. Left side is better than right. Is it up and out of the way of the clutch pedal?
RJ_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 04:32 AM   #4
proficience
Senior Member
 
proficience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: Velocity Orange 86 GTS M/T
Location: Sydney
Posts: 430
Thanks: 59
Thanked 113 Times in 79 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Its pretty flushed inside (~30mm) so shouldnt get in the way i dont think unless you have a phat dongle
proficience is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to proficience For This Useful Post:
RJ_ (09-07-2012)
Old 09-06-2012, 04:33 AM   #5
RJ_
Member
 
RJ_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: BRZ
Location: NE NSW
Posts: 38
Thanks: 16
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Sounds good. Thanks for looking.
RJ_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 05:12 AM   #6
LeftFootBrake
Senior Member
 
LeftFootBrake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Drives: White 86 GTS AT
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 235
Thanks: 61
Thanked 72 Times in 33 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJ_ View Post
Cheers. I'm still waiting for mine. Just planning where to put my Kiwi BT cable when the car finally arrives. Left side is better than right. Is it up and out of the way of the clutch pedal?
Welcome.
I assume you're talking about a PLX Kiwi Bluetooth setup. If you've used one before, I'd like to hear your thoughts on it.
__________________
LeftFootBrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 05:42 AM   #7
RJ_
Member
 
RJ_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: BRZ
Location: NE NSW
Posts: 38
Thanks: 16
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeftFootBrake View Post
Welcome.
I assume you're talking about a PLX Kiwi Bluetooth setup. If you've used one before, I'd like to hear your thoughts on it.
Yes that's the one. It only arrived yesterday so not a lot to say. I have it in my MY07 Liberty GTB with a Nexus 7 running the Torque app. I need to sort the tablet mount and get the cable away from my right foot.

It seems to work well so far I just need to set it up properly. It will move across to BRZ next year.
RJ_ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RJ_ For This Useful Post:
LeftFootBrake (09-07-2012)
Old 09-06-2012, 07:32 AM   #8
fuddbutter
Potato Farmer
 
fuddbutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: #SLOBRZ
Location: Melbourne Aust
Posts: 787
Thanks: 493
Thanked 247 Times in 152 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
What/where did you get this mount?
i been looking at the Nexus 7..
__________________
Something something butter..
www.vic86brzclub.com
fuddbutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 08:30 AM   #9
TonyJZX
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: VN Commode
Location: Sydney
Posts: 74
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
whats the difference btw. that NZ one and the $10-$15 china jobs off ebay?
TonyJZX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 10:18 AM   #10
RJ_
Member
 
RJ_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: BRZ
Location: NE NSW
Posts: 38
Thanks: 16
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by fuddbutter View Post
What/where did you get this mount?
i been looking at the Nexus 7..
I haven't got a mount yet - still looking for something. There are a few on Amazon but they won't sell to oz. I might have to get something made up. Lovin the tablet and Android btw.
RJ_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 10:23 AM   #11
RJ_
Member
 
RJ_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: BRZ
Location: NE NSW
Posts: 38
Thanks: 16
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyJZX View Post
whats the difference btw. that NZ one and the $10-$15 china jobs off ebay?
The torque website suggested that the Chinese ones may be less reliable. And the Kiwi is from USA not NZ as you would think. I guess they just like the name.
RJ_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 10:47 PM   #12
TonyJZX
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: VN Commode
Location: Sydney
Posts: 74
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
yeah reason i'm saying that is that i've used a few off ebay and they work fine so paying SIX times more for the same thing...
TonyJZX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 10:59 PM   #13
RJ_
Member
 
RJ_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: BRZ
Location: NE NSW
Posts: 38
Thanks: 16
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyJZX View Post
yeah reason i'm saying that is that i've used a few off ebay and they work fine so paying SIX times more for the same thing...
Fair enough. It's only $100. Not a lot in the overall scheme of things.

Why have you had to buy a few?
RJ_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 11:42 PM   #14
TonyJZX
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: VN Commode
Location: Sydney
Posts: 74
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
just trying to find the smallest one

some cars the thing hangs out and can be a pain

eg. US model 86 has it poking out over the throttle!
TonyJZX is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Factory USB port with Aftermarket HU ruskymx Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 93 06-10-2015 06:53 PM
adding a second usb port for charging? Reason Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 5 07-11-2012 07:47 AM
New FR-S arrival to the Port of Jacksonville greenguy101 Southeast 7 06-25-2012 02:19 PM
Mine's at the port! :) .... how long? Guaruja Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum 13 06-16-2012 12:20 PM
More shots from the Port of Portland DarrenDriven FR-S & 86 Photos, Videos, Wallpapers, Gallery Forum 10 05-11-2012 01:04 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2022 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.