follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-31-2019, 08:10 PM   #43
RotARy15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Drives: 1993 Mazda RX-7 R1, 2020 BRZ PP
Location: USA
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by UT_BRZ View Post
I run the maestro rr on my 17 BRZ and the five gauges I run are speedometer, coolant temp, oil temp AFR and Boost. I am custom tuned running a JDL turbo setup. Two months ago I flashed my maestro rr to a 17 BRZ and with that update, it enabled TPMS.

Where are you pulling the info for the Maestro rr (obd, etc.)? I have mine wired to the CAN plug behind the glove box to pull all my info.

How did you wire into that CAN plug?


I just received a Kenwood DMX906S and Maestro Rr kit. I thought I saw an image that marked which pin was CAN but now I can't find that image.


I'm really hoping they improved this install because reading through all these troubles has me worried.
RotARy15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2019, 03:38 PM   #44
COBlue
Member
 
COBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Drives: 2017 Subaru BRZ Limited PP
Location: Colorado
Posts: 75
Thanks: 32
Thanked 25 Times in 21 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RotARy15 View Post
How did you wire into that CAN plug?


I just received a Kenwood DMX906S and Maestro Rr kit. I thought I saw an image that marked which pin was CAN but now I can't find that image.


I'm really hoping they improved this install because reading through all these troubles has me worried.
This post has details on the available CAN plug: http://www.ft86club.com/forums/showp...4&postcount=18


Installation is much easier now with SU2 harness and updated firmware.
COBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 08:05 PM   #45
RotARy15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Drives: 1993 Mazda RX-7 R1, 2020 BRZ PP
Location: USA
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by COBlue View Post
This post has details on the available CAN plug: http://www.ft86club.com/forums/showp...4&postcount=18


Installation is much easier now with SU2 harness and updated firmware.

Thank you very much. I have gotten the install mostly complete. I was sent an ACC-USB2 instead of the ACC-USB-SU2 that my car needs in order to connect the factory USB and AUX ports to the new radio so the install is sorta incomplete.


It isn't much of a problem as I am still waiting for the Metra harness that I need to connect to the 6 pin in the dash. I have plugged the OBD2 in for the time being to confirm that I am receiving CAN data and that is working great!


I love having tire pressures but what I am really puzzled by is that I am also receiving tire temperature. Does anyone know if this is direct temperature from a dedicated sensor or if this number is somehow inferred from a mix of variables?
RotARy15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 10:40 AM   #46
RotARy15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Drives: 1993 Mazda RX-7 R1, 2020 BRZ PP
Location: USA
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Also, holy crap these factory speakers are hot garbage. They should have just deleted the rears and put both those dollars into the doors...
RotARy15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 12:18 PM   #47
Drifter X
Senior Member
 
Drifter X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Drives: 2019 Toyota 86 TRD SE
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 226
Thanks: 144
Thanked 83 Times in 68 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RotARy15 View Post
Also, holy crap these factory speakers are hot garbage. They should have just deleted the rears and put both those dollars into the doors...


Yes they are garbage!!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Drifter X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 08:51 PM   #48
RotARy15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Drives: 1993 Mazda RX-7 R1, 2020 BRZ PP
Location: USA
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
https://pinoutguide.com/CarElectroni...shtml#obd2_iso


According to the link above, the Maestro OBD2 harness connects to the CAN High, CAN Low, and something called the K-Line.


Does anyone have any idea what the K-Line is used for or rather, what data is gathered from it?
RotARy15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 01:09 PM   #49
COBlue
Member
 
COBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Drives: 2017 Subaru BRZ Limited PP
Location: Colorado
Posts: 75
Thanks: 32
Thanked 25 Times in 21 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RotARy15 View Post
https://pinoutguide.com/CarElectroni...shtml#obd2_iso


According to the link above, the Maestro OBD2 harness connects to the CAN High, CAN Low, and something called the K-Line.


Does anyone have any idea what the K-Line is used for or rather, what data is gathered from it?
Maestro said they're not taking any data from the K-line. I'm connected to just the hi/lo on the CAN and still getting data (although I may have lost tire temp, but as you noted I'm not sure where that's coming from, would have to be TPMS...?)
COBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 03:36 PM   #50
RotARy15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Drives: 1993 Mazda RX-7 R1, 2020 BRZ PP
Location: USA
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
So I finally finished the install, I got that Metra harness with the 6 pin connector for the factory connector in the dash.


I pulled the pins out of the OBD2 connector and just plugged them into the correct locations on the 6 pin connector. I plugged the K-Line into the 1 empty/blank pin (pin 6) just so it wouldn't short on anything.


Seems I am still getting all the data I used to get. Tire pressure and temp are still working as well as all the throttle position, rpm, water/oil temps. Haven't noticed any loss of functionality.


I do see that some TPMS sensors can gather and send temperature as well. I had my doubts simply because the goal of this car was to be cheap and I didn't expect them to use "more than required" on something such as the TPMS system which is no more than a regulatory requirement.


I'm more than happy with the install. It went pretty smoothly and the only thing left to do is ditch this absolute trash set of speakers and amp. I really hate to add weight to this car so I'm going to try desperately to avoid the addition of a sub. Hopefully I will be satisfied with a 6.5 sub in the doors.
RotARy15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 11:01 PM   #51
sachu
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Drives: rocketship
Location: Rip City
Posts: 385
Thanks: 124
Thanked 108 Times in 85 Posts
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
So I just tried installing the maestro -RR with the SU2 replacing the stock headunit with a pioneer 1440NEX.

I wasn't able to finish up the amp trigger signal so i had unplugged the headunit over the weekend while i was away.

I went back tonight to finish up the wiring and noticed my car battery was completely drained.

I thought the issue was fixed with the new harness.

Any ideas on what am missing or did wrongly?

Going to have to pull the battery (its a shorai with a custom mount that blocks the charge port when mounted) to charge it up before i can give this a go again. sigh.
sachu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2020, 08:48 PM   #52
Drifter X
Senior Member
 
Drifter X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Drives: 2019 Toyota 86 TRD SE
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 226
Thanks: 144
Thanked 83 Times in 68 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I was able to relocate the mirror backup display to my pioneer head unit!! Brian at www.autoharnesshouse.com hooked me up with a custom harness for my MY19!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Drifter X is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Drifter X For This Useful Post:
Wally86 (09-15-2020)
Old 01-29-2020, 03:42 PM   #53
COBlue
Member
 
COBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Drives: 2017 Subaru BRZ Limited PP
Location: Colorado
Posts: 75
Thanks: 32
Thanked 25 Times in 21 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sachu View Post
So I just tried installing the maestro -RR with the SU2 replacing the stock headunit with a pioneer 1440NEX.

I wasn't able to finish up the amp trigger signal so i had unplugged the headunit over the weekend while i was away.

I went back tonight to finish up the wiring and noticed my car battery was completely drained.

I thought the issue was fixed with the new harness.

Any ideas on what am missing or did wrongly?

Going to have to pull the battery (its a shorai with a custom mount that blocks the charge port when mounted) to charge it up before i can give this a go again. sigh.
I haven't tracked batt volts lately but I've left the car sitting for a few days with no issues. Check my posts #1 and #14 on the first page of thread for my wiring (because my brain can't remember at this point...)
COBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2020, 08:48 AM   #54
hunsra
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Drives: 2019 Toyota 86 TRD SE
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drifter X View Post
I was able to relocate the mirror backup display to my pioneer head unit!! Brian at www.autoharnesshouse.com hooked me up with a custom harness for my MY19!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
@Drifter X can you share a model number or other information on the harness you got from autoharnesshouse? I'd like to get one for my 19 TRD as well. I hate the backup camera display in the rear view mirror and would prefer it to appear in my aftermarket head unit.
hunsra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 04:35 PM   #55
Frankz54
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Drives: 2019 Toyota GT86
Location: South Florida
Posts: 43
Thanks: 9
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hunsra View Post
@Drifter X can you share a model number or other information on the harness you got from autoharnesshouse? I'd like to get one for my 19 TRD as well. I hate the backup camera display in the rear view mirror and would prefer it to appear in my aftermarket head unit.
Yeah i would also like the model number or something for this. I have the 19 as well and hate the small camera in the rear mirror.
Frankz54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 12:33 AM   #56
Drifter X
Senior Member
 
Drifter X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Drives: 2019 Toyota 86 TRD SE
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 226
Thanks: 144
Thanked 83 Times in 68 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Hello everyone! Email Brian: inquiry@autoharnesshouse
And let him know you need a custom harness for the 86 or Brz with the mirror camera. Heíll know what youíre talking about.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Drifter X is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Pioneer HU and Maestro RR NCtoBRZ Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 56 05-20-2019 08:16 AM
AVIC-8201NEX without iDatalink Maestro? sgh Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 7 04-19-2018 01:42 PM
CSCS Mid Summer DRIFT 2017 - Round 3 - SUN July 23 2017 @ TMP CAYUGA SB LAYOUT DTrouble CANADA 0 07-19-2017 08:42 PM
2017 CHRYSLER PACIFICA MINIVAN VS 2017 TOYOTA 86 WHO WINS IN A DRAG RACE??? Extreme Dimensions Off-Topic Lounge [WARNING: NO POLITICS] 6 06-08-2017 08:59 AM
Maestro idatalink test dummy tofurun Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 30 10-18-2016 01:01 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2022 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.