follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine, Exhaust, Transmission

Engine, Exhaust, Transmission Discuss the FR-S | 86 | BRZ engine, exhaust and drivetrain.

User Tag List

Old 10-28-2012, 09:49 PM   #1
Selvedge

Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Rev Matching

Like a lot of you, I'm fairly new to driving stick, so I have a few questions regarding rev matching.

Quick Questions:
1. Is it true that double clutching isn't really necessary in modern cars?
2. Is heel-and-toe for slowing down (i.e., for an upcoming turn)?
3. Is both double clutch and single clutch for accelerating (i.e., merging onto highway)?

Also, for single clutch rev matching which method is correct or are both correct or neither?

A) Clutch in, shift down and simultaneously rev engine to desired RPM, then clutch out while my foot is still on the gas

OR

B) Clutch in, shift down and simultaneously rev engine to desired RPM, release gas, clutch out, then get back on gas to accelerate

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by Selvedge; 10-28-2012 at 11:04 PM.
Selvedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 09:59 PM   #2
Trashed675

Drives: 2013 Ultramarine FRS
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Garage
You rev match to make the change smoother. You want to blip it so revs will be where they will be when you let the clutch back out.

Example:
Youre in 6th gear on the freeway at 3000rpm. If you want to down shift into 5th to pass a semi more quickly, clutch in, blip to ~4500rpm, as revs get there let the clutch out. If done correctly, you won't feel any shock from the down change and the change will be totally seamless. On the freeway it doesn't matter too much, but if youre going into a fast corner you don't want the down change to upset the car and send you spinning.