follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > FT86CLUB Shared Forum > Member's Car Journals

Member's Car Journals Car journals by our members.

User Tag List

Old 06-23-2020, 11:01 PM   #1
Spocknasty

Drives: 2013 BRZ Limited / 1990 Turbo Miata
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
2013 BRZ: OEM+ Build - Commute Comfort / Corner Conqueror

Over a decade ago I sold aftermarket Subaru parts for a living and the joke was you'd sell them twice - once to make power, then again to support it when the stock engine inevitability blew. I never saw myself sitting in a car with a boxer engine in it due to my experience with the EJ's.

The BRZ - I sold the original owner the intake and exhaust components and then shot the car for Subaru Drive Magazine where the modding path on your average enthusiast was compared to that of tuners like Crawford. Unfortunately the PO suffers from Ehlers-Danlos syndrome which made driving / getting into a stick sports car more painful than he could endure. With the engine failure (catastrophic coolant leak) of the Miata and the good offer on the BRZ, I made the leap of faith.

Previous car: The Murder Miata - How can you not love Miatas? I lovingly built it from the ground up to support the GT2560R (242 whp, 207 ft-lbs) and be a showcase for JDM style artisan components that were available for the interior. More details here.

It was quite a transition going from a bathtub rocket prone to going sideways at any moment to a well composed but rather numb (to me) mostly stock chassis. This blank canvas would be more refined and tailored for daily driving satisfaction: A bit of comfort retained yet sharp on feedback and capable of slicing and dicing roads when desired.

MODLIST WITH NOTES

Bilstein B6 (only because B8 were back ordered)
Hotchkis Sport Springs