follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Mechanical Maintenance (Oil, Fluids, Break-In, Servicing)

Mechanical Maintenance (Oil, Fluids, Break-In, Servicing) Everything related to the mechanical maintenance of the FR-S and BRZ

User Tag List

Old 02-14-2015, 04:10 AM   #1
MINOCIN

Drives: Asphalt 2013 FR-S
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
What brake fluid do you use when bleeding/flushing the clutch?

I want to flush my clutch fluid but I have never done it before. For those who have, what brake fluid did you choose and why? Also, how much fluid do I need?

The service manual only lists the following:
Quote:
Brake fluid and clutch fluid: FMVSS No. 116 DOT3, or DOT4
I know I could go to any auto store and pick up any bottle of DOT3 or 4 brake fluid, but I was wondering if any of the track guys here have a particular fluid that they prefer. I'm not saying that I want to put something in as expensive as Torque 700, but maybe Motul RBF600 Racing Brake Fluid if it will hold up better than the generic Autozone/O'Reily store brand.

I bought my FRS back in June of 2012 and I have a little over 32K miles on it now, but it wasn't until last year when I installed the Innovate super charger that I started having trouble getting into first gear and reverse on warm days (80+ F) or after a 20 minute track session. I checked the clutch fluid reservoir and the fluid is dark brown. I'm hoping that flushing the clutch fluid will help with this problem.

I searched the forums and I found a very informative DIY on how to replace the clutch slave cylinder, but I couldn't find anything on how much fluid I would need to flush the system and if there were any fluid preferences.

Thanks in advance for your help and suggestions