follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum - FT86CLUB > Off-Topic Discussions > Off-Topic Lounge [WARNING: NO POLITICS]

Off-Topic Lounge [WARNING: NO POLITICS] For all off-topic discussion topics.

User Tag List
go_a_way1, MisterSheep, Sarlacc

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-05-2021, 08:45 AM   #2395
DarkPira7e
No, my car doesn't run
 
DarkPira7e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Drives: 2013 Turbo Firestorm FRS
Location: Vermont
Posts: 3,212
Thanks: 2,396
Thanked 3,070 Times in 1,581 Posts
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by spcmafia View Post
Sweet. Like I mentioned, I'm shooting for a little over $1000 but I'm open to any improvements on the build, It will be my first build ever. Any suggestions on RAM and Videocard?
I try not to get my nose into the video card aspect, as it's subjective based on your needs and I don't know a lot about current gen video cards.

The RAM should be completely fine, there's not really a need to shoot for something with lowest latency / highest operating clock speeds unless you're shooting for benchmarking world records.
__________________
Turbo FR-S Build - Build Thread
JDL EL Recirc manifold, Boostlab BL58x Turbo w/ T51R, 17x9 ARC-8, IAG block
DarkPira7e is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DarkPira7e For This Useful Post:
Dadhawk (01-05-2021), spcmafia (01-05-2021)
Old 01-05-2021, 09:10 AM   #2396
spcmafia
Senior Member
 
spcmafia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Drives: 2018 Subaru BRZ
Location: Stonington, Connecticut
Posts: 907
Thanks: 422
Thanked 1,242 Times in 561 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dadhawk View Post
Completely agree with this, that was my first thought (well thoughts).

On the GPU, if you are gaming this will be the most critical part of the build. Basically, buy the best card you can for the budget you have. Look at speed tests on Tom's Hardware and other such sites then find the one that matches your budget. I typically buy one level down from the top tier because the top tier usually have a stupid amount of geek tax associated with them.

It's likely your build will survive a couple of video card upgrades in the future. I've found that I usually upgrade video cards every two or three years and buy/build a whole new system every 6 to 8 years. I'm not typically running games at the bleeding edge though as I actually prefer it with some of they eye candy turned down a bit.

Right now is the new RTX 3080, but is going for almost $800, if you can find it, that is. The 2060 is more than capable and is fraction of the cost, but is hard to find right now. Is just about the only thing that I'm missing on my cart.
__________________
“God gave me an okay mind, but a really good ass, which can feel everything in a car.” Nikki Lauda
spcmafia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2021, 09:23 AM   #2397
Dadhawk
1st86 Driver!
 
Dadhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Drives: '13 FR-S (#3 of 1st 86)
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 17,037
Thanks: 32,534
Thanked 20,100 Times in 9,362 Posts
Mentioned: 163 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by spcmafia View Post
Right now is the new RTX 3080, but is going for almost $800, if you can find it, that is. The 2060 is more than capable and is fraction of the cost, but is hard to find right now. Is just about the only thing that I'm missing on my cart.
Yea, "coin mining" bites again on availability.

I don't track NVidia closely because I've always preferred AMD/ATI.

My current systems has a RX5700XT (it was built earlier this year). That's considered a "second tier" card at this point, but I'm very satisfied with it.

It runs everything I've thrown at it in 1920x1080 with no issues, including MS Flight Sim 2020 and VR. It also runs 3x1920x1080 games with no issue.

This might fit into your budget and I've seen availability on it. The price for it is also jacked up a bit though since availability of top tier is almost zero.
__________________

Visit my Owner's Journal where I wax philosophic on all things FR-S
Post your 86 or see others in front of a(n) (in)famous landmark.
What fits in your 86? Show us the "Junk In Your Trunk".

Last edited by Dadhawk; 01-05-2021 at 12:59 PM.
Dadhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Dadhawk For This Useful Post:
spcmafia (01-05-2021)
Old 01-05-2021, 12:51 PM   #2398
DarkPira7e
No, my car doesn't run
 
DarkPira7e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Drives: 2013 Turbo Firestorm FRS
Location: Vermont
Posts: 3,212
Thanks: 2,396
Thanked 3,070 Times in 1,581 Posts
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by spcmafia View Post
Right now is the new RTX 3080, but is going for almost $800, if you can find it, that is. The 2060 is more than capable and is fraction of the cost, but is hard to find right now. Is just about the only thing that I'm missing on my cart.
This is the hard part. Almost no matter what your budget is, to get a graphics card that's worthwhile is ultra expensive.
If you just need something basic, I have a GTX960TI I'd give you.
__________________
Turbo FR-S Build - Build Thread
JDL EL Recirc manifold, Boostlab BL58x Turbo w/ T51R, 17x9 ARC-8, IAG block
DarkPira7e is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DarkPira7e For This Useful Post:
Dadhawk (01-05-2021)
Old 01-05-2021, 04:05 PM   #2399
Captain Snooze
Because compromise ®
 
Captain Snooze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Drives: Red Herring
Location: australia
Posts: 6,671
Thanks: 3,248
Thanked 7,254 Times in 3,319 Posts
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkPira7e View Post
I would also suggest getting something that's modular. Not necessary, but cleans things up and the convenience is worth the extra cost
This this this times a lot.
__________________
My car is completely stock except for all the mods.

Captain Snooze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2021, 04:51 PM   #2400
x808drifter
LMGTFY
 
x808drifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Drives: 13 FRS, 91 Miata
Location: Lava Town, HI
Posts: 1,616
Thanks: 1,560
Thanked 1,972 Times in 880 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
If you can hold off I'd try and find a 3060 not a 2060.
The price difference is minimal considering the increase in performance.
x808drifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2021, 08:20 PM   #2401
Mr.ac
[insert cool phrase here]
 
Mr.ac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Drives: BRZ Premium
Location: Central Coast CA
Posts: 2,370
Thanks: 709
Thanked 1,556 Times in 928 Posts
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by spcmafia View Post
Sweet. Like I mentioned, I'm shooting for a little over $1000 but I'm open to any improvements on the build, It will be my first build ever. Any suggestions on RAM and Videocard?
One thing I would recommend with MSI mobo's is to check the ram comparability. 100% all ram will work, at the default 2400 MHz or something. the problem is when you want to run the higher speeds like 3200mhz or 3600mhz+
My MSI Tomahawk board couldn't run 3600 gskill ram, had to turn it down to 3200 MHz. Zero issues after that.

Anywho just look up your board manufacturer site, under support find the ram comparability chart. It's that simple.
__________________
New daily driver - Subaru BRZ Premium
Weekend fun/track car - '91 MR2 Turbo Gen3
Old daily driver - '88 MR2 Supercharged
Mr.ac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2021, 08:30 PM   #2402
Captain Snooze
Because compromise ®
 
Captain Snooze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Drives: Red Herring
Location: australia
Posts: 6,671
Thanks: 3,248
Thanked 7,254 Times in 3,319 Posts
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.ac View Post
comparability
?


Compatibility ?
__________________
My car is completely stock except for all the mods.

Captain Snooze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2021, 10:23 PM   #2403
soundman98
threadwrecker
 
soundman98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Drives: 14 BRZ 'Ranger', 18 Tacoma 4Dr LB
Location: chicago-ish
Posts: 7,327
Thanks: 21,841
Thanked 8,700 Times in 4,332 Posts
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Snooze View Post
?


Compatibility ?
compatibility is on the component level.

comparability is on the user to make the right decision!
__________________
my '14 brz limited "the return to normal" (or is it?)
led mods-10%(planning/designing/sitting on hands)audio mods-99%(done is never done)

hidplanet build log
soundman98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2021, 10:32 PM   #2404
soundman98
threadwrecker
 
soundman98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Drives: 14 BRZ 'Ranger', 18 Tacoma 4Dr LB
Location: chicago-ish
Posts: 7,327
Thanks: 21,841
Thanked 8,700 Times in 4,332 Posts
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by spcmafia View Post
Could I get some input on this possible set up? Im a noob, like I mentioned earlier on the thread. I'm still missing a video card. I was thinking RTX 2060 but is becoming quite hard to find. The budget is about $1000 more or less.

This is what I got so far.


CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 6-Core 4.2 Ghz Max Boost

SSD: XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB
Motherboard: MSI MPG X570 Gaming Plus

Cooling: Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo 4 CDC Heatpipes, 120mm Fan

Power: Corsair CX Series 450 Watt 80+ Bronze Certified

Case: NZXT H510
Ram: Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB (2X16) 3200MHz

Video: N/A
+1 as well on a modular power supply. makes a hug difference not having the random spaghetti monster to deal with when trying to put everything together. i tend to prefer at least 600-900w power supplies. think of it as a maximum rating-- if your system only needs 400w to start, it won't draw anymore, but will likely run much more reliably because there's more headroom built into it.

the important thing to remember about ssd's is that write cycles are what damage them. my preference is to run a small ssd for the OS(under 400gb), and run a larger platter drive(1tb minimum) for any games/programs needed. that way, it somewhat isolates the programs and their save data from the OS and vice-versa. so if either drive takes a dump, i don't loose everything. i'm also not convinced that running game files off an ssd results in any performance improvement.

i second the amd/ati mindset. every time i've tried to run amd/nvidia, it gets weird issues.
__________________
my '14 brz limited "the return to normal" (or is it?)
led mods-10%(planning/designing/sitting on hands)audio mods-99%(done is never done)

hidplanet build log
soundman98 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to soundman98 For This Useful Post:
spcmafia (01-06-2021)
Old 01-06-2021, 08:20 AM   #2405
x808drifter
LMGTFY
 
x808drifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Drives: 13 FRS, 91 Miata
Location: Lava Town, HI
Posts: 1,616
Thanks: 1,560
Thanked 1,972 Times in 880 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundman98 View Post
+1 as well on a modular power supply. makes a hug difference not having the random spaghetti monster to deal with when trying to put everything together. i tend to prefer at least 600-900w power supplies. think of it as a maximum rating-- if your system only needs 400w to start, it won't draw anymore, but will likely run much more reliably because there's more headroom built into it.

the important thing to remember about ssd's is that write cycles are what damage them. my preference is to run a small ssd for the OS(under 400gb), and run a larger platter drive(1tb minimum) for any games/programs needed. that way, it somewhat isolates the programs and their save data from the OS and vice-versa. so if either drive takes a dump, i don't loose everything. i'm also not convinced that running game files off an ssd results in any performance improvement.

i second the amd/ati mindset. every time i've tried to run amd/nvidia, it gets weird issues.
That is very outdated info.

TLDR;
You wont kill the drive with writes.
All programs should be on SSD's, that includes games.
Having a separate drive for OS was more for spending less on the NVMe drive itself and getting a cheaper larger SATA SSD for other program storage.
Loading times between SSD and HDD are vastly different.


The amount of writes you can do to a decent SSD these days will in all but very few circumstances outlast the computer build.

I have been using my 850EVO for just over 5 years now. It has lasted as a my only drive in 2 laptops and is now used as game storage in my desktop.
I am now pushing nearly 20TB written and the drives health is still good.

"Current consumer grade SSD's have been tested to go beyond 600TB total writes. Some past 1000 TB total writes."
That is from 2015 when I bought my SSD.

As for games not having an impact?
There are lots of articles showing drastic drops in load time when going from a HDD to even the slowest SSD. SSD to SSD is much smaller.
Case in point.
FFXV can take well over a minute to load up where I now load it in under 15 seconds.
Another example.
x808drifter is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to x808drifter For This Useful Post:
alphasaur (01-06-2021), Captain Snooze (01-06-2021), soundman98 (01-06-2021), Wally86 (01-06-2021)
Old 01-06-2021, 08:37 AM   #2406
Dadhawk
1st86 Driver!
 
Dadhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Drives: '13 FR-S (#3 of 1st 86)
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 17,037
Thanks: 32,534
Thanked 20,100 Times in 9,362 Posts
Mentioned: 163 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by x808drifter View Post
That is very outdated info.
@x808drifter while I agree with most of what you said, and I do run SSD on my computers for both the OS and the Program drives, outside initial load times I'm not sure there is a lot of difference when running a game thanks to buffering, etc by the game itself.

As far as SSD lifecycle, I agree. While they are a different quality SSD, we use them exclusively in our data center for most of our highest transaction applications. Historically we had a much higher failure rate on mechanical drives than we do with SSDs.
__________________

Visit my Owner's Journal where I wax philosophic on all things FR-S
Post your 86 or see others in front of a(n) (in)famous landmark.
What fits in your 86? Show us the "Junk In Your Trunk".
Dadhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Dadhawk For This Useful Post:
soundman98 (01-06-2021)
Old 01-06-2021, 09:03 AM   #2407
DarkPira7e
No, my car doesn't run
 
DarkPira7e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Drives: 2013 Turbo Firestorm FRS
Location: Vermont
Posts: 3,212
Thanks: 2,396
Thanked 3,070 Times in 1,581 Posts
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dadhawk View Post
[MENTION=133407]
As far as SSD lifecycle, I agree. While they are a different quality SSD, we use them exclusively in our data center for most of our highest transaction applications. Historically we had a much higher failure rate on mechanical drives than we do with SSDs.
I can proudly say that in my years of owning SSDs, I have yet to have one start on fire. I've had a few platter drives start on fire(My Maxtor Fireball drives aptly earned their title), become corrupt (Seagate drives in mid 2000s anyone?).

I hosted a few Counter-Strike: Source servers on a computer with SSDs in RAID0 for 8-10 months in 2010 with no issues and the hard drives are still in use ( outside of RAID0) in a friend's computer.
The only thing I miss about the old drives is molex. The first time I ought a SATA drive, I was convinced I would break the power connector, I really like the solid feeling of the molex M.2 has resolved this for me recently though
__________________
Turbo FR-S Build - Build Thread
JDL EL Recirc manifold, Boostlab BL58x Turbo w/ T51R, 17x9 ARC-8, IAG block
DarkPira7e is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to DarkPira7e For This Useful Post:
Dadhawk (01-06-2021), soundman98 (01-06-2021), Wally86 (01-06-2021)
Old 01-06-2021, 02:26 PM   #2408
Captain Snooze
Because compromise ®
 
Captain Snooze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Drives: Red Herring
Location: australia
Posts: 6,671
Thanks: 3,248
Thanked 7,254 Times in 3,319 Posts
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dadhawk View Post
As far as SSD lifecycle, I agree. While they are a different quality SSD, we use them exclusively in our data center for most of our highest transaction applications.
I think it interesting that for some applications tape storage is still a thing and development is still taking place for this prehistoric technology.

https://au.pcmag.com/storage/84470/f...magnetic-tapes
__________________
My car is completely stock except for all the mods.

Captain Snooze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gamers lounge Touge_ninja Off-Topic Lounge [WARNING: NO POLITICS] 25 01-21-2014 04:32 PM
GT Acadamy Gamers Banned from Britsh GT Pro-Am WingsofWar Off-Topic Lounge [WARNING: NO POLITICS] 16 02-11-2013 06:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.