follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Software Tuning

Software Tuning Discuss all software tuning topics.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-05-2021, 12:39 PM   #1
James1110111
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Drives: 2012 Toyota 86
Location: Bunbury
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Exclamation MY OFT ISNT LETTING ME TUNE/ READ MY ECU???

I was trying to put a tune on my oft and I was waiting for it to finish up and a few minutes later, an error popped up and then it said that the oft hasnít been used yet or isnít married to my carÖ I plugged it into my car (pressed tuning)to read the car it says unknown VIN and popped up an error code of ecu 10013

Please help me out!! 😰

I also went into real time display and everything was working fine, it was reading my throttle and stuff but canít tune the car??

Very desperate because I have my stock tune on it and donít want to loose it
Attached Images
    
James1110111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2021, 01:32 PM   #2
bucketfoot
Senior Member
 
bucketfoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Drives: 2020 Toyota GT86
Location: Colorado
Posts: 131
Thanks: 24
Thanked 80 Times in 41 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Make sure you have the cable completely plugged into the OBD2 port. I ran into a similar issue recently and it was as simple as that.

The port in these isn't as securely mounted as in other cars I own or have owned. So I now make sure to kind of wrap my hand around both the port and the cable to make sure it seats completely.
__________________
This post sent using 100% recycled electrons.
bucketfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bucketfoot For This Useful Post:
Celica00 (12-09-2021)
Old 12-08-2021, 02:13 AM   #3
James1110111
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Drives: 2012 Toyota 86
Location: Bunbury
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucketfoot View Post
Make sure you have the cable completely plugged into the OBD2 port. I ran into a similar issue recently and it was as simple as that.

The port in these isn't as securely mounted as in other cars I own or have owned. So I now make sure to kind of wrap my hand around both the port and the cable to make sure it seats completely.

Iíve tried that, it still didnít want to readÖ the open flash app also said that the oft hasnít been used


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
James1110111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2021, 07:26 PM   #4
PetrolioBenzina
Senior Member
 
PetrolioBenzina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Drives: 17 86
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,670
Thanks: 75
Thanked 1,129 Times in 646 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
You did it backwards. The first thing you should have done was read the stock tune from the car, not try to write a tune to the tablet if I am understanding what you wrote.

How to fix that? No clue, other than contact OFT.
PetrolioBenzina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2021, 10:46 PM   #5
James1110111
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Drives: 2012 Toyota 86
Location: Bunbury
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PetrolioBenzina View Post
You did it backwards. The first thing you should have done was read the stock tune from the car, not try to write a tune to the tablet if I am understanding what you wrote.

How to fix that? No clue, other than contact OFT.

Iíve read the stock tune. Pretty sure you canít tune the car if you havenít read the stock tune.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
James1110111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2021, 01:09 AM   #6
Brz866
Member
 
Brz866's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Drives: Series Blue WRB JRSC C38 HBP Flex
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 76
Thanks: 10
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
FWIW I ran into an issue with ecutek where the program would read the ecu but not flash. Problem was the obd port. Female pins in the port were not making contact. I depinned the port, bent the pins tabs inwards, then got an extension harness and connected it and zip tied it together to the port. Now everything is reading perfectly. The obd port in these cars does not like wider connector pins like those present in the ecutek cable or oft.
Brz866 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2021, 06:25 PM   #7
lester.gt86
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S on e85
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
This just happened to me while trying to update my oft and upload new tunes. Now, it won't let me read my ecu and/or upload anything since it is saying it has to read the ECU first. OFT Code 10013 is always there.
lester.gt86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2021, 11:33 AM   #8
James1110111
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Drives: 2012 Toyota 86
Location: Bunbury
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
MY OFT ISNT LETTING ME TUNE/ READ MY ECU???

Quote:
Originally Posted by lester.gt86 View Post
This just happened to me while trying to update my oft and upload new tunes. Now, it won't let me read my ecu and/or upload anything since it is saying it has to read the ECU first. OFT Code 10013 is always there.

Iíve gotten a advice from a dads mate who works at mitsubitshi, he said either get a new ecu or contact oft (which I did but oft has a shit response time) and Iím honestly considering getting a new ecu nglÖ


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by James1110111; 12-27-2021 at 03:04 AM.
James1110111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2021, 05:12 AM   #9
dnjkie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Drives: Toyota GR86
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I have the same problem. Actually, what's the cause of that problem? I don't know. I think the new update ECU option is not available. But if that's the latest update is the problem, then there should to fixed that.
__________________
...
dnjkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2021, 11:53 AM   #10
NoHaveMSG
Senior Member
 
NoHaveMSG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Drives: Crapcan
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,743
Thanks: 13,671
Thanked 12,716 Times in 5,681 Posts
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by James1110111 View Post
I’ve gotten a advice from a dads mate who works at mitsubitshi, he said either get a new ecu or contact oft (which I did but oft has a shit response time) and I’m honestly considering getting a new ecu ngl…


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
First of all, never listen to that guy again.

Have you contacted OFT yet so they can tell you what the error is related to? The OFT FB groups can be helpful and Shiv is there more than he is at work responding to customer inquiries.
__________________
"Experience is the hardest kind of teacher. It gives you the test first and the lesson afterward." -Oscar Wilde.
NoHaveMSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2021, 10:10 PM   #11
James1110111
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Drives: 2012 Toyota 86
Location: Bunbury
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoHaveMSG View Post
First of all, never listen to that guy again.

Have you contacted OFT yet so they can tell you what the error is related to? The OFT FB groups can be helpful and Shiv is there more than he is at work responding to customer inquiries.

Iíve contacted oft and theyíre really slow at respondingÖ Iíll try the fb group and see if they can help me


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
James1110111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2021, 10:28 PM   #12
NoHaveMSG
Senior Member
 
NoHaveMSG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Drives: Crapcan
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,743
Thanks: 13,671
Thanked 12,716 Times in 5,681 Posts
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by James1110111 View Post
Iíve contacted oft and theyíre really slow at respondingÖ Iíll try the fb group and see if they can help me


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
They are really bad at email. There maybe someone on the FB group that can help you. Lot of people that have a good amount of knowledge there.
__________________
"Experience is the hardest kind of teacher. It gives you the test first and the lesson afterward." -Oscar Wilde.
NoHaveMSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2022, 11:02 AM   #13
James1110111
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Drives: 2012 Toyota 86
Location: Bunbury
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Ok so after a few months passÖ Iíve made a new ticket to them a few days ago and they responded!! They sent me a recovery process link/ steps and I donít know if I want to do it yet because Iím the recovery process they said ďThis process will erase your OFT, making your device "new" again, and ready for installation on a new car.Ē And Iím kinda sussed out because I did not make a copy of my original tune on my computer so the only copy I have is on the tablet. So have 3 theories..
1-itíll just completely wipe everything and still have my original tune on it.
2-when it says ďmaking my device ďnewĒ againĒ it makes me think that itíll wipe everything off it and ďunmarryĒ itself.
3-itll still be married but wipe everything off it.

I donít 2 would be the case because to ďunmarry a car, you need to load your original tune back to your car to actually unmarry it. But idk, please help me.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
James1110111 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
ecu issue, oft help, oft read, toyota 86 forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Read Second O2 sensor in OFT Stage 2 Tune majixmatrix Software Tuning 2 07-23-2018 06:31 AM
Retuning BRZ with HKS tune, OFT and OS wont read or write Pro60modman Software Tuning 1 04-23-2018 06:15 AM
Toyota you're letting us all down. CzRceCar Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 48 02-05-2014 01:53 AM
Singularity is Near? or Isnt Near? supra2nv Off-Topic Lounge [WARNING: NO POLITICS] 10 07-17-2013 04:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2022 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.