follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB

Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB Problems, issues, recalls, TSBs


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-11-2022, 04:28 AM   #1
Limitz
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Drives: Black Scion FR-S
Location: California
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Used Techron complete system cleaner and car is limp mode

I used Techron complete system cleaner today when filling up an empty tank, it’s my first time using it and I have 102,000 miles, when I finished filling up on gas I turned the car on and let it run for a good minute then started driving home just fine for about 5 minutes and then car started losing power and went into limp mode, pulled over put car in park and car turned off on its own. I then turned it on and noticed it was sounding a bit different (had a cammed sound to it kinda)left it on for about 5-7 minutes the noise went back to normal and then drove it home but once again went limp mode and just drove idle home. Which wasn’t that far. Any idea why this would happen ? I thought it was safe to use, my only guess is that I have high mileage but I don’t think it would be bad enough to make the car go limp mode, also NO check engine light or anything turned on. Tried turning the car on next morning and it just cranks now. Note: before adding the gasoline the car was running fine no problems took it on a 30 mile trip right before filling up with gas which just makes this more frustrating

Last edited by Limitz; 06-11-2022 at 09:22 PM.
Limitz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Limitz For This Useful Post:
humfrz (06-12-2022)
Old 06-11-2022, 10:14 AM   #2
Sapphireho
Original Recipe
 
Sapphireho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Drives: Costco boxer briefs
Location: Caldwell, ID
Posts: 11,898
Thanks: 4,920
Thanked 15,610 Times in 7,593 Posts
Mentioned: 143 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
How much techron did you use, and do you have any modifications?
Sapphireho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2022, 11:15 AM   #3
Limitz
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Drives: Black Scion FR-S
Location: California
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sapphireho View Post
How much techron did you use, and do you have any modifications?
I used a whole bottle since it said use whole bottle for 12 gallon gas tankÖ ended up putting 10.4 gallons of 93 after, only mod is my exhaust catback, ima try again to just leave it running maybe itís putting in work since itís my first time using it maybe it has a lot of cleaning to do Ö?
Limitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2022, 12:03 PM   #4
fableluke
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Drives: BLue 2013 frs
Location: AHHH BEES
Posts: 22
Thanks: 7
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Why did you use fuel cleaner? Our cars shouldnt need anything like that. I have never used fuel cleaner/additives ever for any of my cars. The frs/brz/86 has direct and port injection so fuel cleaning solutions arent necessary.
fableluke is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fableluke For This Useful Post:
Teseo (06-11-2022), Yoshoobaroo (06-11-2022)
Old 06-11-2022, 12:28 PM   #5
Limitz
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Drives: Black Scion FR-S
Location: California
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by fableluke View Post
Why did you use fuel cleaner? Our cars shouldnt need anything like that. I have never used fuel cleaner/additives ever for any of my cars. The frs/brz/86 has direct and port injection so fuel cleaning solutions arent necessary.
Honestly my neighbor just gave me it saying it would clean out all gunk and shit and Improve my m/g, I searched up if it was safe to use on the frs and nothing negative came out of it so decided to give it a try but not my car wonít start up lol just cranks and the rpm flutters between 0-1k
Limitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2022, 02:13 PM   #6
Ultramaroon
original flavor
 
Ultramaroon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Drives: a 13 e8h frs
Location: vantucky, wa
Posts: 29,792
Thanks: 48,122
Thanked 33,210 Times in 17,390 Posts
Mentioned: 1059 Post(s)
Tagged: 9 Thread(s)
It can't be limp mode. Codes will be thrown and the gauge cluster lights up like a christmas tree.


I know someone who's throttle butterfly jammed open. It acted in a similar fashion. Wild guess here.
__________________
Ultramaroon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Ultramaroon For This Useful Post:
NoHaveMSG (06-11-2022), Sapphireho (06-11-2022), Yoshoobaroo (06-11-2022)
Old 06-11-2022, 02:18 PM   #7
NoHaveMSG
Senior Member
 
NoHaveMSG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Drives: Crapcan
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,743
Thanks: 13,671
Thanked 12,716 Times in 5,681 Posts
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by fableluke View Post
Why did you use fuel cleaner? Our cars shouldnt need anything like that. I have never used fuel cleaner/additives ever for any of my cars. The frs/brz/86 has direct and port injection so fuel cleaning solutions arent necessary.

You do know that fuel system cleaners have been around for decades before GDI was ever prevalent in passenger vehicles.



I agree with Ultra. Somethingís going on. Youíd have codes for limp mode. I would try disconnecting the battery for 30 sec and trying it.
__________________
"Experience is the hardest kind of teacher. It gives you the test first and the lesson afterward." -Oscar Wilde.
NoHaveMSG is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to NoHaveMSG For This Useful Post:
humfrz (06-12-2022), RToyo86 (06-11-2022), Sapphireho (06-11-2022), Ultramaroon (06-11-2022)
Old 06-11-2022, 03:47 PM   #8
Sapphireho
Original Recipe
 
Sapphireho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Drives: Costco boxer briefs
Location: Caldwell, ID
Posts: 11,898
Thanks: 4,920
Thanked 15,610 Times in 7,593 Posts
Mentioned: 143 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Limitz View Post
I used a whole bottle since it said use whole bottle for 12 gallon gas tankÖ ended up putting 10.4 gallons of 93 after, only mod is my exhaust catback, ima try again to just leave it running maybe itís putting in work since itís my first time using it maybe it has a lot of cleaning to do Ö?
I used to put 3 bottles in about 4 gallons of gas in my 911, then go out and do an Italian tune-up (recommended by Porsche). I think the Techron is totally coincidental.

I agree with Ultra too. You got something else going on.
Sapphireho is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Sapphireho For This Useful Post:
Ultramaroon (06-11-2022)
Old 06-11-2022, 04:15 PM   #9
Yoshoobaroo
TRACKBREAD
 
Yoshoobaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Drives: 2013 BRZ
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,887
Thanks: 2,634
Thanked 3,960 Times in 1,864 Posts
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Disconnect the battery for 15 mins and see if it goes away. Any chance itís bad gas? Is it a high-volume gas station youíve used before?

I agree with the above, donít use fuel system cleaner unless thereís a problem youíre trying to solve. The fuel itself is already an excellent cleaner by itself lol.
Yoshoobaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2022, 05:27 PM   #10
Project_1796
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Drives: Scion FRS 10 series
Location: Santa Rosa CA
Posts: 39
Thanks: 6
Thanked 25 Times in 17 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Limitz View Post
Honestly my neighbor just gave me it saying it would clean out all gunk and shit and Improve my m/g, I searched up if it was safe to use on the frs and nothing negative came out of it so decided to give it a try but not my car wonít start up lol just cranks and the rpm flutters between 0-1k
It's probably bad luck and the fuel pump happened to die on you, check the in tank pump in the rear seat. Cycle the key to on without cranking and try to listen for a buzz from the fuel pump.
Project_1796 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2022, 09:16 PM   #11
Limitz
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Drives: Black Scion FR-S
Location: California
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sapphireho View Post
I used to put 3 bottles in about 4 gallons of gas in my 911, then go out and do an Italian tune-up (recommended by Porsche). I think the Techron is totally coincidental.

I agree with Ultra too. You got something else going on.
So my mechanic came to check it out quick since he couldnít run lots of test on it since he didnít have time, but we did get multiple misfire codes, an air sensor code,but he believes it to have something to do with the throttle body since Iíve had an issue with it before. ima check if disconnecting battery for a while then plugging it back in will turn the car on. Car just cranks now and doesnít want to turn on. Ive also had some problems with the battery, and apparently a fuze is going bad. I thought maybe I didnít put the correct gas but Iím 99% sure I used 91 octane .. which is what it takes, I donít think I would mess that up, but still a possibility.
Limitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2022, 09:25 PM   #12
Limitz
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Drives: Black Scion FR-S
Location: California
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Project_1796 View Post
It's probably bad luck and the fuel pump happened to die on you, check the in tank pump in the rear seat. Cycle the key to on without cranking and try to listen for a buzz from the fuel pump.
Mechanic checked the fuel pump and we could hear it, he said it sounded fine.. so we moved to the engine bay where he said my throttle body makes a lot of noise and flutters so we going to check on that tomorrow
But for now Iím honestly stuck at square one not knowing exactly what to check
Limitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2022, 09:27 PM   #13
Limitz
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Drives: Black Scion FR-S
Location: California
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultramaroon View Post
It can't be limp mode. Codes will be thrown and the gauge cluster lights up like a christmas tree.


I know someone who's throttle butterfly jammed open. It acted in a similar fashion. Wild guess here.
My mechanic said the throttle body was acting weird and making too much sound, related to that? He said the throttle body would flutter
Limitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2022, 09:34 PM   #14
Ultramaroon
original flavor
 
Ultramaroon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Drives: a 13 e8h frs
Location: vantucky, wa
Posts: 29,792
Thanks: 48,122
Thanked 33,210 Times in 17,390 Posts
Mentioned: 1059 Post(s)
Tagged: 9 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Limitz View Post
My mechanic said the throttle body was acting weird and making too much sound, related to that? He said the throttle body would flutter
It's exactly that.
__________________
Ultramaroon is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Fix Limp Mode? MidnightFumes Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 7 01-20-2021 05:18 PM
Limp mode at 2K rpm NEED HELP!! Arthur_frs Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 5 04-13-2020 10:22 PM
Limp mode GTBOY Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 4 06-07-2018 12:58 PM
Valet mode / limp mode? radroach Software Tuning 1 09-18-2017 11:34 AM
Car in Limp mode... No CEL Sportsguy83 Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 60 08-20-2014 03:35 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2022 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.