follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB

Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB Problems, issues, recalls, TSBs


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2020, 05:14 PM   #1
DatChinchilla
Junior Member
 
DatChinchilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Drives: Turbocharged 2015 Subaru BRZ
Location: Washington
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Push Start Acting Weird.

So I just installed a new turbo with some gauges on my 2015 auto BRZ and now the car won't start. This happened today right after I installed my gauges. Whenever I press the start button, regardless of whether or not the brake pedal is pressed, the gauge cluster acts as if the car is being turned on even though it isn't. This happens with the brake pushed down as well. The car also beeps thinking the door is open when in reality, the door is shut. The infotainment system doesn't even turn on anymore. I've checked the fuses and none of them seem to be blown. This all happened today after I installed the gauges, the car was working great before with the turbo installed. Any suggestions?

Last edited by DatChinchilla; 08-21-2020 at 05:16 PM. Reason: Added more symptoms.
DatChinchilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2020, 05:33 PM   #2
dragoontwo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Drives: 2020 BRZ PP
Location: TN
Posts: 147
Thanks: 46
Thanked 125 Times in 64 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Will it start if you disconnect the gauges? What gauges did you install?
dragoontwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2020, 05:43 PM   #3
DatChinchilla
Junior Member
 
DatChinchilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Drives: Turbocharged 2015 Subaru BRZ
Location: Washington
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragoontwo View Post
Will it start if you disconnect the gauges? What gauges did you install?
Interesting. So an additional problem I had was my headlight stock literally wouldn't work and disconnecting the power to gauges seemed to fix my door beeping and my headlights. However, my engine still didn't turn on. Going into accessory mode seems to bug my gauge cluster into thinking my car is turning on.
DatChinchilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2020, 06:16 PM   #4
dragoontwo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Drives: 2020 BRZ PP
Location: TN
Posts: 147
Thanks: 46
Thanked 125 Times in 64 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Sounds like some sort of installation issue.
dragoontwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2020, 11:27 PM   #5
DatChinchilla
Junior Member
 
DatChinchilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Drives: Turbocharged 2015 Subaru BRZ
Location: Washington
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragoontwo View Post
Sounds like some sort of installation issue.
I'm an idiot. Apparently the battery was dead. Guessing this happened since I had 2 add-a-fuses with 4 15 amp fuses for the gauges and that was just too much. Going to switch some fuses with lower amps.
DatChinchilla is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DatChinchilla For This Useful Post:
humfrz (08-22-2020)
Old 08-21-2020, 11:59 PM   #6
soundman98
threadwrecker
 
soundman98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Drives: '14 brz limited
Location: chicago-ish
Posts: 5,769
Thanks: 15,731
Thanked 6,395 Times in 3,305 Posts
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DatChinchilla View Post
I'm an idiot. Apparently the battery was dead. Guessing this happened since I had 2 add-a-fuses with 4 15 amp fuses for the gauges and that was just too much. Going to switch some fuses with lower amps.
fuses don't work that way...
__________________
my '14 brz limited "the return to normal" (or is it?)
led mods-10%(planning/designing/sitting on hands)audio mods-99%(done is never done)

hidplanet build log
soundman98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2020, 01:06 AM   #7
humfrz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Drives: 2013 FR-S, white, MT
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 27,010
Thanks: 23,850
Thanked 26,625 Times in 14,333 Posts
Mentioned: 626 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DatChinchilla View Post
I'm an idiot. Apparently the battery was dead. Guessing this happened since I had 2 add-a-fuses with 4 15 amp fuses for the gauges and that was just too much. Going to switch some fuses with lower amps.
Welp, like ol @soundman98 said, "fuses don't work that way".

If you have 4 15 amp fuses in your dash light circuit, you might as wire them direct for all the good they would do.

I reckon a 10 amp fuse should regulate all of them OK.

I'm thinking you may consider taking your car into a auto electrical shop and have them straighten it out.

Also, you should find out what drained the battery and fix that situation.

Did you hear about the ol boy from Washington that was out hunting with his buddy in his old pickup truck. It was getting dark and the headlights wouldn't work. His buddy suggested he check the fuse. He did, found out it blew. His buddy suggested he insert a .22 shell in the fuse slot, so he did.

About 2 miles down the road, a shot rang out and the .22 round hit his buddy in the leg. His buddy shouted out - I meant for you to put a spent shell casing in the fuse slot!
humfrz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to humfrz For This Useful Post:
soundman98 (08-22-2020)
Old 08-22-2020, 08:07 AM   #8
DatChinchilla
Junior Member
 
DatChinchilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Drives: Turbocharged 2015 Subaru BRZ
Location: Washington
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by humfrz View Post
Welp, like ol @soundman98 said, "fuses don't work that way".

If you have 4 15 amp fuses in your dash light circuit, you might as wire them direct for all the good they would do.

I reckon a 10 amp fuse should regulate all of them OK.

I'm thinking you may consider taking your car into a auto electrical shop and have them straighten it out.

Also, you should find out what drained the battery and fix that situation.

Did you hear about the ol boy from Washington that was out hunting with his buddy in his old pickup truck. It was getting dark and the headlights wouldn't work. His buddy suggested he check the fuse. He did, found out it blew. His buddy suggested he insert a .22 shell in the fuse slot, so he did.

About 2 miles down the road, a shot rang out and the .22 round hit his buddy in the leg. His buddy shouted out - I meant for you to put a spent shell casing in the fuse slot!
Haha! Thanks for the hospitality! Yeah I was running the gauges and and all the electrical systems in my car for around an hour which is probably why. Well, that and the fact she's been on jack stands for the past week and a half. I emailed Glowshift whom I purchased the gauges from and they recommended a 5 amp fuse and a 15 for the add-a-fuse slots. Odd how that wasn't on the instructions so I didn't know.
DatChinchilla is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DatChinchilla For This Useful Post:
humfrz (08-22-2020)
Old 08-22-2020, 08:16 AM   #9
DatChinchilla
Junior Member
 
DatChinchilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Drives: Turbocharged 2015 Subaru BRZ
Location: Washington
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundman98 View Post
fuses don't work that way...
Yeah, I'm really new to electrical stuff so I really don't know haha, thanks though! So I'm pretty sure my battery just simply died from being left untouched for almost a couple weeks along with the fact my car was on accessory power for over an hour.
DatChinchilla is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DatChinchilla For This Useful Post:
soundman98 (08-22-2020)
Old 08-22-2020, 10:45 AM   #10
soundman98
threadwrecker
 
soundman98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Drives: '14 brz limited
Location: chicago-ish
Posts: 5,769
Thanks: 15,731
Thanked 6,395 Times in 3,305 Posts
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
fuses are a limiting device. think of it like a cop with a radar gun. if the speed limit is 15mph, there is nothing limiting you from going any speed from 0-15mph, but anything over that limit, the cop/fuse will put a stop to the 'fun'.

typically, one should fuse a device for just over what it needs. this is done so that there is an allowable margin of error in power draw(if it draws a little more than it's supposed to, NBD), but if something goes wrong and the device starts drawing significantly more power, the fuse is there to stop it before the device can start on fire and cause more significant problems.
__________________
my '14 brz limited "the return to normal" (or is it?)
led mods-10%(planning/designing/sitting on hands)audio mods-99%(done is never done)

hidplanet build log
soundman98 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to soundman98 For This Useful Post:
humfrz (08-22-2020)
Old 08-22-2020, 03:50 PM   #11
humfrz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Drives: 2013 FR-S, white, MT
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 27,010
Thanks: 23,850
Thanked 26,625 Times in 14,333 Posts
Mentioned: 626 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DatChinchilla View Post
Haha! Thanks for the hospitality! Yeah I was running the gauges and and all the electrical systems in my car for around an hour which is probably why. Well, that and the fact she's been on jack stands for the past week and a half. I emailed Glowshift whom I purchased the gauges from and they recommended a 5 amp fuse and a 15 for the add-a-fuse slots. Odd how that wasn't on the instructions so I didn't know.
Well, they probably were, but the print was soo small you couldn't read it with the unaided eye. -
humfrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2020, 12:03 PM   #12
Grady
Senior Member
 
Grady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: BRZ Yellow, 2019 Ranger
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,075
Thanks: 236
Thanked 810 Times in 458 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by DatChinchilla View Post
I'm an idiot. Apparently the battery was dead. Guessing this happened since I had 2 add-a-fuses with 4 15 amp fuses for the gauges and that was just too much. Going to switch some fuses with lower amps.


Yes try some 1 amp fuses they use a lot less. If your battery still goes dead just keep putting lower ones in. Try 1/2 or see if you can find 1/4 amp. Soon your battery will never go dead!
Grady is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: STI engine start push start OEM plug and play sokol Interior Parts (Incl. Lighting) 5 06-13-2019 03:12 PM
Stock 2014 is headunit acting weird Thehermdawg Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 0 05-26-2015 06:35 PM
Engine is acting weird natesparxxx Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 31 09-05-2014 12:30 PM
OFT - First E85 tank in my car. Acting weird. SloS14 Software Tuning 37 06-01-2014 11:37 PM
Battery dies, push start car in gear.... push start button rhythmM Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum 7 02-27-2014 07:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.