follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-24-2013, 12:41 PM   #1
6-Shift
Seņor Member
 
6-Shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Drives: 2013 Raven, Drifty things
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,168
Thanks: 980
Thanked 461 Times in 323 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Question Hooking up an Amplifier to bespoke questions.

So I'm probably going to move over by subwoofer from my truck to the FR-S. My question is: how do I get the head unit to tell the amp to turn on and off? A friend who also has an FR-S had his hooked up but his amp stayed on constantly and drained his battery. I know basically nothing about wiring audio (a shop did the wiring for my truck) but I'd like to know how complicated this would be. Also, where is the best place under the car to run the main power line from the battery to the amp? Sorry for the noob questions.
__________________
T O U G E - C U L T U R E
Follow me on instagram! :@tougeculture_chris
'13 FR-S, SBD Turbo kit, Tein Flex Z coils, other stuff. Drifting and autocross.
6-Shift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 01:44 PM   #2
GremlinGSP
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S
Location: Missouri
Posts: 129
Thanks: 6
Thanked 47 Times in 21 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Garage
I rewired mine for aftermarket but I think there may be 3 ways to approach this. There's an amp of some sort in the rear we may be able to use and piggy back off of for the remote on. Second option there is a remote wire for the antenna. Last would be to hook into the acc wire. That way its only on when key is. There's probably some other options as well. But I ran all new wire for my system and didn't spend a ton of time checking all the wires. I'm pretty sure either of the first two should work.

Hit me up on facebook or pm and I'll help you wire it up. I'm up in North KC as well.

I've been doing stereos for 16 years now so I'm sure we can get it set up properly.
GremlinGSP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 02:13 PM   #3
pheoxs
Hold my beer n watch this
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Drives: '14 Fiesta ST / '91 240sx
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 782
Thanks: 214
Thanked 301 Times in 177 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
The REM wire connnection is what tells your amp to turn on or off. If you attached it to a always on +12v source, the amp will always be on which is what your buddy did. You need to find a switched power source (+12v when the ignition is on, 0V when its off) to do it properly. There will be a switched power source on the back of the head unit, you just need to tap the correct wire (There's a wiring diagram on here somewhere to see which color you need to tap).

Also don't forget on the head unit to set Subwoofer: On in the settings menu to enable to RCA output to the Sub.

As for power routing, I haven't started mine yet so no comment but usually battery through the firewall where you can find room, then down one side of the car and to the amp.
pheoxs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 06:29 PM   #4
RMStringer
Senior Member
 
RMStringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Drives: Scion FR-s Pearl White 6 Speed
Location: Jasper, Texas
Posts: 105
Thanks: 46
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via ICQ to RMStringer Send a message via Yahoo to RMStringer
Here is how my sub was installed.the local shop did it for me.

Sent from my Galaxy SIII using Taptalk
Attached Images
  
__________________
RMStringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 06:41 PM   #5
briang0901
Senior Member
 
briang0901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: 2024 MT Toyota GR86
Location: Florida
Posts: 349
Thanks: 85
Thanked 87 Times in 60 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
dude just get an ez clip that splices into the radio on/off wire that goes into the headunit and splice in your p.conn wire to that wire. ive had mine hooked up for 4 months now, no issues.
briang0901 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 09:05 AM   #6
mad_sb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Drives: 2013 Asphalt FR-S
Location: Orange County
Posts: 1,639
Thanks: 632
Thanked 981 Times in 537 Posts
Mentioned: 100 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
OK,

The Headunit has 3 sets of RCA outs on the back, when looking at the back of the head unit, screen facing the dash, the left most pair of RCA outs are the sub. You will want to tap into the brown wire in the factory radio harness for the amps remote on wire. You may be able to grab the remote on signal at the factory amp as well, but since you will be running an RCA cable to the head unit anyway may as well grab it there.

Then you need to run a fused power wire directly from the battery to the amp and a chassis ground calbe directly to a chasis ground point.

Please do not "tap" into any existing factory power or ground wiring, that is super hackish.
mad_sb is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mad_sb For This Useful Post:
6-Shift (01-26-2013)
Old 01-26-2013, 09:52 AM   #7
cruzinbill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: Argento 6spd FR-S
Location: AR
Posts: 674
Thanks: 72
Thanked 181 Times in 122 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMStringer View Post
Here is how my sub was installed.the local shop did it for me.

Sent from my Galaxy SIII using Taptalk
what the hell wire did they tap into and why isnt it plugged in anymore?

Like above guy said it should be the brown wire for remote turn on, there is another post here somewhere that has a diagram of what each of the wires are also.
cruzinbill is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub + Amp Questions itdansharpe Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 29 07-08-2013 12:42 PM
Bespoke Questions fl_speed001 Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 33 10-08-2012 10:18 PM
Questions about CEL DarkSunrise Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 7 08-31-2012 12:42 PM
FR-S NAV Questions Dan86 Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 6 07-01-2012 02:24 PM
Questions Do Boy Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 4 06-22-2012 02:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2024 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.