follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > 1st Gens: Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 / Subaru BRZ > Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum

Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum The place to start for the Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 | GT86


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-29-2020, 12:44 AM   #1
frostyfrs
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Drives: Supercharged 2013 Scion FR-S
Location: Central Massachusetts
Posts: 37
Thanks: 41
Thanked 36 Times in 21 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
2013 rev matching?

So I have had my frs for about a week now, and when downshifting, If I am holding the brake, press in the clutch, and downshift, the car rev matches by itself. It only does it when around 30-40 and only when the brake is engaged. Is this something that all of them do or did the person previous to me make it do this?

Last edited by frostyfrs; 07-29-2020 at 08:16 AM.
frostyfrs is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frostyfrs For This Useful Post:
humfrz (07-29-2020)
Old 07-29-2020, 01:03 AM   #2
humfrz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Drives: 2013 FR-S, white, MT
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 28,450
Thanks: 26,246
Thanked 29,076 Times in 15,376 Posts
Mentioned: 671 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by frostyfrs View Post
So I have had my frs for about a week now, and when downshifting, If I am holding the break, press in the clutch, and downshift, the car rev matches by itself. It only does it when around 30-40 and only when the break is engaged. Is this something that all of them do or did the person previous to me make it do this?
First off, the car part is called a "brake" not a "break" -

Second off, it's not customary to push on the brake when downshifting.

My 2013 MT FR-S does not rev match (unless I make it do that).

humfrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 01:23 AM   #3
GCFSA
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Drives: Toyota 86
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
afaik the 86 doesn't auto revmatch. What I've notice happen though is sometimes when I brake and clutch in at lower rpms it'll automatically give it a bit of gas/rev up a little.

I think it's just to prevent stalling because in lower gears (not sure about higher ones) I've noticed during heavy traffic it'll actually still keep moving even if I'm not giving it any gas at very low speeds (10-15kmph?)
GCFSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 01:51 AM   #4
EndlessAzure
Senior Member
 
EndlessAzure's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Drives: '14 FR-S [37J] | Daily/Track
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 602
Thanks: 76
Thanked 313 Times in 217 Posts
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
It might have a tune on the ECU?


If it has an Ecutek tune on it, it might have auto-blip enabled for downshifting. It has occurs under very specific conditions: 1. must be braking, 2. must be above 3k rpm, 3. only occurs when clutch pedal is depressed
EndlessAzure is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to EndlessAzure For This Useful Post:
frostyfrs (07-29-2020), FRSBRZGT86FAN (08-04-2020), gravitylover (07-29-2020), ls1ac (07-29-2020), soundman98 (07-30-2020), Spuds (08-01-2020), strat61caster (07-29-2020)
Old 07-29-2020, 03:49 AM   #5
Brz-123
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Drives: BRZ
Location: UK
Posts: 104
Thanks: 52
Thanked 57 Times in 43 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
It has an ecu tune most likely by ECUTek. The easiest way to know if it has or not is pull your cruise control stalk towards you and the rev counter will move to 1,2,3 or4K RPMs indicating the tune options.
The above post is correct on when its activated but during tune, the tuner can set it to come above a certain RPM or more commonly above a certain speed , say 30 Kmph.

Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk
Brz-123 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Brz-123 For This Useful Post:
frostyfrs (07-29-2020), FRSBRZGT86FAN (08-04-2020), Spuds (08-01-2020)
Old 07-29-2020, 07:38 AM   #6
alex87f
Meow
 
alex87f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Drives: GT86
Location: Belgium
Posts: 227
Thanks: 123
Thanked 154 Times in 80 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by EndlessAzure View Post
It might have a tune on the ECU?


If it has an Ecutek tune on it, it might have auto-blip enabled for downshifting. It has occurs under very specific conditions: 1. must be braking, 2. must be above 3k rpm, 3. only occurs when clutch pedal is depressed
I read somewhere that all these tunes do is open the throttle when the conditions are met, but they don't "aim" for a certain RPM based on target gear and speed like some modern cars do. It's up to the driver to "catch" the RPM at the right level.

Is that correct?
alex87f is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to alex87f For This Useful Post:
frostyfrs (07-29-2020)
Old 07-29-2020, 08:12 AM   #7
Th3rdSun
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Drives: 2013 FR-S MT Hot Lava
Location: Chicagoland Area
Posts: 527
Thanks: 131
Thanked 260 Times in 169 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by frostyfrs View Post
So I have had my frs for about a week now, and when downshifting, If I am holding the break, press in the clutch, and downshift, the car rev matches by itself. It only does it when around 30-40 and only when the break is engaged. Is this something that all of them do or did the person previous to me make it do this?

Pretty sure that's not a stock feature. I have a 2013 as well,but it's NA. I heel-toe downshift and throttle blip all the time,and I can tell you,there is no auto rev matching.


As others have said,it has to be your tune.
Th3rdSun is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Th3rdSun For This Useful Post:
frostyfrs (07-29-2020)
Old 07-29-2020, 08:52 AM   #8
Grady
Senior Member
 
Grady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: BRZ Yellow, 2019 Ranger, 2011 Evora
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,286
Thanks: 276
Thanked 994 Times in 550 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex87f View Post
I read somewhere that all these tunes do is open the throttle when the conditions are met, but they don't "aim" for a certain RPM based on target gear and speed like some modern cars do. It's up to the driver to "catch" the RPM at the right level.

Is that correct?
Correct, it is called down shift blip, not rev matching. You have to shift quickly in order for it to work good.
Grady is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Grady For This Useful Post:
alex87f (07-29-2020)
Old 07-29-2020, 01:23 PM   #9
dnieves
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Drives: FR-S 10 Series
Location: NY
Posts: 1,062
Thanks: 615
Thanked 347 Times in 251 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GCFSA View Post
afaik the 86 doesn't auto revmatch. What I've notice happen though is sometimes when I brake and clutch in at lower rpms it'll automatically give it a bit of gas/rev up a little.

I think it's just to prevent stalling because in lower gears (not sure about higher ones) I've noticed during heavy traffic it'll actually still keep moving even if I'm not giving it any gas at very low speeds (10-15kmph?)


It keeps moving/creeping without hitting the gas pedal and brake (like an ATX) especially when the car is on an incline.
dnieves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 01:29 PM   #10
frostyfrs
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Drives: Supercharged 2013 Scion FR-S
Location: Central Massachusetts
Posts: 37
Thanks: 41
Thanked 36 Times in 21 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
After some further inspection, I learned that when I pull the cruise control, the rpms switch from between 1-4. Im assuming the previous owners had an ECUTEK
frostyfrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 02:11 PM   #11
Grady
Senior Member
 
Grady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: BRZ Yellow, 2019 Ranger, 2011 Evora
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,286
Thanks: 276
Thanked 994 Times in 550 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by frostyfrs View Post
After some further inspection, I learned that when I pull the cruise control, the rpms switch from between 1-4. Im assuming the previous owners had an ECUTEK
Yep you are tuned. Look around in the car for the dongle. It will look like a USB flash drive. You will not have to buy a license if you ever want to change your tune You will just need a computer and the interface. If the owner tuned it it will not be locked and you can tweak it. If it is professionally tuned you will be locked out and have to load back factory and start from scratch or buy another tune.
Grady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 02:27 PM   #12
ls1ac
Senior Member
 
ls1ac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Drives: BRZ, Noble M400, AC-LS7,1956 AC
Location: Wi/Fl
Posts: 1,022
Thanks: 328
Thanked 861 Times in 468 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Did you buy it privately? Maybe you can find the previous owner.
ls1ac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 07:43 PM   #13
EndlessAzure
Senior Member
 
EndlessAzure's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Drives: '14 FR-S [37J] | Daily/Track
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 602
Thanks: 76
Thanked 313 Times in 217 Posts
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex87f View Post
I read somewhere that all these tunes do is open the throttle when the conditions are met, but they don't "aim" for a certain RPM based on target gear and speed like some modern cars do. It's up to the driver to "catch" the RPM at the right level.

Is that correct?
I'm not sure, but a tuner can also tweak the parameters to improve performance across the range if I'm not mistaken. The autoblip on my car is pretty reliable at any RPM and gear.
EndlessAzure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 06:33 AM   #14
nicholaswhj
Member
 
nicholaswhj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Drives: Toyota 86
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GCFSA View Post
afaik the 86 doesn't auto revmatch. What I've notice happen though is sometimes when I brake and clutch in at lower rpms it'll automatically give it a bit of gas/rev up a little.

I think it's just to prevent stalling because in lower gears (not sure about higher ones) I've noticed during heavy traffic it'll actually still keep moving even if I'm not giving it any gas at very low speeds (10-15kmph?)
all auto will move when engaged in D bro.
nicholaswhj is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Matching the new WRB...possible! Dan37BRZ Cosmetic Maintenance (Wash, Wax, Detailing, Body Repairs) 10 02-02-2017 03:27 PM
What Is Rev Matching JPxM0Dz Other Vehicles & General Automotive Discussions 7 02-16-2016 03:32 PM
Matching HID's and DRL's red_ZN6_4_you Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 16 11-24-2014 03:09 PM
rev matching twoodcc BRZ First-Gen (2012+) -- General Topics 86 11-06-2013 02:03 PM
Rev Matching Selvedge Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 17 11-11-2012 06:48 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2022 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.