follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Xero Limit
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting)

Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) Discussions about cosmetic mods.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-07-2019, 02:08 PM   #1
coconutboy
Member
 
coconutboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Drives: 2015 White BRZ Aozora
Location: Toronto
Posts: 17
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Valenti Tailight Rewiring

Ok so long story short I hate the way my indicators look on my Valenti taillights.

My guy accidentally ordered the JDM ones, so my brake lights were yellow (triggered the indicator) and my indicator was flashing red (triggering night time lights)

Does anyone know if it's possible to wire the indicator (yellow) to the outer light (red)?

This was actually the case out of the box, but the fuse only looks like it can fit one wire.

There are 4 fuses in total.

I think you can do something called soldering? Not to familiar with that though, and if it will even work.

Thanks



Sent from my SM-G950W using Tapatalk
coconutboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 02:16 PM   #2
JD001
Senior Member
 
JD001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Drives: Subaru BRZ
Location: UK
Posts: 2,851
Thanks: 2,966
Thanked 2,010 Times in 1,224 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
I think you've got your wires crossed.. the query is appearing as 3 separate posts..
JD001 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JD001 For This Useful Post:
coconutboy (07-07-2019)
Old 07-07-2019, 02:20 PM   #3
coconutboy
Member
 
coconutboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Drives: 2015 White BRZ Aozora
Location: Toronto
Posts: 17
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Yeah i tried uploading on wifi a few times didnt work. Turned my data on, and they all uploaded. Cant even delete them on the latest update for the Tapatalk app -.- but yo if I dont think I can rewire it, because one wire perfectly fits into the fuse. There is no way two of them will fit

Sent from my SM-G950W using Tapatalk
coconutboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 02:27 PM   #4
coconutboy
Member
 
coconutboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Drives: 2015 White BRZ Aozora
Location: Toronto
Posts: 17
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
This is what it looks like

Sent from my SM-G950W using Tapatalk
coconutboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 03:04 PM   #5
Impureclient
Your Mom is my Dad
 
Impureclient's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Drives: 2015 FR-S
Location: NPR, Florida
Posts: 1,911
Thanks: 1,245
Thanked 2,060 Times in 938 Posts
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
https://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=36

There's also a subforum for this. Posting in general when there is a specific place in here for the specific question you asked won't help you as well.
Impureclient is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 03:05 PM   #6
soundman98
Boost is Whack. N/A4LYFE
 
soundman98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Drives: '14 brz limited
Location: chicagolandia
Posts: 1,577
Thanks: 2,058
Thanked 940 Times in 596 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
You need to repin the harness.

My phone is acting up, search youtube for repinning frs tail lights
__________________
my '14 brz limited "the return to normal" (or is it?)
led mods-10%(planning/designing/sitting on hands)audio mods-99%(done is never done)

hidplanet build log
soundman98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 03:16 PM   #7
coconutboy
Member
 
coconutboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Drives: 2015 White BRZ Aozora
Location: Toronto
Posts: 17
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I actually did repin the harness because they were wired backward when I got it. I want two cables in one input

Sent from my SM-G950W using Tapatalk
coconutboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 03:24 PM   #8
humfrz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Drives: 2013 FR-S, white, MT
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 21,668
Thanks: 15,698
Thanked 19,088 Times in 10,600 Posts
Mentioned: 501 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by coconutboy View Post
I actually did repin the harness because they were wired backward when I got it. I want two cables in one input

Sent from my SM-G950W using Tapatalk
Well then, just "piggy back" the wire coming out of the one inlet/outlet -


humfrz
humfrz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to humfrz For This Useful Post:
coconutboy (07-07-2019)
Old 07-07-2019, 03:26 PM   #9
coconutboy
Member
 
coconutboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Drives: 2015 White BRZ Aozora
Location: Toronto
Posts: 17
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by humfrz View Post
Well then, just "piggy back" the wire coming out of the one inlet/outlet -


humfrz
Will it work? Just nervous I'll fuck it up LOL

Sent from my SM-G950W using Tapatalk
coconutboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 03:36 PM   #10
humfrz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Drives: 2013 FR-S, white, MT
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 21,668
Thanks: 15,698
Thanked 19,088 Times in 10,600 Posts
Mentioned: 501 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by coconutboy View Post
Will it work? Just nervous I'll fuck it up LOL

Sent from my SM-G950W using Tapatalk
Just strip a section of insulation from the wire coming out of the plug, then wrap the other wire around it. Then tape the splice up with electrical tape.

Will it work? I have no idea of what you're trying to do?


humfrz
humfrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 03:44 PM   #11
JD001
Senior Member
 
JD001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Drives: Subaru BRZ
Location: UK
Posts: 2,851
Thanks: 2,966
Thanked 2,010 Times in 1,224 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by humfrz View Post
Just strip a section of insulation from the wire coming out of the plug, then wrap the other wire around it. Then tape the splice up with electrical tape.

Will it work? I have no idea of what you're trying to do?


humfrz


I think the OP is trying to get the amber light to behave like the red light and the red light to behave like the amber light.


If I was in his shoes I would ensure that my shoes had a think rubber sole and I would exchange the JDM lights for what works in your country..
JD001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 03:49 PM   #12
soundman98
Boost is Whack. N/A4LYFE
 
soundman98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Drives: '14 brz limited
Location: chicagolandia
Posts: 1,577
Thanks: 2,058
Thanked 940 Times in 596 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by coconutboy View Post
I actually did repin the harness because they were wired backward when I got it. I want two cables in one input

Sent from my SM-G950W using Tapatalk
Not possible without a lot of extra work involving blocking diodes and extra wiring. Not something i would recommend for someone not sure what soldering is.
__________________
my '14 brz limited "the return to normal" (or is it?)
led mods-10%(planning/designing/sitting on hands)audio mods-99%(done is never done)

hidplanet build log
soundman98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 03:56 PM   #13
coconutboy
Member
 
coconutboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Drives: 2015 White BRZ Aozora
Location: Toronto
Posts: 17
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD001 View Post
I think the OP is trying to get the amber light to behave like the red light and the red light to behave like the amber light.


If I was in his shoes I would ensure that my shoes had a think rubber sole and I would exchange the JDM lights for what works in your country..
Just to clarify I wanted my lights to do the following

Night time lights: red outline on lights

Indicator: red outline on lights that would flash as an indicator

Brake lights: OEM

Sent from my SM-G950W using Tapatalk
coconutboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 03:59 PM   #14
coconutboy
Member
 
coconutboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Drives: 2015 White BRZ Aozora
Location: Toronto
Posts: 17
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundman98 View Post
Not possible without a lot of extra work involving blocking diodes and extra wiring. Not something i would recommend for someone not sure what soldering is.
You may be right. It just looks tacky to me tbh. I think I'll either have to ask a specialist and show it to them in person or get someone to do it for me. Just wanted to know if someone has done it before

Sent from my SM-G950W using Tapatalk
coconutboy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB Red Valenti housing tailight Subie_Nubie Want-To-Buy Requests 0 02-26-2017 02:34 PM
WTB: Valenti Clear-Red Driver Side (Only) Tailight propulsion1 Want-To-Buy Requests 0 08-24-2015 07:16 PM
WTS: Valenti Red/White Tailight Calbee Exterior Parts (Aero, Lighting, Etc.) 5 04-05-2015 12:51 AM
VALENTI Tailight fix Hachiroku14 Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 0 03-14-2015 02:52 AM
Rewiring Valenti Reverse Lights Seungify Southern California 2 02-04-2014 03:44 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.