follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine Swaps

Engine Swaps Discussion of engine swaps.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-14-2021, 02:32 PM   #603
ML
Senior Member
 
ML's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Drives: 13 White MT FR-S
Location: Gastonia, NC
Posts: 1,674
Thanks: 819
Thanked 779 Times in 411 Posts
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irace86.2.0 View Post
I mean on FB. I can't view the page or download anything. It says
you probably just need to join the group? "K Swapped - FRS/BRZ/86"
__________________


Build Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by Symbiont View Post
I swear I will punch your car if you put these on. Right in the face.
ML is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2021, 02:39 PM   #604
ML
Senior Member
 
ML's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Drives: 13 White MT FR-S
Location: Gastonia, NC
Posts: 1,674
Thanks: 819
Thanked 779 Times in 411 Posts
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Try this link

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1QLq...ew?usp=sharing
__________________


Build Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by Symbiont View Post
I swear I will punch your car if you put these on. Right in the face.
ML is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ML For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (12-14-2021)
Old 12-14-2021, 03:14 PM   #605
Irace86.2.0
K Swap Everything
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 6,250
Thanks: 4,587
Thanked 4,801 Times in 2,672 Posts
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ML View Post
That seemed to work. I'll hang on to the file until it is time.
__________________
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2021, 06:37 PM   #606
Ebush
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Drives: 2017 Hot Lava 86
Location: Ohio
Posts: 151
Thanks: 11
Thanked 113 Times in 64 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I ran out of gas today with the cluster showing 1/4 tank. I had gone 195 miles since my last fill up. Of course I didn’t know I was out of gas, so I tore apart the interior and engine bay to check all connections, all while parked on a busy street in front of the post office. Was very fun.

After trying numerous things for nearly an hour, and even checking my gauge to verify it showed 1/4 tank, my brother said maybe your out of gas. Told him no, turned my key and at that point it was way below empty. Added gas from a 2 gallon jug and then went to the gas station and added 11.8 more. Never seen the car take this much before.

I don’t think this is an issue on my end or with my car, it’s a 2017 and I bought it new 5 years ago. Never had an issue before. So just be careful if you’ve gone 200 miles and at 1/4 tank, it could be false. I’ll talk with kpower and see if they had any issues or forgot to add a line in the book..

I’ll look through the Haltech and see if there is fuel info in there.
Ebush is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ebush For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (12-14-2021)
Old 12-14-2021, 07:09 PM   #607
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 407
Thanks: 166
Thanked 257 Times in 167 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebush View Post
I ran out of gas today with the cluster showing 1/4 tank. I had gone 195 miles since my last fill up. Of course I didnít know I was out of gas, so I tore apart the interior and engine bay to check all connections, all while parked on a busy street in front of the post office. Was very fun.

After trying numerous things for nearly an hour, and even checking my gauge to verify it showed 1/4 tank, my brother said maybe your out of gas. Told him no, turned my key and at that point it was way below empty. Added gas from a 2 gallon jug and then went to the gas station and added 11.8 more. Never seen the car take this much before.

I donít think this is an issue on my end or with my car, itís a 2017 and I bought it new 5 years ago. Never had an issue before. So just be careful if youíve gone 200 miles and at 1/4 tank, it could be false. Iíll talk with kpower and see if they had any issues or forgot to add a line in the book..

Iíll look through the Haltech and see if there is fuel info in there.
Weird. Iím about to roll up on 150 miles. Was your MPG readings crazy like mine? Mine says avg of 44 and like 122 overall or something silly like that.
captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2021, 07:38 PM   #608
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 407
Thanks: 166
Thanked 257 Times in 167 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
And 5 minutes later I went from a half tank to E light on. Trip meter shows 229 miles and I put 11.427 gallons in. I watched the gauge while I pumped and it jumped quickly to 1/4 then half with only a few gallons from the pump. Something funky is going on for sure.
captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to captain awesome For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (12-14-2021)
Old 12-14-2021, 09:01 PM   #609
Ebush
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Drives: 2017 Hot Lava 86
Location: Ohio
Posts: 151
Thanks: 11
Thanked 113 Times in 64 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain awesome View Post
And 5 minutes later I went from a half tank to E light on. Trip meter shows 229 miles and I put 11.427 gallons in. I watched the gauge while I pumped and it jumped quickly to 1/4 then half with only a few gallons from the pump. Something funky is going on for sure.
I forgot all about the MPG thing (been driving my 98 civic for the last 9 months). I had only been watching the actual miles since last fill up since I was curious what type of mileage I got. Somehow I managed to get less than 15mpg if I used the full 13.2 gallons. Which seems like I did since I put 11.8 in at the pump plus a 2 gallon jug.

Iíll keep an eye on the gauge this week. Maybe once I get down to a half tank Iíll grab a few gallons of gas in a jug incase I run out and then drive until I get to a 1/4 tank and fill up.
Ebush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2021, 09:09 PM   #610
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 407
Thanks: 166
Thanked 257 Times in 167 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebush View Post
I forgot all about the MPG thing (been driving my 98 civic for the last 9 months). I had only been watching the actual miles since last fill up since I was curious what type of mileage I got. Somehow I managed to get less than 15mpg if I used the full 13.2 gallons. Which seems like I did since I put 11.8 in at the pump plus a 2 gallon jug.

Iíll keep an eye on the gauge this week. Maybe once I get down to a half tank Iíll grab a few gallons of gas in a jug incase I run out and then drive until I get to a 1/4 tank and fill up.

I normally don't pay attention to it, but when I was flipping through the display to set my trip meters on first fill up it was real wacky. It's stayed that way this whole time. I ended up right at 20 mpg actual pump fill to trip meter. I have driven a lot of highway but have been romping on it quite a bit so not too surprised. I think at best I usually got like 27 if I was taking it easy on the fa20.


I don't know what could be effecting the gauge though as I think that's CAN signal and the OEM stuff still at play. We don't have anything set in the base map for fuel level sensor, but maybe there is something with the fuel pump ECU being bypassed causing it?
captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to captain awesome For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (12-14-2021)
Old 12-14-2021, 09:14 PM   #611
Ebush
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Drives: 2017 Hot Lava 86
Location: Ohio
Posts: 151
Thanks: 11
Thanked 113 Times in 64 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain awesome View Post
I normally don't pay attention to it, but when I was flipping through the display to set my trip meters on first fill up it was real wacky. It's stayed that way this whole time. I ended up right at 20 mpg actual pump fill to trip meter. I have driven a lot of highway but have been romping on it quite a bit so not too surprised. I think at best I usually got like 27 if I was taking it easy on the fa20.


I don't know what could be effecting the gauge though as I think that's CAN signal and the OEM stuff still at play. We don't have anything set in the base map for fuel level sensor, but maybe there is something with the fuel pump ECU being bypassed causing it?
Iím digging through the Haltech now and nothing in there that I can find. Iíll send a message to David and ask him if he ever truly went down to a low tank.
Ebush is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ebush For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (12-14-2021)
Old 12-15-2021, 08:12 AM   #612
ML
Senior Member
 
ML's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Drives: 13 White MT FR-S
Location: Gastonia, NC
Posts: 1,674
Thanks: 819
Thanked 779 Times in 411 Posts
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
the fuel sender circuit goes directly to the dash guage, it doesn't touch the ECU.
__________________


Build Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by Symbiont View Post
I swear I will punch your car if you put these on. Right in the face.
ML is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2021, 08:37 AM   #613
DustinS
Senior Member
 
DustinS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Drives: 2013 Ultramarine FR-S
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,926
Thanks: 2,511
Thanked 1,363 Times in 788 Posts
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ML View Post
the fuel sender circuit goes directly to the dash guage, it doesn't touch the ECU.
Edit: Not controlled by canbus as posted further down. Double Edit: Maybe it is?

But it is controlled by canbus. If you lose canbus, it will only work in Full, Half, "Low". I know with my LS swap and my canbus translator my fuel gauge didn't work correctly and I was constantly worried about running out of gas (as I had a few times at 1/4 tank). The guy that originally made my canbus device said he must have messed up the message and was going to fix it, but he left the company before he could do anything.

Hoping to correct it this time around. It's either canbus or fuel system is borked lol
__________________

Last edited by DustinS; 12-15-2021 at 01:11 PM.
DustinS is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DustinS For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (12-15-2021)
Old 12-15-2021, 08:42 AM   #614
ML
Senior Member
 
ML's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Drives: 13 White MT FR-S
Location: Gastonia, NC
Posts: 1,674
Thanks: 819
Thanked 779 Times in 411 Posts
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustinS View Post
But it is controlled by canbus. If you lose canbus, it will only work in Full, Half, "Low". I know with my LS swap and my canbus translator my fuel gauge didn't work correctly and I was constantly worried about running out of gas (as I had a few times at 1/4 tank). The guy that originally made my canbus device said he must have messed up the message and was going to fix it, but he left the company before he could do anything.

Hoping to correct it this time around. It's either canbus or fuel system is borked lol

It's not a CAN device according to the wiring diagram

Name:  fuelsender.PNG
Views: 146
Size:  33.2 KB

Also watch this video
__________________


Build Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by Symbiont View Post
I swear I will punch your car if you put these on. Right in the face.
ML is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ML For This Useful Post:
DustinS (12-15-2021), Irace86.2.0 (12-15-2021)
Old 12-15-2021, 08:51 AM   #615
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 407
Thanks: 166
Thanked 257 Times in 167 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I watched that video and it's what pointed to the Haltech not being assigned fuel level duty. If the CAN device isn't responsible for the gauge, then I wonder what could effectively cause this same dilemma?


Personally I think it's Ebush's fault because until he said something I didn't almost run out of gas.
captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to captain awesome For This Useful Post:
DustinS (12-15-2021), endless_pain (12-15-2021), Irace86.2.0 (12-15-2021), Jdmjunkie (12-15-2021)
Old 12-15-2021, 12:15 PM   #616
DustinS
Senior Member
 
DustinS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Drives: 2013 Ultramarine FR-S
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,926
Thanks: 2,511
Thanked 1,363 Times in 788 Posts
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
It's definitely an interesting issue, as I had no issues with fueling until my swap using a canbus translator, and I know for a fact with no canbus the fuel gauge goes into limp mode.
__________________
DustinS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rigid Industries SR-Series Pro Light Bar on my BRZ Stang70Fastback Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 3 12-29-2019 03:13 PM
Airlift from industries finest J_Nasty Member's Car Journals 0 02-04-2017 01:59 PM
Carbox Industries - Introduction CarBox CANADIAN Sales 5 04-22-2014 01:22 PM
86 industries Duthebarber Northern California 70 03-28-2014 04:10 PM
Another 86 Industries another bad experience sikest User/Vendor/Sponsor Reviews, Feedback, Comments 3 03-13-2014 01:00 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2022 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.