follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Forced Induction

Forced Induction Turbo, Supercharger, Methanol, Nitrous

User Tag List

Old 06-28-2018, 02:56 PM   #1
James Russels

Drives: 2013 FRS
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
FI Questions - SBD vs. JDL

First off, apologies in advance if these questions have been asked elsewhere. I have done a thorough search and haven't found answers.

I am currently looking at turbo kits and have narrowed it down to SBD and JDL. My FRS is automatic transmission with stock internals/exhaust. I have very little mechanical experience, and no experience installing a turbo kit, but intend on doing this myself. Therefore, complexity of the kit/install is a consideration.

What I want out of the kit:
280-300 WHP
Maximum 10psi boost, preferably closer to 8
EL header
Ball bearing turbo, ideally dual scroll
Ceramic coating on the turbo manifold
Remain emissions compliant

It goes without saying that I'd like to save money where possible, but I am willing to pay more if it will result in a significant improvement in the quality of the product.

I have seen posts referring to the SBD kit as cheap quality, but I haven't seen any evidence supporting this. All accounts I've found from people who have the kit seem to be positive, and I can't find any negatives except for maybe boost creep and blowoff valve issues, which were supposedly fixed in newer versions of the kit. Does anyone have any specific examples of this kit going bad, or problems arising from it?

A