follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum - FT86CLUB > Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 > Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum

Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum The place to start for the Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 | GT86


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-08-2020, 06:22 PM   #1
EASTEUROPID
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Drives: 2016 Scion FRS
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
2016 Scion FR-S CODES

Hello, I just bought a Scion FR-S from an auction about a week ago. It was side swiped on the driver side but the damage is not super bad. It runs and drives. However, I get codes U0100 and P0700. My only idea of what it can be is that somehow the PCM or TCU(itís an automatic lol) got damaged during the crash or a wire or connector. Anyone else ever have to deal with this? Maybe there is a simpler solution? Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by EASTEUROPID; 05-08-2020 at 06:47 PM.
EASTEUROPID is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to EASTEUROPID For This Useful Post:
humfrz (05-08-2020)
Old 05-08-2020, 06:46 PM   #2
humfrz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Drives: 2013 FR-S, white, MT
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 26,999
Thanks: 23,831
Thanked 26,590 Times in 14,320 Posts
Mentioned: 626 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by EASTEUROPID View Post
Hello, I just bought a Scion FR-S from an auction about a week ago. It was side swiped on the driver side but the damage is not super bad. It runs and drives. However, I get codes U0100 and P0700. My only idea of what it can be is that somehow the PCM got damaged during the crash or a wire or connector. Anyone else ever have to deal with this? Maybe there is a simpler solution? Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hello EASTEUROPID and welcome to our forum -

Oh, those are a couple of nasty ones that are waaay over my pay grade.

I suggest you google them for some insight.

Hopefully someone will come along with some tips.
humfrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2020, 07:06 PM   #3
extrashaky
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Drives: 2014 BRZ Limited
Location: USA
Posts: 4,002
Thanks: 1,088
Thanked 5,564 Times in 2,239 Posts
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Those are communication codes that can be tripped by a tuner or OBDII code scanner. First thing I'd do is reset the codes and see if they come back.
extrashaky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to extrashaky For This Useful Post:
humfrz (05-08-2020), Spuds (05-09-2020)
Old 05-09-2020, 05:22 PM   #4
EASTEUROPID
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Drives: 2016 Scion FRS
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by extrashaky View Post
Those are communication codes that can be tripped by a tuner or OBDII code scanner. First thing I'd do is reset the codes and see if they come back.

I got a BlueDriver obd scanner and it wonít let me clear these codes, says they are permanent codes that clear once issue is resolved. The car shifts properly and I donít see any damage to the TCM or the wiring I checked the wiring harness all the way from the TCM down to the transmission.

So I donít know what to do. Should I just replace TCM or what.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
EASTEUROPID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 05:25 PM   #5
EASTEUROPID
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Drives: 2016 Scion FRS
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by humfrz View Post
Hello EASTEUROPID and welcome to our forum -

Oh, those are a couple of nasty ones that are waaay over my pay grade.

I suggest you google them for some insight.

Hopefully someone will come along with some tips.

Thanks for the welcome. Iíve been looking all over google and get general explanations havenít found anyone with this code on a Scion FRS yet


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
EASTEUROPID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 05:35 PM   #6
humfrz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Drives: 2013 FR-S, white, MT
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 26,999
Thanks: 23,831
Thanked 26,590 Times in 14,320 Posts
Mentioned: 626 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by EASTEUROPID View Post
Thanks for the welcome. Iíve been looking all over google and get general explanations havenít found anyone with this code on a Scion FRS yet


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Well, OK. I'll ring up ol @steve99 to see if he has any suggestions.

Meanwhile, you may try disconnecting the battery for a spell, and see if the codes come back once you fire it back up.
humfrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2020, 05:48 AM   #7
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,783
Thanks: 1,000
Thanked 4,820 Times in 2,891 Posts
Mentioned: 550 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
As above you can reset all the car modules by pulling a battery terminal for a few minutes


also as others mentioned tgose codes are a communication error on can buss beterren the engine ecu and fhe auto trans computer


this often happens if fhe engine ecu is reset and bot the auto trans computer


does the auto trans shift correctly if so its likely ok. if it shifts roughly it may be in failsafe mode and have a real problem
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to steve99 For This Useful Post:
extrashaky (05-11-2020), humfrz (05-10-2020)
Old 05-11-2020, 01:32 AM   #8
extrashaky
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Drives: 2014 BRZ Limited
Location: USA
Posts: 4,002
Thanks: 1,088
Thanked 5,564 Times in 2,239 Posts
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by EASTEUROPID View Post
Thanks for the welcome. I’ve been looking all over google and get general explanations haven’t found anyone with this code on a Scion FRS yet
You need stronger Google-fu. There aren't many, but it has been reported.

site:ft86club.com "U0100" "P0700"

Might be a few red herrings in there where people have some additional codes you don't.
extrashaky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2020, 09:23 AM   #9
Opie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 2013 BRZ HPDE Car
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,377
Thanks: 1,073
Thanked 1,265 Times in 621 Posts
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
What is the condition of the battery? Both can be triggered by low battery voltage.
__________________
2013 BRZ Premium 6MT - Track Car, 2020 GMC Canyon Denali Duramax - Tow Vehicle, 2018 Forester XT - Wife's Daily, 2016 Crosstrek - Daughter's Ride, 1993 Honda Civic Hatchcrap Champcar, and always buying random twins...
Opie is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: 2016 Scion FR-S SSC Bitters Canada Classifieds 1 08-09-2019 12:08 PM
FS: 2016 Scion FR-S 41,765 senselogic Cars for Sale/Trade 0 01-10-2019 06:22 PM
2013 Scion frs speed sensor/codes loganmarston9696 Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 10 12-29-2018 09:43 PM
2016 SCION FRS NEWS.... 5AD86D Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum 339 07-19-2015 06:00 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.