follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-09-2021, 08:42 PM   #85
FR-S2GT86
"I don't know."
 
FR-S2GT86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Drives: '15 FR-S
Location: West Virginia, USA
Posts: 790
Thanks: 89
Thanked 514 Times in 315 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by WildCard600 View Post
I think the problem is that the newer factory headunit doesn't send a signal to the factory amp to turn on. That's why the door speakers don't work unless the amp is bypassed with yellow wired plug.

I know it wouldn't be THAT big a deal to send a 12v signal to the amp to get it working but I couldn't think of one that wouldn't be pretty hackish. When I get around to installing my new headunit I'll probably spend a bit of time swapping back and forth between HU only powering the speakers and including the factory amp to see which I like better. That might be a while though.

I'm offering a no-hack test extension harness to anyone that wants to try. There would be absolutely no cutting of your factory wiring involved. I'll include the harness with all of the wires labeled, and paper copy of the instructions to implement the test along with it.

Once we find out how it all sounds with the amplifier running, then we can figure out a way to permanently send an amp trigger signal to turn it on and off. My obvious choice as a possibility would be the antenna turn-on lead. But some of those antenna turn-on circuits will only power on when the source is the AM/FM tuner, so that will have to be tested, which wouldn't take more than a few minutes after the head unit is pulled.

If anybody wants to volunteer, PM me.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.ac View Post
My pubes are shaped like the number 86. There for I知 car. Derp
Count to muffens and call again.
I知 40. So....... say hi to your sisters or daughters.
FR-S2GT86 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to FR-S2GT86 For This Useful Post:
Wally86 (06-10-2021)
Old 06-09-2021, 09:09 PM   #86
WildCard600
Senior Member
 
WildCard600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Drives: 2020 86
Location: Pepperidge Farm
Posts: 338
Thanks: 634
Thanked 579 Times in 236 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FR-S2GT86 View Post
I'm offering a no-hack test extension harness to anyone that wants to try. There would be absolutely no cutting of your factory wiring involved. I'll include the harness with all of the wires labeled, and paper copy of the instructions to implement the test along with it.

Once we find out how it all sounds with the amplifier running, then we can figure out a way to permanently send an amp trigger signal to turn it on and off. My obvious choice as a possibility would be the antenna turn-on lead. But some of those antenna turn-on circuits will only power on when the source is the AM/FM tuner, so that will have to be tested, which wouldn't take more than a few minutes after the head unit is pulled.

If anybody wants to volunteer, PM me.
I'm having a little trouble visualizing how the harness you posted works. Is it supposed to plug into the back of the head unit ?

*EDIT*

Nevermind, I think I see how it works now.
WildCard600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2021, 09:39 PM   #87
FR-S2GT86
"I don't know."
 
FR-S2GT86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Drives: '15 FR-S
Location: West Virginia, USA
Posts: 790
Thanks: 89
Thanked 514 Times in 315 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by WildCard600 View Post
I'm having a little trouble visualizing how the harness you posted works. Is it supposed to plug into the back of the head unit ?

*EDIT*

Nevermind, I think I see how it works now.

It plugs into the amp in the trunk.

So, factory harness running from the front of the car to the trunk, into my extension harness, then into the factory amp.

It would take someone about a minute to install, and a few minutes to test the sound quality.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.ac View Post
My pubes are shaped like the number 86. There for I知 car. Derp
Count to muffens and call again.
I知 40. So....... say hi to your sisters or daughters.
FR-S2GT86 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to FR-S2GT86 For This Useful Post:
Wally86 (06-10-2021)
Old 06-09-2021, 09:55 PM   #88
WildCard600
Senior Member
 
WildCard600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Drives: 2020 86
Location: Pepperidge Farm
Posts: 338
Thanks: 634
Thanked 579 Times in 236 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FR-S2GT86 View Post
It plugs into the amp in the trunk.

So, factory harness running from the front of the car to the trunk, into my extension harness, then into the factory amp.

It would take someone about a minute to install, and a few minutes to test the sound quality.
Yeah it took me a second since I was distracted by something else. It's basically the same idea I had except I was going to implement an on/off switch on the 12v circuit that could be set from the drivers seat for a "permanent" install. Like I said it seemed like a hackish kludge so I never went through with it.

I still have a couple of sets of those connectors, maybe if it isn't 400 degrees in the shade this weekend I'll wire one up myself and do some testing but probably not. lol
WildCard600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2021, 09:59 PM   #89
FR-S2GT86
"I don't know."
 
FR-S2GT86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Drives: '15 FR-S
Location: West Virginia, USA
Posts: 790
Thanks: 89
Thanked 514 Times in 315 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by WildCard600 View Post
Yeah it took me a second since I was distracted by something else. It's basically the same idea I had except I was going to implement an on/off switch on the 12v circuit that could be set from the drivers seat for a "permanent" install. Like I said it seemed like a hackish kludge so I never went through with it.

I still have a couple of sets of those connectors, maybe if it isn't 400 degrees in the shade this weekend I'll wire one up myself and do some testing but probably not. lol

Let us know how it turns out and how it sounds if you do.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.ac View Post
My pubes are shaped like the number 86. There for I知 car. Derp
Count to muffens and call again.
I知 40. So....... say hi to your sisters or daughters.
FR-S2GT86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 07:20 AM   #90
Tcoat
He who smelt it...
 
Tcoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Drives: 2020 Hakone
Location: London, Ont
Posts: 64,722
Thanks: 57,444
Thanked 97,070 Times in 42,293 Posts
Mentioned: 2338 Post(s)
Tagged: 50 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FR-S2GT86 View Post
So your door speakers weren't working because the dealer failed to install the bypass plug and left the ten-pin connector in the amp. Now, since you've installed the bypass harness, your deck is powering all six of the front stage speakers in addition to the two rear speakers. How does it sound?

I've been wondering about the difference in sound quality with how you have your system running now versus the same system with the amp running the door speakers instead, relieving the head unit from that duty and adding the benefit of the low-pass filtering that the amp would provide.
It sounds like crap with the amp bypass in place. I thought we knew this?
__________________
Racecar spelled backwards is Racecar, because Racecar.
Tcoat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 08:57 AM   #91
FR-S2GT86
"I don't know."
 
FR-S2GT86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Drives: '15 FR-S
Location: West Virginia, USA
Posts: 790
Thanks: 89
Thanked 514 Times in 315 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tcoat View Post
It sounds like crap with the amp bypass in place. I thought we knew this?

Yes, we have heard your opinion of how your system sounds CURRENTLY. However, another member here and I are working together to get a before and after comparison of how his 2020 Hakone Edition sounds as is versus how it sounds with his factory door speakers running through his OEM amplifier using the extension harness that I have made.

Name:  IMG_20210610_132205485~2.jpg
Views: 34
Size:  553.7 KB

If you're interested in doing the same comparison yourself after you find out his results, I can have him pass this harness and written instructions on to you when he's done with it. I'm going to be shipping it to him today after I get the instructions printed out here in a little while.

Just keep tuning in for the results here and holler back if you're interested.

If it matters at all, you're the reason I'm doing this. Seeing how I'm going completely aftermarket with my 2015 system, I benefit only from gaining more knowledge about these systems and knowing that I've helped someone else make their factory system sound better.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.ac View Post
My pubes are shaped like the number 86. There for I知 car. Derp
Count to muffens and call again.
I知 40. So....... say hi to your sisters or daughters.
FR-S2GT86 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to FR-S2GT86 For This Useful Post:
Tcoat (06-11-2021)
Old 06-11-2021, 09:46 AM   #92
Tcoat
He who smelt it...
 
Tcoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Drives: 2020 Hakone
Location: London, Ont
Posts: 64,722
Thanks: 57,444
Thanked 97,070 Times in 42,293 Posts
Mentioned: 2338 Post(s)
Tagged: 50 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FR-S2GT86 View Post
Yes, we have heard your opinion of how your system sounds CURRENTLY. However, another member here and I are working together to get a before and after comparison of how his 2020 Hakone Edition sounds as is versus how it sounds with his factory door speakers running through his OEM amplifier using the extension harness that I have made.

Attachment 201807

If you're interested in doing the same comparison yourself after you find out his results, I can have him pass this harness and written instructions on to you when he's done with it. I'm going to be shipping it to him today after I get the instructions printed out here in a little while.

Just keep tuning in for the results here and holler back if you're interested.

If it matters at all, you're the reason I'm doing this. Seeing how I'm going completely aftermarket with my 2015 system, I benefit only from gaining more knowledge about these systems and knowing that I've helped someone else make their factory system sound better.
You already promised me a harness! I will be very happy if I don't have to change my HU and there is a simple work around.
Oh also something else to test (hopefully I am not the only one with this) is the volume of the cell calls through the HU. Since they seem to use the door speakers and they are of course not being powered I have to crank any calls up to full volume to have any hope at all of hearing. Even then I have to say "I can't hear you" far more than I should have to. This was never an issue with the FRS since the call volume was fine even on lower settings.
__________________
Racecar spelled backwards is Racecar, because Racecar.
Tcoat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 09:48 AM   #93
trueno86power
[||評=(86)=[怖|]
 
trueno86power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Drives: 2017 Toyota 86
Location: Quebec
Posts: 862
Thanks: 148
Thanked 398 Times in 190 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tcoat View Post
You already promised me a harness! I will be very happy if I don't have to change my HU and there is a simple work around.

Oh also something else to test (hopefully I am not the only one with this) is the volume of the cell calls through the HU. Since they seem to use the door speakers and they are of course not being powered I have to crank any calls up to full volume to have any hope at all of hearing. Even then I have to say "I can't hear you" far more than I should have to. This was never an issue with the FRS since the call volume was fine even on lower settings.
Phone calling are fine with the amp powered, don't need to crank the volume up.
__________________
trueno86power
GR | TOM'S | TRD
2017 Toyota 86
trueno86power is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to trueno86power For This Useful Post:
Tcoat (06-11-2021)
Old 06-11-2021, 09:51 AM   #94
Tcoat
He who smelt it...
 
Tcoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Drives: 2020 Hakone
Location: London, Ont
Posts: 64,722
Thanks: 57,444
Thanked 97,070 Times in 42,293 Posts
Mentioned: 2338 Post(s)
Tagged: 50 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by trueno86power View Post
Phone calling are fine with the amp powered, don't need to crank the volume up.
I suspected as such!

__________________
Racecar spelled backwards is Racecar, because Racecar.
Tcoat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 10:14 AM   #95
FR-S2GT86
"I don't know."
 
FR-S2GT86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Drives: '15 FR-S
Location: West Virginia, USA
Posts: 790
Thanks: 89
Thanked 514 Times in 315 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tcoat View Post
You already promised me a harness! I will be very happy if I don't have to change my HU and there is a simple work around.
Oh also something else to test (hopefully I am not the only one with this) is the volume of the cell calls through the HU. Since they seem to use the door speakers and they are of course not being powered I have to crank any calls up to full volume to have any hope at all of hearing. Even then I have to say "I can't hear you" far more than I should have to. This was never an issue with the FRS since the call volume was fine even on lower settings.

I OFFERED you a test harness, but you never stated that you would like me to send you one. Now that I've made this one for testing purposes, I offered it again to anyone who would volunteer to test it. Another member here did so yesterday. He'll get it first, but the good thing is, this extension harness is not meant to stay in the system permanently. There would be no need to leave it in. What needs to be done is for someone to pull the head unit and locate an amp trigger wire that can be used to run that signal to the OEM amp from behind the head unit which will appear on the blue wire in my extension harness. I suspect that the powered antenna lead may work, which our other member will be testing for, I hope. If I had your head unit, I could test it myself but...... well you know.

I've only built one, so when he's done with this harness, I'm sure he'll send it to you if you ask for it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.ac View Post
My pubes are shaped like the number 86. There for I知 car. Derp
Count to muffens and call again.
I知 40. So....... say hi to your sisters or daughters.
FR-S2GT86 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to FR-S2GT86 For This Useful Post:
Tcoat (06-11-2021), Wally86 (06-11-2021)
Old 06-11-2021, 10:16 AM   #96
Tcoat
He who smelt it...
 
Tcoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Drives: 2020 Hakone
Location: London, Ont
Posts: 64,722
Thanks: 57,444
Thanked 97,070 Times in 42,293 Posts
Mentioned: 2338 Post(s)
Tagged: 50 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FR-S2GT86 View Post
I OFFERED you a test harness, but you never stated that you would like me to send you one. Now that I've made this one for testing purposes, I offered it again to anyone who would volunteer to test it. Another member here did so yesterday. He'll get it first, but the good thing is, this extension harness is not meant to stay in the system permanently. There would be no need to leave it in. What needs to be done is for someone to pull the head unit and locate an amp trigger wire that can be used to run that signal to the OEM amp from behind the head unit which will appear on the blue wire in my extension harness. I suspect that the powered antenna lead may work, which our other member will be testing for, I hope. If I had your head unit, I could test it myself but...... well you know.

I've only built one, so when he's done with this harness, I'm sure he'll send it to you if you ask for it.
They won't let me cross the border yet or I could head on down!

AHHHH DAMNIT The roads are all torn up anyway!
Attached Images
 
__________________
Racecar spelled backwards is Racecar, because Racecar.
Tcoat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 10:30 AM   #97
FR-S2GT86
"I don't know."
 
FR-S2GT86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Drives: '15 FR-S
Location: West Virginia, USA
Posts: 790
Thanks: 89
Thanked 514 Times in 315 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tcoat View Post
They won't let me cross the border yet or I could head on down!

AHHHH DAMNIT The roads are all torn up anyway!

It would be faster if you drove through Columbus, I'm closer to the Kentucky border. It took me about six or seven hours to drive to Detroit several years ago when I went up for a show at Pine Knob.

Unfortunately, the harness won't even be here when you arrive.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.ac View Post
My pubes are shaped like the number 86. There for I知 car. Derp
Count to muffens and call again.
I知 40. So....... say hi to your sisters or daughters.
FR-S2GT86 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to FR-S2GT86 For This Useful Post:
Tcoat (06-11-2021)
Old 06-11-2021, 10:32 AM   #98
Tcoat
He who smelt it...
 
Tcoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Drives: 2020 Hakone
Location: London, Ont
Posts: 64,722
Thanks: 57,444
Thanked 97,070 Times in 42,293 Posts
Mentioned: 2338 Post(s)
Tagged: 50 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FR-S2GT86 View Post
It would be faster if you drove through Columbus, I'm closer to the Kentucky border. It took me about six or seven hours to drive to Detroit several years ago when I went up for a show at Pine Knob.

Unfortunately, the harness won't even be here when you arrive.
I wouldn't need the harness. I would have you there to run the wire!
__________________
Racecar spelled backwards is Racecar, because Racecar.
Tcoat is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
audio, head unit double din, mp3, stereo, usb port

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2020 86 TRD info? Vr4gasmtt Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum 18 08-27-2019 02:41 PM
Android based stereo vs. stereo w/ Android auto redlined600 Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 12 02-24-2019 02:53 AM
2013 BRZ Nav Stereo For 2016 BRZ Starlink Stereo brzsubarusti13 Audio/Visual, Electronics, Infotainment, NAV 11 02-27-2016 06:33 AM
Stock FRS stereo on Toyota 86 - Wiring problem position lights turn on/off the stereo dssence Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 0 01-27-2015 06:43 PM
Brz Info/Specs (helpful info for questions asked often) Gaen BRZ First-Gen (2012+) -- General Topics 0 05-24-2012 10:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.