follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-11-2021, 10:38 AM   #99
FR-S2GT86
Master Collaborator
 
FR-S2GT86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Drives: Was '15 FR-S, 6MT, Now '15 GT86
Location: West Virginia, USA
Posts: 1,395
Thanks: 208
Thanked 985 Times in 597 Posts
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tcoat View Post
I wouldn't need the harness. I would have you there to run the wire!

Patience young Padawan we're not even sure which wire we can use yet......and we might have to cut some! But if it comes down to that, I'm sure I can come up with an extension harness that would be permanently installed behind the head unit so that cutting will not be necessary.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.ac View Post
My pubes are shaped like the number 86. There for Iím car. Derp
Count to muffens and call again.
Iím 40. So....... say hi to your sisters or daughters.
FR-S2GT86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 02:19 PM   #100
blazephantom
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Drives: 2015 Scion FRS
Location: Dallas,TX
Posts: 24
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MightySouvlaki View Post
My 2017 BRZ was in the same situation. Factory HU and no sound at all from the door speakers.

Bypassing the amp was worth trying but a quick search for Toyota amp plug part number PT296-18191 shows it selling for an insane $75-$95!

I ordered a Metra 70-1761 harness plug from Amazon for only $5. All you need to do is connect the harness wires then plug it in and enjoy surprisingly decent sound.

Thanks to all the contributors for providing the information, pinouts and pictures to make this a quick, easy, good enough solution.

Can anyone tell me if the black ground wire in the Metra harness is needed? Canít tell what was done with it due to the angle of the picture. And if itís needed where does it go?
blazephantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 03:49 PM   #101
FR-S2GT86
Master Collaborator
 
FR-S2GT86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Drives: Was '15 FR-S, 6MT, Now '15 GT86
Location: West Virginia, USA
Posts: 1,395
Thanks: 208
Thanked 985 Times in 597 Posts
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by blazephantom View Post
Can anyone tell me if the black ground wire in the Metra harness is needed? Canít tell what was done with it due to the angle of the picture. And if itís needed where does it go?

Needed in reference to what? In building an amp bypass plug or for installing a head unit in the dash?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.ac View Post
My pubes are shaped like the number 86. There for Iím car. Derp
Count to muffens and call again.
Iím 40. So....... say hi to your sisters or daughters.
FR-S2GT86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 03:52 PM   #102
blazephantom
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Drives: 2015 Scion FRS
Location: Dallas,TX
Posts: 24
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FR-S2GT86 View Post
Needed in reference to what? In building an amp bypass plug or for installing a head unit in the dash?
In building the amp bypass plug for the 2020 head unit swap.
blazephantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2021, 04:53 PM   #103
FR-S2GT86
Master Collaborator
 
FR-S2GT86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Drives: Was '15 FR-S, 6MT, Now '15 GT86
Location: West Virginia, USA
Posts: 1,395
Thanks: 208
Thanked 985 Times in 597 Posts
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by blazephantom View Post
In building the amp bypass plug for the 2020 head unit swap.
If you're simply building a bypass plug out of a Metra harness, then look at this diagram here,

Name:  FullSizeR_02.jpg
Views: 616
Size:  418.6 KB

Jumper pin positions:

#1 and #7,

#2 and #8,

#3 and #9,

#4 and #10,

Remove pins from all other positions.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.ac View Post
My pubes are shaped like the number 86. There for Iím car. Derp
Count to muffens and call again.
Iím 40. So....... say hi to your sisters or daughters.
FR-S2GT86 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to FR-S2GT86 For This Useful Post:
blazephantom (06-11-2021)
Old 06-16-2021, 02:43 AM   #104
trueno86power
[||ē]=(86)=[ē||]
 
trueno86power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Drives: 2017 Toyota 86
Location: Quebec
Posts: 963
Thanks: 173
Thanked 488 Times in 218 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FR-S2GT86 View Post
Patience young Padawan we're not even sure which wire we can use yet......and we might have to cut some! But if it comes down to that, I'm sure I can come up with an extension harness that would be permanently installed behind the head unit so that cutting will not be necessary.
Would be pretty easy to make an extension harness behind the radio with Metra harness's.

71-1761 = Plug into the OEM radio
70-1761 = Plug into the car harness

You would only need the 10 pin connector on both kit, remove the amp wire from the 71-1760. On the same pin location but on 70-1761, plug it onto a ACC source to power up the amp. Match the other wire and location. Voila, you have a plug and play harness without cutting any oem wiring.

Basically the same thing I did but without any wiring modification to your car.

__________________
trueno86power
GR | TOM'S | TRD
2017 Toyota 86
trueno86power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2021, 10:07 AM   #105
FR-S2GT86
Master Collaborator
 
FR-S2GT86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Drives: Was '15 FR-S, 6MT, Now '15 GT86
Location: West Virginia, USA
Posts: 1,395
Thanks: 208
Thanked 985 Times in 597 Posts
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by trueno86power View Post
Would be pretty easy to make an extension harness behind the radio with Metra harness's.

71-1761 = Plug into the OEM radio
70-1761 = Plug into the car harness

You would only need the 10 pin connector on both kit, remove the amp wire from the 71-1760. On the same pin location but on 70-1761, plug it onto a ACC source to power up the amp. Match the other wire and location. Voila, you have a plug and play harness without cutting any oem wiring.

Basically the same thing I did but without any wiring modification to your car.


Yeah, that's what I was thinking, but instead of the ACC wire, I'm interested in finding out if the antenna trigger will stay powered on at all times instead of just during AM/FM operation. If that wire can be used, it will work better in my opinion. But I can't test that myself because I don't have that particular head unit.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.ac View Post
My pubes are shaped like the number 86. There for Iím car. Derp
Count to muffens and call again.
Iím 40. So....... say hi to your sisters or daughters.
FR-S2GT86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2021, 11:19 AM   #106
trueno86power
[||ē]=(86)=[ē||]
 
trueno86power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Drives: 2017 Toyota 86
Location: Quebec
Posts: 963
Thanks: 173
Thanked 488 Times in 218 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FR-S2GT86 View Post
Yeah, that's what I was thinking, but instead of the ACC wire, I'm interested in finding out if the antenna trigger will stay powered on at all times instead of just during AM/FM operation. If that wire can be used, it will work better in my opinion. But I can't test that myself because I don't have that particular head unit.
Why it would work better ? It don't really matter what 12v you use to power the amp.

It a "wake up" signal, the amp already have it's own 12v hot all time and ground.

You could use any power that's on in acc position that will give the same result.
__________________
trueno86power
GR | TOM'S | TRD
2017 Toyota 86
trueno86power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2021, 11:21 AM   #107
trueno86power
[||ē]=(86)=[ē||]
 
trueno86power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Drives: 2017 Toyota 86
Location: Quebec
Posts: 963
Thanks: 173
Thanked 488 Times in 218 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Btw @Tcoat If you want to come down to my place I could make the modification

Its only a 8h drive haha
__________________
trueno86power
GR | TOM'S | TRD
2017 Toyota 86
trueno86power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2021, 11:25 AM   #108
Tcoat
Senior Member
 
Tcoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Drives: 2020 Hakone
Location: London, Ont
Posts: 69,845
Thanks: 61,656
Thanked 108,283 Times in 46,456 Posts
Mentioned: 2494 Post(s)
Tagged: 50 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by trueno86power View Post
Btw @Tcoat If you want to come down to my place I could make the modification
They won't let me across that border any more than the US or else I would. Hoping to get to Ottawa soon so it would be an easy side trip. Well depending on where in PQ you are.
__________________
Racecar spelled backwards is Racecar, because Racecar.
Tcoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2021, 11:33 AM   #109
trueno86power
[||ē]=(86)=[ē||]
 
trueno86power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Drives: 2017 Toyota 86
Location: Quebec
Posts: 963
Thanks: 173
Thanked 488 Times in 218 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I think it was effective today that we can cross province. I may be wrong.
__________________
trueno86power
GR | TOM'S | TRD
2017 Toyota 86
trueno86power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2021, 11:46 AM   #110
FR-S2GT86
Master Collaborator
 
FR-S2GT86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Drives: Was '15 FR-S, 6MT, Now '15 GT86
Location: West Virginia, USA
Posts: 1,395
Thanks: 208
Thanked 985 Times in 597 Posts
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by trueno86power View Post
Why it would work better ? It don't really matter what 12v you use to power the amp.

It a "wake up" signal, the amp already have it's own 12v hot all time and ground.

You could use any power that's on in acc position that will give the same result.
It will give SIMILAR results, but not the SAME results.

Do you ever hear any turn-on or turn-off pops through your speakers?

I would think that there would be no reason to keep the amplifier on while the head unit is turned off. My mentality is to allow the head unit to turn the amp on and off, because that is how 99.9% of factory and aftermarket head units operate. And there is a reason for this.

So, I still would like to find out if the antenna turn-on wire could be used instead.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.ac View Post
My pubes are shaped like the number 86. There for Iím car. Derp
Count to muffens and call again.
Iím 40. So....... say hi to your sisters or daughters.
FR-S2GT86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2021, 11:51 AM   #111
FR-S2GT86
Master Collaborator
 
FR-S2GT86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Drives: Was '15 FR-S, 6MT, Now '15 GT86
Location: West Virginia, USA
Posts: 1,395
Thanks: 208
Thanked 985 Times in 597 Posts
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by trueno86power View Post
Btw @Tcoat If you want to come down to my place I could make the modification

Its only a 8h drive haha
Tcoat doesn't want anyone to cut any of his factory wiring for fear of voiding his warranty.

No Magnusson Moss Warranty Act in Canada, eh?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.ac View Post
My pubes are shaped like the number 86. There for Iím car. Derp
Count to muffens and call again.
Iím 40. So....... say hi to your sisters or daughters.
FR-S2GT86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2021, 12:02 PM   #112
trueno86power
[||ē]=(86)=[ē||]
 
trueno86power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Drives: 2017 Toyota 86
Location: Quebec
Posts: 963
Thanks: 173
Thanked 488 Times in 218 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FR-S2GT86 View Post
It will give SIMILAR results, but not the SAME results.



Do you ever hear any turn-on or turn-off pops through your speakers?



I would think that there would be no reason to keep the amplifier on while the head unit is turned off. My mentality is to allow the head unit to turn the amp on and off, because that is how 99.9% of factory and aftermarket head units operate. And there is a reason for this.



So, I still would like to find out if the antenna turn-on wire could be used instead.
Nop I don't any pops in my speakers. Same results on my 2015 FR-S with a Corolla unit.

But I understand your point. Did you test if the factory unit (FRS/BRZ) power up the amp only when the sound is turned on? I still have my factory radio (Pioneer unit) I could do the test.

It's possible that it power up the amp on acc.

I had similar issues in the past (pop noise) with aftermarket radio, but I've never had this problem on the FR-S/BRZ/86 platform with oem radio.
__________________
trueno86power
GR | TOM'S | TRD
2017 Toyota 86
trueno86power is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
audio, head unit double din, mp3, stereo, usb port

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2020 86 TRD info? Vr4gasmtt Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum 18 08-27-2019 02:41 PM
Android based stereo vs. stereo w/ Android auto redlined600 Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 12 02-24-2019 02:53 AM
2013 BRZ Nav Stereo For 2016 BRZ Starlink Stereo brzsubarusti13 Audio/Visual, Electronics, Infotainment, NAV 11 02-27-2016 06:33 AM
Stock FRS stereo on Toyota 86 - Wiring problem position lights turn on/off the stereo dssence Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 0 01-27-2015 06:43 PM
Brz Info/Specs (helpful info for questions asked often) Gaen BRZ First-Gen (2012+) -- General Topics 0 05-24-2012 10:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2024 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.