follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine, Exhaust, Transmission

Engine, Exhaust, Transmission Discuss the FR-S | 86 | BRZ engine, exhaust and drivetrain.

User Tag List

Old 02-27-2013, 02:25 AM   #1
LeeMaster
Red wine

Drives: Subaru BRZ(R.I.P)
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Exhaust rust prevention paint help

Not sure if this should be posted here or be moved somewhere else so here goes.

I have been doing some research on google.com about coating the exhaust system to prevent it from rust. I live in one of the most dangerous exposed area for this and want to protect my system from turning old rust bucket on me.

Anyway, the question is, who in here has used something that has worked for them? This is my first time ever attempting this and want to get the most out of it. I have read that barbeque paint will do just fine because those can withstand 500 degree. I am thinking about pulling the trigger on those and be the test mule but if somebody has tried something else that worked great please share.
Old 02-27-2013, 03:41 AM   #2
CrazyWookiee

Drives: Whiteout FR-S
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Heat wraps seem to be a good solution in preventing rust while also helping or increasing the exhaust's properties.

"I'm the real Peter Lau" - Peter Lau
CrazyWookiee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 11:33 AM   #3
LeeMaster
Red wine

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyWookiee View Post
Heat wraps seem to be a good solution in preventing rust while also helping or increasing the exhaust's properties.
Cant water still sneak in? I never had any experience with those before but it looks like if exposed to water for a prolonged period of time water can still go through them.
Old 02-27-2013, 12:28 PM   #4
_hollywood