follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Software Tuning

Software Tuning Discuss all software tuning topics.

User Tag List

Old 03-21-2014, 04:44 AM   #1
l0aded
Addicted

Drives: 2013 Asphalt FR-S 6MT
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
new to OFT, can someone explain?

I am brand new to tuning as I only had a plug and play Unichip before which you could just download the map for your specific tune combination and that's it. I bought an OFT for future FI plans but I am incredibly confused and don't want to blow my car up.

Since I have an Injen intake and catback exhaust I am assuming I would just run a stage 1 91/93 octane map but what am I supposed to look for in terms of how well the map is running and what do I do to make adjustments? I've read terms like MAF scaling and whatnot for intakes so would like some clarification if possible =/. Also my girlfriend won a free K&N drop in filter so would it just be better to revert back to stock and put that in?

Side questions, if I want to try out an e85 map, am I supposed to empty the tank and siphon out the remaining unleaded gasoline before switching back and forth or can it have 1 or 2 gallons left? Also for recent purchases will I need to update map (or firmware?) to 1.58+?

It should arrive next week so getting ready
Phantom Supercharger | Tsudo Cat-Back Exhaust | K&N Drop-in Filter | Winjet Headlights | Opti-coated | 35/20 Tint | Radar/Dashcam Hardwired | OFT tuned | OEM Audio+ Reference 400CF | Uber Sound Deadened | LED DRL strips | JPM Coachworks Kneepads
l0aded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 07:30 AM   #2
Grip Ronin
The Mechanic

Drives: Civic Turbo,FR-S
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by l0aded View Post