follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-05-2020, 10:23 AM   #1
Fa20Toybaru
FA20ToyBaru
 
Fa20Toybaru's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Drives: Manual
Location: Texas
Posts: 24
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Haltech or Aem dash display

I am getting around to setting up the final stages of my build. I need to have a way to monitor, the many different aspects of the functions going on under the hood. I wanted to go a different direction, and not have a half dozen gauges. I was looking at the Haltech and Aem dash displays. I was hoping to get some feedback from anyone who has used any of these products.
I also have one question, if you have installed any of these two. Have you been able to set up your dash with speedometer, cooling, oil, fuel, and Rpms? I dont mind having one or two gauges, i just dont want the norm. Thank you for your help.
Fa20Toybaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 10:03 AM   #2
RRslip
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Drives: Black BRZ - STX
Location: Ohio
Posts: 27
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I haven't used the products that you mentioned but I am running a digital dashboard. I have been meaning to post this information in a thread of it's own.

I'm using a galaxy Tab A mounted to the OE radio garnish. I use a RaceCapture Track MK2
https://www.autosportlabs.com/produc...turetrack-mk2/

Race capture plugs into the OBD port and collects CAN data, as well as GPS data from a separate antenna. It has an app that you install on the tablet. RC sets up a wifi network and sends the data to the tablet via wifi.

All of the data you are trying to set up gauges for are on the CAN bus (oil pressure is not). You can configure gauges with warnings and colors etc. on the RaceCapture app for anything on the CAN bus.

For oil pressure I installed a sensor and ran it to an arduino than converts the signal into a CAN message and sends that to the RaceCapture.

All of this can be done for significantly less than the cost of those digital dashes mentioned above, at least at their MSRP.
RRslip is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Haltech elite Dipstik-sportech Forced Induction 19 03-13-2021 02:17 AM
haltech can integration L.S.X Engine Swaps 0 04-02-2020 11:28 PM
Haltech 1500 and patch harness Jwkre8 Engine, Exhaust, Bolt-Ons 1 08-04-2017 01:15 PM
WTT: 2013 FRS Interior Dash Panels for BRZ Silver dash panels DCStorm Interior Parts (Incl. Lighting) 10 03-27-2015 03:04 PM
Trade my black dash plastic for your silver dash plastic thread. F3dzo Southeast 0 07-17-2012 11:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2022 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.