follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB

Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB Problems, issues, recalls, TSBs

User Tag List

Old 06-08-2021, 10:38 AM   #1
WoodyDeuce

Drives: 2017 BRZ
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Transmission noise

Hey all, just curious if anyone has encountered such a noise before. A little background, I drove all day at NJMP Thunderbolt with NASA on Sunday, and the car did fine as usual. However, I noticed a clinking noise on deceleration at low engine speeds in third gear today. The noise does seem to stop if I put the clutch in. Just situationally I’m thinking input shaft bearing or synchro but I’m not a master mechanic so I thought I’d ask the crew. It’s a new rattle so I’m just trying to be prepared.

It’s a little hard to hear but as I lift out of the throttle you can hear a rattle/vibration/whirring? Don’t know how to describe it.

https://youtube.com/shorts/wl9c0kzYrh8?feature=share
WoodyDeuce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2021, 01:12 PM   #2
NoHaveMSG

Drives: Crapcan
Thanked 16,304 Times in 7,368 Posts
Mentioned: 107 Post(s)
Garage
Does it go away if you rest your hand on the shifter? It is hard to tell in the video but can you tell where the noise is coming from? Directly below the shifter or rearward? Maybe put the seat down and see if it is louder that way. I don't think it is transmission associated, it sounds like it has more to do with backlash in the drive train.
Old 06-08-2021, 02:56 PM   #3
WoodyDeuce