follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > 2nd Gens: GR86 and BRZ > BRZ Second-Gen (2022+) -- General Topics

BRZ Second-Gen (2022+) -- General Topics General topics for the second-gen BRZ


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-15-2022, 04:18 PM   #1
vindiesel
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Drives: 2023 brz limited 6mt red
Location: Greenville sc
Posts: 60
Thanks: 44
Thanked 38 Times in 25 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Tpms set point?

23 brz limited. The tire recommendation is 35psi cold and the tpms sensor shows low pressure light at 34psi. Is there a way to set it at 30 or 32 for low pressure or why the heck would it be set 1psi under recommended? which is ridiculous.

I understand I could set it a few psi higher but with weather fluctuations +\-40 degrees is a gamble and 51 is max but I don’t care for 40ish psi hot ride quality
vindiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2022, 04:34 PM   #2
DeathEvil
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Drives: 2022 BRZ Manual Ice Silver Metallic
Location: CA
Posts: 60
Thanks: 11
Thanked 22 Times in 14 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
my light never gets on even as low as 25cold. For me it only lit up when it detected a leak/flat, so I would check for that.
DeathEvil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2022, 04:51 PM   #3
vindiesel
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Drives: 2023 brz limited 6mt red
Location: Greenville sc
Posts: 60
Thanks: 44
Thanked 38 Times in 25 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathEvil View Post
my light never gets on even as low as 25cold. For me it only lit up when it detected a leak/flat, so I would check for that.
600 miles it has remained the same if it hits 34psi it gets the low pressure light.
vindiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2022, 10:06 PM   #4
Spuds
The Dictater
 
Spuds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Drives: '13 Red Scion FRS
Location: MD, USA
Posts: 8,611
Thanks: 24,178
Thanked 11,280 Times in 5,571 Posts
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
How are you reading your pressures?

Could be a sensor or pressure gauge malfunction.
__________________
If a picture is worth a thousand words, a model is worth ten thousand pictures.
Also: "Build Thread"
Spuds is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2022, 12:19 AM   #5
Up4speed
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Drives: 2023 BRZ Limited
Location: Long Island
Posts: 116
Thanks: 50
Thanked 25 Times in 21 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
After the tires were at the proper pressure, was the "baseline" programmed in? If not, it would explain the behavior that you are seeing.
If not, make sure the tires are at the proper pressure, then reset the TPMS.
Up4speed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Up4speed For This Useful Post:
Spuds (11-16-2022), timurrrr (11-17-2022)
Old 11-16-2022, 12:27 AM   #6
eyeballs
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Drives: '22 BRZ
Location: West CO
Posts: 127
Thanks: 16
Thanked 53 Times in 40 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I think my light only came on when I got down to about 25 or so, driving home after an event. And on other cars I've seen the light come on with differences as small as 3-4psi from one tire to another.
eyeballs is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to eyeballs For This Useful Post:
Spuds (11-16-2022)
Old 11-16-2022, 12:25 PM   #7
vindiesel
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Drives: 2023 brz limited 6mt red
Location: Greenville sc
Posts: 60
Thanks: 44
Thanked 38 Times in 25 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spuds View Post
How are you reading your pressures?

Could be a sensor or pressure gauge malfunction.
Air gauge matches dash psi
vindiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2022, 12:28 PM   #8
vindiesel
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Drives: 2023 brz limited 6mt red
Location: Greenville sc
Posts: 60
Thanks: 44
Thanked 38 Times in 25 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Up4speed View Post
After the tires were at the proper pressure, was the "baseline" programmed in? If not, it would explain the behavior that you are seeing.
If not, make sure the tires are at the proper pressure, then reset the TPMS.
The dealer programmed the baseline. I havenít reset anything I was under the impression tpms sensors have a predetermined psi set point that cannot be adjusted and or curious if other people had issues or what their set point is for low psi warning.
vindiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2022, 01:17 PM   #9
Spuds
The Dictater
 
Spuds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Drives: '13 Red Scion FRS
Location: MD, USA
Posts: 8,611
Thanks: 24,178
Thanked 11,280 Times in 5,571 Posts
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I think the sensors themselves just output a value representing the tire pressure. It would be whatever computer in the car that determines what is too low. If the dash and air guage match, then the warning light might be adjustable with techstream.

Dealer should be able to set it lower if that's the case.
__________________
If a picture is worth a thousand words, a model is worth ten thousand pictures.
Also: "Build Thread"
Spuds is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Spuds For This Useful Post:
Tcoat (11-16-2022), timurrrr (11-17-2022)
Old 11-16-2022, 02:10 PM   #10
Tcoat
Senior Member
 
Tcoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Drives: 2020 Hakone
Location: London, Ont
Posts: 69,698
Thanks: 61,598
Thanked 107,925 Times in 46,339 Posts
Mentioned: 2472 Post(s)
Tagged: 50 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spuds View Post
I think the sensors themselves just output a value representing the tire pressure. It would be whatever computer in the car that determines what is too low. If the dash and air guage match, then the warning light might be adjustable with techstream.

Dealer should be able to set it lower if that's the case.
^ This. The sensors just sense, the BCU interprets their data and signals based upon it's settings. It should be programable.
__________________
Racecar spelled backwards is Racecar, because Racecar.
Tcoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2022, 02:15 PM   #11
X25
Sr. Spiritual Advisor
 
X25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Drives: 2023 BRZ Premium
Location: WA
Posts: 119
Thanks: 7
Thanked 104 Times in 56 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
In my experience, the alert was displayed once the tires were below 26 PSI, and the very insistent and annoyingly non-dismissable alert was up until they hit 30+ PSI. Interestingly, the pressures were marked yellow, yet the alert was not up when it was very cold outside, though, so perhaps it changes its behavior per outside temps.
__________________
'23 Subaru BRZ Premium Manual (Track Build Thread)
'22 Ford F150 Lariat Powerboost SuperCrew 6'5" 4x4
'21 Tesla Y Long Range AWD
'19 Corvette Z06 Z07 (Track Build Thread)
X25 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to X25 For This Useful Post:
timurrrr (11-17-2022)
Old 11-16-2022, 04:02 PM   #12
vindiesel
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Drives: 2023 brz limited 6mt red
Location: Greenville sc
Posts: 60
Thanks: 44
Thanked 38 Times in 25 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spuds View Post
I think the sensors themselves just output a value representing the tire pressure. It would be whatever computer in the car that determines what is too low. If the dash and air guage match, then the warning light might be adjustable with techstream.

Dealer should be able to set it lower if that's the case.
Thanks, well when I hit 1000 mark and get oil changed Iíll have them reprogram it.
vindiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2022, 04:14 PM   #13
vindiesel
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Drives: 2023 brz limited 6mt red
Location: Greenville sc
Posts: 60
Thanks: 44
Thanked 38 Times in 25 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Thanks all for responses….
vindiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2022, 04:56 PM   #14
Spuds
The Dictater
 
Spuds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Drives: '13 Red Scion FRS
Location: MD, USA
Posts: 8,611
Thanks: 24,178
Thanked 11,280 Times in 5,571 Posts
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by vindiesel View Post
Thanks all for responsesÖ.
NP. Please report back here after you bring it in to let us know if that fixed it.
__________________
If a picture is worth a thousand words, a model is worth ten thousand pictures.
Also: "Build Thread"
Spuds is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broke a TPMS sensor, process with ATEQ Quickset and new TPMS Sensor? Anthonyc77 Wheels | Tires | Spacers | Hub -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack 6 03-19-2018 08:57 PM
FS- TPMS System for cars without TPMS- New solort Wheels and Tires 1 03-16-2017 11:12 PM
NEED HELP!! TPMS light on. with TPMS installed on aftermarket rims+tires Figo Wheels | Tires | Spacers | Hub -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack 9 09-23-2013 08:11 AM
Changed to new wheels w/o TPMS, car still thinks I have TPMS sensors? Ahz Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 9 11-06-2012 08:25 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2023 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.