follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Guides

DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Guides For all DIYs.

User Tag List

Old 11-09-2017, 03:56 AM   #1
Skeneypoo

Drives: 2013 Satin White Pearl BRZ Limited
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
(DIY) REPLACE YOUR OEM PUST-TO-START WITH ANY BUTTON YOU WANT

Thinking of upgrading your OEM push to start huh? Your options are TRD or STI. Pretty sick..such great variety.

In case this DIY post sucks, here's a video of me doing the install

Well this is my first time writing a DIY guide, so I'm going to try and do my best. I guess a step-by-step process would be ideal. Sweet.

Purpose: USE ANY MOMENTARY BUTTON IN PLACE OF YOUR OEM PUSH-TO-START BUTTON.

How It Works: To fully understand how this works, you'll have to do your own research. Although the OEM button serves many functions, when you are physically pressing the button in, 2 wires and a ground are momentarily connected. Thus, turning on your ignition and starting your car.

Disclaimer: I'm not a professional and probably shouldn't be listened to. I just wanted to make this work and ended up succeeding.

Parts & Tools Needed:
-SPST Momentary Button/Switch
-10mm
-12mm
-Phillips Head Screwdriver
-Electrical Connectors
-Wire
-Solder
-Heatshrink
-5amp 60v Diodes
------------------------------

Step 1a: Disconnect your battery.

Step 1b: Remove your center console, the silver bezel around radio, the shift boot, the ebrake cover, the triangles you always smack your right knee on while driving, the thin plastic pieces below the triangle and the OEM push to start/usb tray.