follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Xero Limit
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-20-2019, 11:29 PM   #15
Ultramaroon
ichi homo
 
Ultramaroon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Drives: a 13 e8h frs
Location: vantucky, wa
Posts: 24,829
Thanks: 37,211
Thanked 24,964 Times in 13,634 Posts
Mentioned: 926 Post(s)
Tagged: 9 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 86MLR View Post
All of them, more luck than good drills though.
Damn! I failed to anticipate that answer.
__________________
Ultramaroon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2020, 08:51 PM   #16
csol
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Drives: BRZ
Location: NULL
Posts: 55
Thanks: 3
Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Someone mentioned this functionality can be bypassed with Ecutek tune? Is this correct
csol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 12:46 AM   #17
solidONE
Senior Member
 
solidONE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Drives: FR-S Whiteout
Location: California
Posts: 2,736
Thanks: 1,679
Thanked 745 Times in 578 Posts
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by spike021 View Post
Eh to be fair, the 86 (or some trims of the 86 anyway) actually does have a live G meter that is displayable during driving.

Not to take away from what @Ultramaroon said, since clearly it's a safety thing but it's definitely still a feature; just not on BRZ's for some reason. Maybe Subaru is stricter than Toyota when it comes to safety for this kind of stuff.
Which specific models has functional g meter? I'm interested in a retrofit. Need to find the right parts, first then pray it works with the older ECM.
__________________
Intent > Content

cowardice is the mother of cruelty.
solidONE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2020, 01:14 AM   #18
geraldjust
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Drives: MR2, Sliver BRZ
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 182
Thanks: 1
Thanked 115 Times in 61 Posts
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by csol View Post
Someone mentioned this functionality can be bypassed with Ecutek tune? Is this correct
Imposible, its hard coded to the cluster itself independent of ECU or ABS unit. plus it has nothing to do with the ECU.
__________________
Always looking to tinker with something..
geraldjust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2020, 01:16 AM   #19
geraldjust
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Drives: MR2, Sliver BRZ
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 182
Thanks: 1
Thanked 115 Times in 61 Posts
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by solidONE View Post
Which specific models has functional g meter? I'm interested in a retrofit. Need to find the right parts, first then pray it works with the older ECM.
any Gt86 cluster. BRZ animation have it disabled and its hard coded to it. gt86 clusters its available.

Older ECM? what do you mean?
__________________
Always looking to tinker with something..
geraldjust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2020, 03:19 PM   #20
solidONE
Senior Member
 
solidONE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Drives: FR-S Whiteout
Location: California
Posts: 2,736
Thanks: 1,679
Thanked 745 Times in 578 Posts
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by geraldjust View Post
any Gt86 cluster. BRZ animation have it disabled and its hard coded to it. gt86 clusters its available.

Older ECM? what do you mean?
2013 A01C calibration computer vs. whatever the +2017 calibrations. Changes in sensor pin locations etc. etc.
__________________
Intent > Content

cowardice is the mother of cruelty.
solidONE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2020, 03:19 AM   #21
geraldjust
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Drives: MR2, Sliver BRZ
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 182
Thanks: 1
Thanked 115 Times in 61 Posts
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by solidONE View Post
2013 A01C calibration computer vs. whatever the +2017 calibrations. Changes in sensor pin locations etc. etc.
Nope, so that doesnt matter. Im a canbus expert and i know the data on both type of cars are exactly the same coming from ether car. The only difference is that a gt86 cluster is programmed to show live gmeter, vs brz is not. Everything else is exactly the same. Pin changes or anything else doesnt matter. the only thing that matters us the flow of data though the bus and its the same.

Gerald R.
__________________
Always looking to tinker with something..
geraldjust is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to geraldjust For This Useful Post:
mrderp (06-10-2020), solidONE (05-28-2020)
Old 05-28-2020, 05:03 AM   #22
solidONE
Senior Member
 
solidONE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Drives: FR-S Whiteout
Location: California
Posts: 2,736
Thanks: 1,679
Thanked 745 Times in 578 Posts
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by geraldjust View Post
Nope, so that doesnt matter. Im a canbus expert and i know the data on both type of cars are exactly the same coming from ether car. The only difference is that a gt86 cluster is programmed to show live gmeter, vs brz is not. Everything else is exactly the same. Pin changes or anything else doesnt matter. the only thing that matters us the flow of data though the bus and its the same.

Gerald R.
Noice
__________________
Intent > Content

cowardice is the mother of cruelty.
solidONE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2020, 08:17 AM   #23
Tcoat
He who smelt it...
 
Tcoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Drives: 2020 Hakone
Location: London, Ont
Posts: 60,530
Thanks: 53,468
Thanked 87,665 Times in 38,954 Posts
Mentioned: 2215 Post(s)
Tagged: 50 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by geraldjust View Post
Nope, so that doesnt matter. Im a canbus expert and i know the data on both type of cars are exactly the same coming from ether car. The only difference is that a gt86 cluster is programmed to show live gmeter, vs brz is not. Everything else is exactly the same. Pin changes or anything else doesnt matter. the only thing that matters us the flow of data though the bus and its the same.

Gerald R.
The question isn't between the two cars but between the pre 17 and post 17 ones.
__________________
Racecar spelled backwards is Racecar, because Racecar.
Tcoat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2020, 12:37 PM   #24
geraldjust
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Drives: MR2, Sliver BRZ
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 182
Thanks: 1
Thanked 115 Times in 61 Posts
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tcoat View Post
The question isn't between the two cars but between the pre 17 and post 17 ones.
Yeah thats what i mean in regards of canbus. Same signals used. Their is no difference in the data between a FRS or BRZ or GT86 pre 17 or post 17. The only difference between models (which is small) is between a push button or turn key. But in regards to what the original question asked its not possible to keep on the gauge in any way. not even a ECU or ABS flash nothing. As this is hard coded to the cluster itself.
__________________
Always looking to tinker with something..

Last edited by geraldjust; 05-28-2020 at 03:48 PM.
geraldjust is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to geraldjust For This Useful Post:
Tcoat (05-28-2020)
Old 05-31-2020, 11:33 PM   #25
csol
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Drives: BRZ
Location: NULL
Posts: 55
Thanks: 3
Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by geraldjust View Post
Yeah thats what i mean in regards of canbus. Same signals used. Their is no difference in the data between a FRS or BRZ or GT86 pre 17 or post 17. The only difference between models (which is small) is between a push button or turn key. But in regards to what the original question asked its not possible to keep on the gauge in any way. not even a ECU or ABS flash nothing. As this is hard coded to the cluster itself.
Do you know if it can be programmed by a 3rd party or how Subaru do software updates for it because there was a recall done in Australia for the tS model gauge cluster software update.
csol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2020, 03:47 AM   #26
geraldjust
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Drives: MR2, Sliver BRZ
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 182
Thanks: 1
Thanked 115 Times in 61 Posts
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by csol View Post
Do you know if it can be programmed by a 3rd party or how Subaru do software updates for it because there was a recall done in Australia for the tS model gauge cluster software update.
no unless you know programming, reverse engineer the custom chip they use. etc etc... i have dumped both flash info from the cluster but i did not see anything about the g-meter. sorry.
__________________
Always looking to tinker with something..
geraldjust is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to geraldjust For This Useful Post:
Ultramaroon (06-01-2020)
Old 06-01-2020, 07:47 PM   #27
csol
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Drives: BRZ
Location: NULL
Posts: 55
Thanks: 3
Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by geraldjust View Post
no unless you know programming, reverse engineer the custom chip they use. etc etc... i have dumped both flash info from the cluster but i did not see anything about the g-meter. sorry.
Yeah it seems Subaru is saying that is how they are having it.


Did you ever try modifying the dumped flash for example changing graphics around if there are any raw bitmap graphics in there?
csol is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2017 G meter imprezza Subaru BRZ General Forum 102 12-29-2019 08:58 PM
LHD 3-meter gauge-pod? TuxedoCartman Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 27 02-11-2015 06:19 PM
TRD Sports Meter Kit imravenit Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 18 05-10-2013 10:06 AM
G-force meter mikepaul21 Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 2 03-17-2013 02:24 PM
Does it have MPG meter? 8987846 Subaru BRZ General Forum 34 05-18-2012 01:35 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.