follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Xero Limit
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Software Tuning

Software Tuning Discuss all software tuning topics.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-18-2020, 01:18 AM   #1
solidsnake11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: brz
Location: nc
Posts: 765
Thanks: 174
Thanked 460 Times in 265 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Ecutek why will it not pull timing (launch control)

I put -50 -60 in and low as it got was -4. What's the deal?
solidsnake11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2020, 03:29 AM   #2
tomm.brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: brz 2017
Location: italy
Posts: 1,237
Thanks: 292
Thanked 438 Times in 357 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
did you modify ignition timinf minimum values (it s 2 table)
put them to -20 to set that as the lower limit
tomm.brz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tomm.brz For This Useful Post:
solidsnake11 (05-18-2020)
Old 05-18-2020, 08:27 AM   #3
solidsnake11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: brz
Location: nc
Posts: 765
Thanks: 174
Thanked 460 Times in 265 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomm.brz View Post
did you modify ignition timinf minimum values (it s 2 table)
put them to -20 to set that as the lower limit
I looked for it but I may have overlooked it. My laptop crashed so no tuning until I fix it.
solidsnake11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2020, 11:04 AM   #4
tomm.brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: brz 2017
Location: italy
Posts: 1,237
Thanks: 292
Thanked 438 Times in 357 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
You could be totally one that could mod a laptop like de-lidding the CPU to overclock it
I bet that s why you broke it :PP

I'll post you a screenshot of the 2 tables
tomm.brz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tomm.brz For This Useful Post:
solidsnake11 (05-18-2020)
Old 05-18-2020, 07:59 PM   #5
solidsnake11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: brz
Location: nc
Posts: 765
Thanks: 174
Thanked 460 Times in 265 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomm.brz View Post
You could be totally one that could mod a laptop like de-lidding the CPU to overclock it
I bet that s why you broke it :PP

I'll post you a screenshot of the 2 tables
That's funny, but its more car related.
I was filling the radiator up, air was trapped in the coolant, the water pump had it compressed and when it turned off , it blew coolant all over the laptop.
solidsnake11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2020, 11:03 PM   #6
solidsnake11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: brz
Location: nc
Posts: 765
Thanks: 174
Thanked 460 Times in 265 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Do you think the flatfoot shifting is holding it from going lower? I don't have it activated but it is set between -3 and -6 and the lowest I hit was -4.
solidsnake11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 11:50 AM   #7
Kodename47
Senior Member
 
Kodename47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: UK GT86
Location: UK
Posts: 2,900
Thanks: 178
Thanked 1,499 Times in 1,040 Posts
Mentioned: 137 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Unless the data poll of the ECU is at the moment you hit minimum timing, you won't capture it. Also, there are global minimum timing settings and without looking through the docs I can't remember whether the value is subtracted from load derived timing values or an absolute.
__________________
.: Stealth 86 :.
Abbey Motorsport/K47 Tuned Sprintex 210 Supercharger

Kodename 47 DJ:
Soundcloud / Instagram / Facebook
Kodename47 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Kodename47 For This Useful Post:
solidsnake11 (05-23-2020)
Old 05-20-2020, 12:55 PM   #8
tomm.brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: brz 2017
Location: italy
Posts: 1,237
Thanks: 292
Thanked 438 Times in 357 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
the 2 tables of minimum timing are absolute minimum values allowed to be reached as final timings

setting them at - 20 (one is already there, the other is not), you will reach that if the global timing retard is set to go so late
FFS despite the name is a oem table

these 2, i bet your FFS map is less retarded


Last edited by tomm.brz; 05-20-2020 at 03:13 PM.
tomm.brz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tomm.brz For This Useful Post:
solidsnake11 (05-23-2020)
Old 05-23-2020, 12:57 AM   #9
solidsnake11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: brz
Location: nc
Posts: 765
Thanks: 174
Thanked 460 Times in 265 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomm.brz View Post
the 2 tables of minimum timing are absolute minimum values allowed to be reached as final timings

setting them at - 20 (one is already there, the other is not), you will reach that if the global timing retard is set to go so late
FFS despite the name is a oem table

these 2, i bet your FFS map is less retarded

Did they name that map on april 1st? I made a custom map and got timing down to -15 hit 9 lbs of boost with launch control @4000rpm clutch in.

Bang pop bang bang !!

Now tommy how do i set up a rolling anti lag?
solidsnake11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 01:13 AM   #10
tomm.brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: brz 2017
Location: italy
Posts: 1,237
Thanks: 292
Thanked 438 Times in 357 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I usually set up a softy automatic antilag based on boost target, for example i set it up on a different map so you have the choice of not using it
when you floor the pedal at low rpm, and the boost target is after higher than threshold, it activates, and it disactivates when boost is enough for you

With custom maps you have many different option if your brain thinks about how to use all those inputs, if you have patience i show you a config that I did to a guy and it works and you can personalize it rather quickly


If you want a rolling antilag on command and not automatic that build potentially endless boost sacrifiyng whole torque during spool, you could set a custom button (either on the ecutek app , Custom Inputs, and you press it on the phone or android radio.... or you hook up a physical button to a free ecu input to trigger it) that when you press it, you simply retard badly ignition retard
Very simple mod, fuel will still flow (flames lol) and you basically engage a temporary limiter with this and boost will start to build
and when you release it, you 'll have torque back with the built boost

if you want to avoid flames maybe you could also trigger together a fuel cut within 20rpm or 50 of the actual rpm in the moment of activation similar to what ecutek launch control does, you recreate it on demand at any moment basically

Last edited by tomm.brz; 05-23-2020 at 03:11 AM.
tomm.brz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tomm.brz For This Useful Post:
solidsnake11 (05-23-2020)
Old 05-23-2020, 01:23 AM   #11
tomm.brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: brz 2017
Location: italy
Posts: 1,237
Thanks: 292
Thanked 438 Times in 357 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
that s very soft for a big turbo with low comp maybe, feel free to modify thresholds and the retard ramp
i used K L M custom maps, it got cut in the screenshot





i don t remember your model year car, if you are using US tune, i ll suggest you to force flash an euro tune like ZA1JK00G if you have a restyling car
I had the worst time figuring out the tuning with turbo and flex on a US tune when Racerom is applied
Port injection compensation against boost were all over the place and when i scaled the maf/speed density, it said 400g/s of air entered the engine with crazy Engine Load values
while euro tunes are super stable, bugless and easier to tune because nothing is messed up

Last edited by tomm.brz; 05-23-2020 at 01:47 AM.
tomm.brz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tomm.brz For This Useful Post:
solidsnake11 (05-23-2020)
Old 05-23-2020, 03:13 AM   #12
solidsnake11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: brz
Location: nc
Posts: 765
Thanks: 174
Thanked 460 Times in 265 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I'm using the cpc to control vtec. I'm only on the waste gate springs for now its around 12lbs.
I am on A01C
solidsnake11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 03:25 AM   #13
tomm.brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: brz 2017
Location: italy
Posts: 1,237
Thanks: 292
Thanked 438 Times in 357 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
then be creative use another value as activation for the first custom map to trigger it :P
the activation channel for the middle custom map should stay "manifokd absolute pressure" though

if your tune is working good anyway you can keep it a01c, i personally would copypaste everything to a01G or a02G (a01g is best one for romraider and a02G best for ecutek) and force flash it (if you need how i ll tell you private, steve asked me not to write it public because it can be dangerous)
tomm.brz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tomm.brz For This Useful Post:
solidsnake11 (05-23-2020)
Old 05-23-2020, 08:37 AM   #14
solidsnake11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: brz
Location: nc
Posts: 765
Thanks: 174
Thanked 460 Times in 265 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I was running A01G with romraider. I switched because A01C had more DTC defined.
solidsnake11 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to solidsnake11 For This Useful Post:
tomm.brz (05-23-2020)
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EcuTek Launch Control Parameters Eazy-V Software Tuning 11 12-11-2017 04:13 AM
EcuTek Launch Control not working Eazy-V Software Tuning 12 06-11-2017 09:31 PM
Ecutek launch control puma Software Tuning 6 06-29-2015 04:55 PM
EcuTek RaceROM Launch Control just86 Software Tuning 47 03-14-2014 02:55 PM
ECUTek Launch Control in Automatic 01s0uljah Software Tuning 2 08-12-2013 08:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.