follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum - FT86CLUB > GR86 - Second Generation 86 > GR86 General Topics

GR86 General Topics General topics for the GR86 second-gen 86


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-14-2021, 01:22 PM   #15
mazeroni
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S Series 10
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 838
Thanks: 476
Thanked 773 Times in 382 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Ford does something similar. The screen updates all data when it refreshes. It doesn't "skip."



Audi Digital Cockpick for slight comparison. The dials refresh fast, but the speed doesn't.

mazeroni is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 01:33 PM   #16
Kronk
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Drives: Planning for GR86
Location: Milano, Italy
Posts: 43
Thanks: 17
Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazeroni View Post
Ford does something similar. The screen updates all data when it refreshes. It doesn't "skip."

This is perfect. Waiting for the GR86/BRZ version.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mazeroni View Post

Audi Digital Cockpick for slight comparison. The dials refresh fast, but the speed doesn't.

Right, this is very disturbing for me. But at least they have the speed hand, the pointer.
Kronk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 01:38 PM   #17
Sasquachulator
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Drives: 2016 Scion iM, 2017 BMW X1
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,887
Thanks: 19
Thanked 1,141 Times in 620 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazeroni View Post
Ford does something similar. The screen updates all data when it refreshes. It doesn't "skip."



Audi Digital Cockpick for slight comparison. The dials refresh fast, but the speed doesn't.

I thinkt thats what annoys me, the SLOW updates.
I remember being the last gen civic with the 2 tier dash and saw the speedo update really slow, so the number skip range is much larger.

I dont mind a fast update like the previous videos that were posted (taycan, and the first gen twins). (i think my BMW is like that..but only on the HUD, still has a analog speedo)
Sasquachulator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 01:43 PM   #18
chipmunk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: R6
Location: Michigan
Posts: 268
Thanks: 36
Thanked 100 Times in 62 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Can't remember if it was the LFA or Ferrari 458 (a few years ago), I remember hearing claims that they had to use a digital tach because the analog couldn't keep up with the RPM.
If you're not free-revving the engine with clutch pressed in, you should be fine.
chipmunk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to chipmunk For This Useful Post:
JesseG (04-20-2021), MICHAEL450f (04-18-2021)
Old 04-14-2021, 01:48 PM   #19
Lantanafrs2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Drives: 2013 frs red
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,170
Thanks: 1,237
Thanked 1,716 Times in 945 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
I only reference the speedo because in my area its really easy to exceed the speed limit and I treat my dl like it's made out of fine china
Lantanafrs2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 01:57 PM   #20
Sasquachulator
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Drives: 2016 Scion iM, 2017 BMW X1
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,887
Thanks: 19
Thanked 1,141 Times in 620 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)


I think the numbers update like the current twins, so it doesnt run through every digit but it doesnt update slow.

Its hard to see on this video because they put it in track mode and the numbers are at the bottom of the gauge and kind of small but they appear to update fast.
Sasquachulator is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Sasquachulator For This Useful Post:
Dadhawk (04-17-2021), Dzmitry (04-14-2021)
Old 04-14-2021, 02:09 PM   #21
Kronk
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Drives: Planning for GR86
Location: Milano, Italy
Posts: 43
Thanks: 17
Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sasquachulator View Post


I think the numbers update like the current twins, so it doesnt run through every digit but it doesnt update slow.

Its hard to see on this video because they put it in track mode and the numbers are at the bottom of the gauge and kind of small but they appear to update fast.
Thank you, this is decisive. Unfortunately, it can be clearly seen that the instantaneous speed is updated approximately every half second.
Kronk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 02:40 PM   #22
Transport3r
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Drives: -
Location: US
Posts: 172
Thanks: 125
Thanked 185 Times in 91 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kronk View Post
Thank you, this is decisive. Unfortunately, it can be clearly seen that the instantaneous speed is updated approximately every half second.

Probably on purpose, so you can actually read it before it changes. The OBD polling rate and the screen refresh rate are both much higher, so this is done on purpose. Human factors play a big role here.
Transport3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 04:05 PM   #23
Sasquachulator
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Drives: 2016 Scion iM, 2017 BMW X1
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,887
Thanks: 19
Thanked 1,141 Times in 620 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kronk View Post
Thank you, this is decisive. Unfortunately, it can be clearly seen that the instantaneous speed is updated approximately every half second.
ITs better than the Audi setup, i'd rather have the numbers increase quickly while skipping a few digits than have it increasing slowly with a larger gap in between.
Sasquachulator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 07:45 PM   #24
NoHaveMSG
Senior Member
 
NoHaveMSG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Drives: Crapcan
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,851
Thanks: 7,426
Thanked 6,475 Times in 2,990 Posts
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
I don't think I look at my speedo long enough for this to ever be any kind of concern.
__________________
"Experience is the hardest kind of teacher. It gives you the test first and the lesson afterward." -Oscar Wilde.
NoHaveMSG is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to NoHaveMSG For This Useful Post:
Thefalls (04-15-2021)
Old 04-14-2021, 08:38 PM   #25
timurrrr
Senior Member
 
timurrrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Drives: '17 BRZ with PP
Location: Between Sonoma and Laguna Seca
Posts: 479
Thanks: 482
Thanked 240 Times in 156 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
The digital speedo on the 1st gen is incredibly slow.
On my '17 BRZ the digital speedometer only updates a couple of times per second.
The only sport car I've seen with an even slower update rate of the digital speedometer is Corvette C7.

For comparison, the data on the CAN bus of FT86 is available at 50 updates per second.
Here's how a speedometer with 25 updates per second looks like:

It's way more responsive than the digital speedometer in your car, isn't it?

I'm pretty sure 25 updates per second can be achieved on any modern screen that's not e-ink.

Re: "the car doesn't accelerate that fast!!!11"
It does brake fast enough though.
Unfortunately, the way the speedometer works on the 1st gen I can't really trust it when I brake into a corner at the track and only have a fraction of a second to glance at the screen (a habit I developed in sim racing).
timurrrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 08:40 PM   #26
timurrrr
Senior Member
 
timurrrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Drives: '17 BRZ with PP
Location: Between Sonoma and Laguna Seca
Posts: 479
Thanks: 482
Thanked 240 Times in 156 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dake View Post
Are you saying the digital speedo doesn't keep up with the car? We don't accelerate that quickly.
Ask a passenger to record a video of your dash during a 060 mph launch, and review it frame by frame. You'll notice that it will show something like 58 and 62 mph, but not 60. Or, if you're lucky, it will show 56, 60 and 64
timurrrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 09:18 PM   #27
Dake
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: FR-S
Location: Houston
Posts: 835
Thanks: 282
Thanked 615 Times in 312 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kronk View Post
Thank you, this is decisive. Unfortunately, it can be clearly seen that the instantaneous speed is updated approximately every half second.
Quote:
Originally Posted by timurrrr View Post
Ask a passenger to record a video of your dash during a 060 mph launch, and review it frame by frame. You'll notice that it will show something like 58 and 62 mph, but not 60. Or, if you're lucky, it will show 56, 60 and 64
The problem with watching a video of a digital readout is you get flicker. Just like how modern car's headlights appear to flash or strobe on video, you're dealing with two different flickers not syncing up which contributes to the appearance of gaps or slow rates.

I really don't think this is something you'll be able to see under any normal kind of operation unless you are literally staring at it while driving down the road (which is not a good idea).
Dake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 09:24 PM   #28
sato
Senior Member
 
sato's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Drives: Dodge Patitas
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 910
Thanks: 1,682
Thanked 333 Times in 237 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by chipmunk View Post
Can't remember if it was the LFA or Ferrari 458 (a few years ago), I remember hearing claims that they had to use a digital tach because the analog couldn't keep up with the RPM.
If you're not free-revving the engine with clutch pressed in, you should be fine.
LFA

I'm still wondering if he posted regarding the new 2022 model's digital dash, or the current speedometer. Too sleepy.
sato is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In-dash digital speedometer vaer Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 4 04-14-2020 10:19 AM
Does the BRZ get same refresh? snezze21 BRZ First-Gen (2012+) -- General Topics 74 03-24-2016 01:51 PM
Convert the digital speedometer from Kmh to MPH? Jastation Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 10 09-28-2015 05:46 AM
Digital speedometer in base GT86? rhysmcinerney Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 25 01-22-2014 06:18 PM
Fast car Fast driver vinyl decal I need help francosolracer Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 18 10-20-2012 03:43 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.