follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
86WORX
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine Swaps

Engine Swaps Discussion of engine swaps.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-26-2022, 01:06 PM   #71
Four_wheel_drifts
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Drives: Whiteout track car; lava donor
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 242
Thanks: 85
Thanked 62 Times in 38 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
We went to see my buddies BRZ that is having the kit installed by a local race/fabrication/tuning shop, AR Motorsports. Their GM said the same thing about the LONG intake. They’ve done numerous kpower swaps on Miata and E30. Dyno tuning shows that those with long intakes make much better mid range torque and performance all around.

This Honda stuff is all new to me!
Four_wheel_drifts is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Four_wheel_drifts For This Useful Post:
hedtrip (02-26-2022), Irace86.2.0 (02-26-2022)
Old 02-28-2022, 06:33 PM   #72
hedtrip
Senior Member
 
hedtrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Drives: 2013 toyota 86
Location: Nashville tn
Posts: 117
Thanks: 19
Thanked 139 Times in 57 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Four_wheel_drifts View Post

This Honda stuff is all new to me!
Ive been out of the honda game for about 10 years.
hedtrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2022, 06:35 PM   #73
hedtrip
Senior Member
 
hedtrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Drives: 2013 toyota 86
Location: Nashville tn
Posts: 117
Thanks: 19
Thanked 139 Times in 57 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
The last kpower install video.
In this one i install the Haltech 1500 & start her for the first time.

hedtrip is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to hedtrip For This Useful Post:
BrahmaBull1990 (03-01-2022), Jdmjunkie (02-28-2022), RedReplicant (02-28-2022), SuperTom (03-04-2022)
Old 03-03-2022, 10:12 PM   #74
hedtrip
Senior Member
 
hedtrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Drives: 2013 toyota 86
Location: Nashville tn
Posts: 117
Thanks: 19
Thanked 139 Times in 57 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I have put about 120 miles on the car so far. No issues out of the car.

hedtrip is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to hedtrip For This Useful Post:
captain awesome (03-05-2022), Four_wheel_drifts (03-03-2022), RedReplicant (03-03-2022)
Old 03-03-2022, 10:58 PM   #75
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,731
Thanks: 5,613
Thanked 5,707 Times in 3,242 Posts
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
How's vibration, noises, harshness?
__________________
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2022, 09:40 AM   #76
hedtrip
Senior Member
 
hedtrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Drives: 2013 toyota 86
Location: Nashville tn
Posts: 117
Thanks: 19
Thanked 139 Times in 57 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irace86.2.0 View Post
How's vibration, noises, harshness?
It definitely has alot of vibration
It wasn't as bad after I did some more clearancing.
The car is primary a track car so it already has stiff suspension, no back seats, the IRP shifter rattles anyway. But even then it's not unbearable to drive. I still drive it to work no problems.
But the vibration did rattle loose my battery tie down one day. Oops ha
hedtrip is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hedtrip For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (03-05-2022)
Old 03-07-2022, 09:43 PM   #77
hedtrip
Senior Member
 
hedtrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Drives: 2013 toyota 86
Location: Nashville tn
Posts: 117
Thanks: 19
Thanked 139 Times in 57 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Last video from my K24 swap series is out.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCw8...aRbVjQcVgFEryg
hedtrip is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to hedtrip For This Useful Post:
Arthur-A (03-08-2022), captain awesome (03-08-2022), Jdmjunkie (03-07-2022)
Old 03-11-2022, 10:16 AM   #78
hedtrip
Senior Member
 
hedtrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Drives: 2013 toyota 86
Location: Nashville tn
Posts: 117
Thanks: 19
Thanked 139 Times in 57 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
So the fuel gauge issue struck me yesterday on my way home from work.
It was on 1/2 a tank for the longest time then went straight to E with the Fuel light on.
But luckily the gas station wasn't far. I put in 12gal so I still had about a Gal in reserve.
So the predictive MPG is very off.
I also noticed that the gear selector light on the gauge cluster is off. It gets really confused on 4th & 5th gear.
hedtrip is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to hedtrip For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (03-11-2022), Jdmjunkie (03-11-2022)
Old 03-11-2022, 03:41 PM   #79
Ebush
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Drives: 2017 Hot Lava 86
Location: Ohio
Posts: 185
Thanks: 12
Thanked 133 Times in 74 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
My gear indicator wasn’t working for the longest time, so I stopped trying to get it to work. Then all of a sudden it worked one day. I didn’t notice any issue with it not knowing which gear I was in though. Kpower really needs to figure out the fuel gauge issue. It shouldn’t be up to one of us to figure it out, we al payed atleast 8k to get a “plug and play, all functions work” swap. Hopefully I’m not the only one that has emailed them. We should all send an email over about it so that they maybe fix the issue.
Ebush is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Ebush For This Useful Post:
Jdmjunkie (03-11-2022), Lonewolf (03-11-2022)
Old 03-11-2022, 05:55 PM   #80
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 7,731
Thanks: 5,613
Thanked 5,707 Times in 3,242 Posts
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebush View Post
My gear indicator wasnít working for the longest time, so I stopped trying to get it to work. Then all of a sudden it worked one day. I didnít notice any issue with it not knowing which gear I was in though. Kpower really needs to figure out the fuel gauge issue. It shouldnít be up to one of us to figure it out, we al payed atleast 8k to get a ďplug and play, all functions workĒ swap. Hopefully Iím not the only one that has emailed them. We should all send an email over about it so that they maybe fix the issue.
It isnít a Kpower problem. It is a Haltech problem. Haltech built the system to work with the 86 platform without Kpowerópretty sure.

Per my tuner, the Haltech update is coming to fix the fuel issue and the traction control signal issue where it needs to be cleared when rebooting.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Irace86.2.0 For This Useful Post:
Jdmjunkie (03-11-2022)
Old 03-11-2022, 10:04 PM   #81
Ebush
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Drives: 2017 Hot Lava 86
Location: Ohio
Posts: 185
Thanks: 12
Thanked 133 Times in 74 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irace86.2.0 View Post
It isnít a Kpower problem. It is a Haltech problem. Haltech built the system to work with the 86 platform without Kpowerópretty sure.

Per my tuner, the Haltech update is coming to fix the fuel issue and the traction control signal issue where it needs to be cleared when rebooting.
If anything, kpower failed to figure out the issue or get Haltech to fix it in the 9 months or so that they had a completed swap. When I emailed kpower back in November about the fuel gauge issue, they told me that happened to them once. And then they just filled the car up every time it got to a half tank. So they knew about the issue but avoided it. In an email from them today they told me to just fill up once Iíve driven 250 milesÖ..I donít think Iíve gotten anywhere near even 200 miles so far from a tank. The best mpg Iíve gotten was 19, and that was all highway and just cruising at a steady speed.

Kpower told me Haltech sent them a firmware update to test. So maybe we will have working gauges soon.
Ebush is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Ebush For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (03-11-2022), Jdmjunkie (03-12-2022)
Old 03-12-2022, 09:35 AM   #82
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap - SOLD
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 557
Thanks: 376
Thanked 443 Times in 271 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebush View Post
If anything, kpower failed to figure out the issue or get Haltech to fix it in the 9 months or so that they had a completed swap. When I emailed kpower back in November about the fuel gauge issue, they told me that happened to them once. And then they just filled the car up every time it got to a half tank. So they knew about the issue but avoided it. In an email from them today they told me to just fill up once Iíve driven 250 milesÖ..I donít think Iíve gotten anywhere near even 200 miles so far from a tank. The best mpg Iíve gotten was 19, and that was all highway and just cruising at a steady speed.

Kpower told me Haltech sent them a firmware update to test. So maybe we will have working gauges soon.
Sounds like you need to get your tune checked. I regularly get 23-25 MPG. Lowest with me driving like a ding dong was 22.
captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 05:25 PM   #83
Ebush
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Drives: 2017 Hot Lava 86
Location: Ohio
Posts: 185
Thanks: 12
Thanked 133 Times in 74 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain awesome View Post
Sounds like you need to get your tune checked. I regularly get 23-25 MPG. Lowest with me driving like a ding dong was 22.
Tune is great, super smooth every where and very responsive. AFRís stay on target everywhere. Iím no pro at tuning though, I just used the kpower base map, fixed a bunch of issues with it and adjusted the VE table until the AFR was perfect everywhere. I just have a stock k24a2. Iíd like to start messing with the VTC once it warms up, I noticed the base tune VTC is very low in the lower rpm. I didnít have much time to mess with the tune the last time I had my laptop in the car, but I tested 30į VTC in the lower rpms and the car was demanding like 30% less fuel. Hopefully once I start messing with that area the car picks up some MPG. And just to be clear, Iím the type of guy that would rather blow up a couple $700 motors learning to tune than pay someone, and I would never tune someone elseís car no matter how good I felt I was.

I recently picked up a stock 2009 civic si with the k20z3, and it only got 26mpg on a full tank with the cruise set on the highway. So I honestly figured the 86 might not get any better than 20 with my aero.
Ebush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 06:42 PM   #84
captain awesome
Wears Pants
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Drives: 14 FRS K24 swap - SOLD
Location: Bella Vista, AR
Posts: 557
Thanks: 376
Thanked 443 Times in 271 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ebush View Post
Tune is great, super smooth every where and very responsive. AFRís stay on target everywhere. Iím no pro at tuning though, I just used the kpower base map, fixed a bunch of issues with it and adjusted the VE table until the AFR was perfect everywhere. I just have a stock k24a2. Iíd like to start messing with the VTC once it warms up, I noticed the base tune VTC is very low in the lower rpm. I didnít have much time to mess with the tune the last time I had my laptop in the car, but I tested 30į VTC in the lower rpms and the car was demanding like 30% less fuel. Hopefully once I start messing with that area the car picks up some MPG. And just to be clear, Iím the type of guy that would rather blow up a couple $700 motors learning to tune than pay someone, and I would never tune someone elseís car no matter how good I felt I was.

I recently picked up a stock 2009 civic si with the k20z3, and it only got 26mpg on a full tank with the cruise set on the highway. So I honestly figured the 86 might not get any better than 20 with my aero.
Only thing I changed on the provided base map was learning mode, oil temp sensor calibration and when fans kick on. Iím running same setup as you other than injectors if I recall correctly. I also have an ac compressor.
captain awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to captain awesome For This Useful Post:
Ebush (03-13-2022)
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beginner STX Build Whiteout FRS Build Thread Hachi86Roku Tracking / Autocross / HPDE / Drifting 21 03-31-2020 08:52 PM
[B is for Build] BRZ resurrection build im_topher Member's Car Journals 49 03-05-2018 10:41 AM
HKS stroker kit build going onto edelbrock SCd e85 FRS - build questions Corradooo Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 2 11-25-2017 08:16 PM
Superpenguin's "Not Another Build Thread!" Build Thread superpenguin Member's Car Journals 7 06-17-2015 05:00 PM
No build date on passenger side sticker, how to determine build date? BBYZILA Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum 5 01-20-2015 11:14 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2023 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.