follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine, Exhaust, Transmission

Engine, Exhaust, Transmission Discuss the FR-S | 86 | BRZ engine, exhaust and drivetrain.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-11-2018, 09:17 PM   #15
Faulkner
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: FR-S
Location: Michigan
Posts: 21
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qadthane View Post
No, I didn't need to update to get there. I have the OpenFlash tablet for ECU flashing. I really like it.
The open flash tablet can flash the new update if I need it too? Sorry I am new to all this. When you are tuning your engine I am assuming it the ECU we are altering...so we could flash the need ECU update with this equipment too
Faulkner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 09:29 PM   #16
Qadthane
Member
 
Qadthane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Drives: 2013 FR-S in Asphalt
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 69
Thanks: 162
Thanked 50 Times in 28 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
It can flash one of the off the shelf tunes all of which have the corrected timing. There are several ways to flash the ECU each with their own strengths and weaknesses. This thread has some decent info on the different ways from a lowest cost perspective.

http://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=126669

The links at the bottom of any post by @steve99 are really good reading. There are several guys on here that are knowledgeable and a good resource to learn from.
Qadthane is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Qadthane For This Useful Post:
Faulkner (04-11-2018)
Old 04-11-2018, 09:52 PM   #17
CSG Mike
 
CSG Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: S2000 CR
Location: Orange County
Posts: 12,952
Thanks: 8,072
Thanked 12,503 Times in 5,995 Posts
Mentioned: 877 Post(s)
Tagged: 13 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faulkner View Post
Thanks Mike. My build date is: 06/13 on the black driver's side sticker. Is this a clean point? Mine is an AT

I want to track this car and track it often. I guess my options are new seals and a tune or just sell it and move up? I love the car but I don't want to put more money in it. I'd rather save that for the next adventure entirely

Would a tune like this cover the issue? For the cost a may as well get an added benefit
Your car is fine; no need for a tune.
CSG Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to CSG Mike For This Useful Post:
Faulkner (04-11-2018), strat61caster (04-11-2018)
Old 04-12-2018, 04:32 PM   #18
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,634
Thanks: 980
Thanked 4,736 Times in 2,834 Posts
Mentioned: 524 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faulkner View Post
So I have a 2013 FR-S with only 26K miles on the engine. Finally going to take her to the track this summer, but I've read a few things stating the '13 could have latent engine issue that would cause major issues: https://www.reddit.com/r/ft86/commen...k_reliability/

Do I need to a tune before the track?

I am planning on an Oil cooler, but I am concerned right now based on that post.
Quote:
Originally Posted by boredom.is.me View Post
My car was built in Dec 2012. It has seen plenty of track, autocross, and mountain time. Most of which is between 4k and max rpm at damn near full load. I have 70k miles on my car now. Aside from a throw out bearing and one coil pack that occasionally says "change me, eh never mind I'm good," I haven't had a single drivetrain issue.

torque app and cheap obd reader can read ECU calibration ID


It found under "Adapter Status" in torque app.


If your ECU calibration is 400C 700C A00C manuals or 400D 700D A00D then it doesn't have the transient retard fix (di seal fix) only later roms ie A01C/D B00C/D and B01C/D had this


Basicly Toyota/Subaru stuffed up a setting in ecu that disable transient retard feature above 5000 rpm. so its mainly a problem for cars shifting gear at or close to redline rpm .


the ignition timing doesnt get retarded on transient (gear shifts or on/off throttle at high rpm) and it can induce bad knock especially on poor quality fuels ie 91 or similar


If you use good fuels it help a lot but does not eliminate the issue.


If you have old rom it would be best to update.






you can update to the new factory rom if you or someone you know has a Tactrix cable ($170 usa) ive posted up the stock factory roms you need here


the same tool can also load aftermarket tunes


http://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=62332




.
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 04:35 PM   #19
boredom.is.me
Custom User Title
 
boredom.is.me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: Asphalt FR-S MT
Location: Buford, GA/Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 2,790
Thanks: 394
Thanked 1,179 Times in 697 Posts
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faulkner View Post
Did you get the updates ECU flash?
Haven't had anything touched or changed...ever.
__________________
boredom.is.me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2018, 03:45 PM   #20
Luken10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 2013 Scion FRS
Location: Orange County
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Sorry to bring back an old thread, but I am having a hard time figuring out the correct answer for this.

I will be tracking my car, so I want to make sure I have this sorted. I have a build date of 06/12, but I have a newer ECU ID of ZA1JB01C. This was flashed by the dealer back in 2014. Am I okay to track using the current rom?

Steve99 makes it seem like I am good, because I have a newer software version. CSG Mike makes it seem like it doesn't matter if I have an upgraded oem tune, only an aftermarket tune will fix the issue.

Not sure if I'm understanding things incorrectly. Can someone provide some clarification?
Luken10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2018, 04:03 PM   #21
x808drifter
LMGTFY
 
x808drifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Drives: 13 FRS, 91 Miata
Location: Lava Town, HI
Posts: 906
Thanks: 658
Thanked 952 Times in 427 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luken10 View Post
Sorry to bring back an old thread, but I am having a hard time figuring out the correct answer for this.

I will be tracking my car, so I want to make sure I have this sorted. I have a build date of 06/12, but I have a newer ECU ID of ZA1JB01C. This was flashed by the dealer back in 2014. Am I okay to track using the current rom?

Steve99 makes it seem like I am good, because I have a newer software version. CSG Mike makes it seem like it doesn't matter if I have an upgraded oem tune, only an aftermarket tune will fix the issue.

Not sure if I'm understanding things incorrectly. Can someone provide some clarification?
Have you checked if your car is under the Valve Spring recall?
I'd personally avoid tracking the car If your car is one of those affected.

As for the DI seal thing, I believe the later flash fixed that o you should be good on that front.
x808drifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2018, 06:08 PM   #22
Luken10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 2013 Scion FRS
Location: Orange County
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by x808drifter View Post
Have you checked if your car is under the Valve Spring recall?
I'd personally avoid tracking the car If your car is one of those affected.

As for the DI seal thing, I believe the later flash fixed that o you should be good on that front.
Yeah, mine is on the list. I'm more okay chancing that particular issue since it hasn't been a widespread issue from my research. The recall still isn't in the stage where people can get their cars fixed yet.
Luken10 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
engine, hdpe, reliability, track

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is a tune needed for a new exhaust?! Molina30 Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 9 12-05-2016 07:31 PM
Unichip tune software needed almeshtaq Software Tuning 0 06-24-2016 01:58 AM
OFT300 (Vortech/OFT) help needed (tune issue) sirsol66 Software Tuning 7 12-09-2015 12:17 PM
high octane fuel + FI, tune not needed? BRZPDX Forced Induction 6 09-30-2014 12:41 AM
If just want to add front pipe and overpipe, tune needed to avoid cel? OICU812 Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 3 07-26-2013 09:43 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.