follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Guides

DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Guides For all DIYs.

User Tag List

Old 08-24-2013, 10:39 PM   #1
@Art_Mighty
uosɹǝdʎɐl ʇɹǝdxǝ

Drives: Asphalt AVO FR-S w/a Slushbox! :P
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
DIY – OEM Heated Seats

(Disclaimer: Tampering with any part of car may void your manufacturer’s warranty. If you decide to perform the conversion you could damage your car or be hurt; you do so at your own risk, I am not responsible for damage or any harm you may suffer or any special or consequential damages)

This is my first attempt at a DYI so your grace is appreciated. I will update this with suggestions and corrections as time allows. I also won’t cover every step in detail as there are other posts which cover the removal of the center console and the seats themselves for example. Here are some bread crumbs for the noobies...

Console Removal
Seat Removal

I also assume everybody knows how to solder and use heat shrink tubing (no 3rd degree burns kids!)

This is expensive. The minimum cost of the upgrade being at least $1000 assuming you trying to retrofit BRZ seat cushions (the heaters are in the cushions themselves from what I understand) into FRS seats. A used set of seats could cost anything depending on their condition. New I believe their $2800 *EACH* as complete assemblies. Used BRZ limited seats do come up for sale on this forum and can be found at salvage yards. If you’re getting these used make every effort to get the plugs for the seats and their switches from the seller as these will be difficult to find on their own and prohibitively expensive to purchase as new parts as they come integrated into harness assemblies.