follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Tracking / Autocross / HPDE / Drifting

Tracking / Autocross / HPDE / Drifting What these cars were built for!

User Tag List

Old 12-07-2011, 12:02 PM   #1
RYU

Drives: really slow...
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
BRZ/FR-S Track Worthiness

It's too early to speculate... but if I buy this car I will be entering into a couple of HPDE events a year. I've owned a few commuter Toyotas but never owned a Subie. I have no experience with Boxer engines apart from the occasional test drive so hence was curious to see what you guys thought.

In the current NA trim what do you guys expect will need some beefing up in the interest of safety and longevity?

I'm thinking of these upgrades:
1. Oil Cooler
2. Trans Cooler (i'd like to get an Auto because of a left ankle injury)
3. Oil Pan baffle? Is the FB a dry sump?
4. Gauges (oil temp, coolant temp, trans fluid temp?)

The last thing on my mind is how to try and squeeze out every last HP from the car but instead it's important to keep it reliable.

Also, for you WRZ/STi owners... how has the Subie warranty treated you for your track driven cars?
RYU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 12:06 PM   #2
JDLM

Drives: 2009 BMW 335i
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
boxer engines in NA form are a tad harder to gain HP (from my friend who tunes/owns and has owned numerous Subaru vehicles)

AWE90/ZSP/ZPP/2XA/NAV/HID/DPE////M/EAS/Disma
JDLM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 12:23 PM   #3
old greg
Rocket Surgeon

Drives: PSM GGA OMG
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RYU View Post
1. Oil Cooler