follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Forced Induction

Forced Induction Turbo, Supercharger, Methanol, Nitrous


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-29-2013, 07:30 PM   #1
Pneub
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Drives: Dark Grey BRZ
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 306
Thanks: 172
Thanked 143 Times in 77 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Boost gauge not reading correctly

I've got a P3Cars Vent gauge, and while I'm mostly using it to keep track of my oil temps, I've noticed the boost seems to be reading incorrectly. At idle I'm between -18 and -21, which seems about right, but at full boost it's only reading at 4psi when I'm actually boosting about 9. Since it's going through my OBDII I'm not sure why it would be reading so low. What am I missing (probably a lot)?
__________________
Pneub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 07:35 PM   #2
CSG Mike
 
CSG Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: S2000 CR
Location: Orange County
Posts: 13,403
Thanks: 8,413
Thanked 12,935 Times in 6,240 Posts
Mentioned: 904 Post(s)
Tagged: 13 Thread(s)
Are you using the stock sensors? It may be maxing out
CSG Mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 07:38 PM   #3
Pneub
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Drives: Dark Grey BRZ
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 306
Thanks: 172
Thanked 143 Times in 77 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSG Mike View Post
Are you using the stock sensors? It may be maxing out
Yes I am but I haven't heard about needing to change the sensors before. Other people with boosted 86s using the same gauge haven't mentioned it. Would I just change my MAF?
__________________
Pneub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 07:39 PM   #4
xjohnx
Grip>Slip
 
xjohnx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 13 SWP BRZ Ltd - Innovate Powered!
Location: RVA
Posts: 3,563
Thanks: 656
Thanked 1,716 Times in 1,031 Posts
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pneub View Post
Yes I am but I haven't heard about needing to change the sensors before. Other people with boosted 86s using the same gauge haven't mentioned it. Would I just change my MAF?
You need to change your MAP sensor (and get a reflash to accommodate that sensor).
xjohnx is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to xjohnx For This Useful Post:
CSG Mike (10-29-2013), gdrider77 (10-29-2013), Pneub (10-29-2013)
Old 10-29-2013, 07:42 PM   #5
Pneub
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Drives: Dark Grey BRZ
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 306
Thanks: 172
Thanked 143 Times in 77 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by xjohnx View Post
You need to change your MAP sensor (and get a reflash to accommodate that sensor).
Thanks. So does that mean the stock sensor just doesn't read past 4psi?
__________________
Pneub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 07:58 PM   #6
SmsAlSuwaidi
Boosted
 
SmsAlSuwaidi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Drives: Not a supra....yet
Location: Riverside,CA/ Abu Dhabi,UAE
Posts: 2,925
Thanks: 487
Thanked 1,203 Times in 812 Posts
Mentioned: 90 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pneub View Post
Thanks. So does that mean the stock sensor just doesn't read past 4psi?
i thought it was 7psi
SmsAlSuwaidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 08:01 PM   #7
jamesm
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Drives: 2013 FR-S
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,929
Thanks: 1,166
Thanked 2,290 Times in 1,180 Posts
Mentioned: 313 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
i got about 5.3psi out of my stock one.
jamesm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 08:10 PM   #8
xjohnx
Grip>Slip
 
xjohnx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 13 SWP BRZ Ltd - Innovate Powered!
Location: RVA
Posts: 3,563
Thanks: 656
Thanked 1,716 Times in 1,031 Posts
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
i believe it's 5.3, but only if your tuner expands the scaling to go that high.
xjohnx is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to xjohnx For This Useful Post:
King Tut (10-29-2013), Pneub (10-29-2013)
Old 10-29-2013, 08:14 PM   #9
King Tut
NASA SpecE30 Racer
 
King Tut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Drives: 2006 Honda S2000
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 7,279
Thanks: 607
Thanked 5,756 Times in 3,055 Posts
Mentioned: 274 Post(s)
Tagged: 10 Thread(s)
Send a message via AIM to King Tut
Quote:
Originally Posted by xjohnx View Post
i believe it's 5.3, but only if your tuner expands the scaling to go that high.
This. Also remember that if you do get a different MAP sensor, your tuner needs to adjust the scaling for it or your car might not run.
__________________
King Tut is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to King Tut For This Useful Post:
Cal3000 (10-30-2013)
Old 10-29-2013, 10:11 PM   #10
Pneub
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Drives: Dark Grey BRZ
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 306
Thanks: 172
Thanked 143 Times in 77 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Tut View Post
This. Also remember that if you do get a different MAP sensor, your tuner needs to adjust the scaling for it or your car might not run.

Good to know. Thank you guys for all the help again.
__________________
Pneub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 12:15 PM   #11
bgibbsunc
Senior Member
 
bgibbsunc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Drives: Firestorm Scion FR-S
Location: United States
Posts: 236
Thanks: 80
Thanked 79 Times in 49 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I also thought the stock would read up to seven. That is where all the tuners say you will need a map sensor to go higher. Well either way good to know.
__________________

FA20 club 60 trim + flex fuel
467 whp 356 ft lbs @ 19 lbs
Owner of Sidewinders Auto LLC.
San Antonio TX
bgibbsunc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 01:39 PM   #12
Cal3000
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Drives: Panda FR-S
Location: Corona, California
Posts: 532
Thanks: 297
Thanked 376 Times in 161 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Tut View Post
This. Also remember that if you do get a different MAP sensor, your tuner needs to adjust the scaling for it or your car might not run.
This. I have a 3BAR sensor in my car, but my boost readings through ECUtek data log reads a max of about 4psi. My car still runs though.
__________________
Vortech SC on 9psi Pulley, Invidia Catless Front Pipe, Invidia N1 Catback Exhaust
242whp/197ft-lb on Mustang Dyno (91 octane water)
284whp/223ft-lb on Mustang Dyno (E85)
Delicious Tuning
Cal3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
boost, gauge, p3cars

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
boost gauge vortech help ft86me Forced Induction 47 07-06-2015 11:50 AM
Fuel gauge not reading properly FR-S Hot Lava Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 27 10-29-2014 11:33 AM
Boost gauge off at elevation gdrider77 Forced Induction 7 09-25-2013 02:32 PM
Boost and mixture gauge questions mike the snake Forced Induction 9 07-29-2013 08:55 PM
Which boost gauge? Bigmaxy Forced Induction 3 07-07-2013 08:11 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.