follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
86WORX
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Wheels | Tires | Spacers | Hub -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack

Wheels | Tires | Spacers | Hub -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack Specific topics relating to wheels and tires.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-13-2011, 01:51 PM   #1
Dave-ROR
Site Moderator
 
Dave-ROR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Drives: Stuff
Location: Florida
Posts: 10,253
Thanks: 921
Thanked 5,854 Times in 2,652 Posts
Mentioned: 253 Post(s)
Tagged: 8 Thread(s)
TPMS Sensors..

Has anyone here had to deal with TPMS sensors on new wheels with a Subaru? To avoid the light coming on after switching wheels...
__________________
-Dave
DD: 2005 Acura TSX || HPDE: 2013 Scion FRS || HPDE: 1998 Integra Type-R || Race car: 1993 Honda Civic Hatchback || Toy: 1994 MR2 Turbo || Toy: 1993 MR2 Turbo || Tow Vehicle: 2004 GMC Sierra 2500 8.1L (2022 F-450 on order) || Current rebuild(s) in progress: 2013 Subaru BRZ Limited
Dave-ROR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 01:52 PM   #2
JDLM
Senior Member
 
JDLM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Drives: 2009 BMW 335i
Location: Olathe, Kansas, United States
Posts: 718
Thanks: 0
Thanked 42 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
You mean without putting back in the federally mandated sensor ?
__________________

AWE90/ZSP/ZPP/2XA/NAV/HID/DPE////M/EAS/Disma
JDLM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 02:24 PM   #3
Longhorn248
Hook 'em
 
Longhorn248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Drives: 2013 BRZ
Location: ATX
Posts: 1,950
Thanks: 68
Thanked 152 Times in 79 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDLM View Post
You mean without putting back in the federally mandated sensor ?
TPMS are federally mandated now? Interesting...
Longhorn248 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 02:29 PM   #4
JDLM
Senior Member
 
JDLM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Drives: 2009 BMW 335i
Location: Olathe, Kansas, United States
Posts: 718
Thanks: 0
Thanked 42 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Longhorn248 View Post
TPMS are federally mandated now? Interesting...

They are required by law hence the reason all new cars have them

http://www.nhtsa.gov/cars/rules/ruli...nalrule.6.html
__________________

AWE90/ZSP/ZPP/2XA/NAV/HID/DPE////M/EAS/Disma
JDLM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 02:30 PM   #5
Ryephile
Hot Dog
 
Ryephile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Drives: quicker than arghx7
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,316
Thanks: 103
Thanked 173 Times in 83 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Longhorn248 View Post
TPMS are federally mandated now? Interesting...
Kinda. Having some sort of TPMS system is. This means ABS/wheel speed delta calculation or in-wheel sensors.

Unfortunately, Toyota decided to waste money and install expensive in-wheel sensors. This decision is decidedly NOT tuner friendly. Hopefully there's a saving grace and they at least display the actual individual tire pressures in the IP. Otherwise, if they "do a BMW", the sensors will be pretty much a waste of money, effort, and resources.
__________________
"Wisdom is a not a function of age, but a function of experience."
Just Say No to unqualified aftermarket products.
Ryephile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 02:32 PM   #6
JDLM
Senior Member
 
JDLM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Drives: 2009 BMW 335i
Location: Olathe, Kansas, United States
Posts: 718
Thanks: 0
Thanked 42 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryephile View Post
Kinda. Having some sort of TPMS system is. This means ABS/wheel speed delta calculation or in-wheel sensors.

Unfortunately, Toyota decided to waste money and install expensive in-wheel sensors. This decision is decidedly NOT tuner friendly. Hopefully there's a saving grace and they at least display the actual individual tire pressures in the IP. Otherwise, if they "do a BMW", the sensors will be pretty much a waste of money, effort, and resources.

How are the BMW sensors useless? All 4 of mine are displayed on my I-drive .....
__________________

AWE90/ZSP/ZPP/2XA/NAV/HID/DPE////M/EAS/Disma
JDLM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 02:33 PM   #7
Longhorn248
Hook 'em
 
Longhorn248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Drives: 2013 BRZ
Location: ATX
Posts: 1,950
Thanks: 68
Thanked 152 Times in 79 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryephile View Post
Kinda. Having some sort of TPMS system is. This means ABS/wheel speed delta calculation or in-wheel sensors.

Unfortunately, Toyota decided to waste money and install expensive in-wheel sensors. This decision is decidedly NOT tuner friendly. Hopefully there's a saving grace and they at least display the actual individual tire pressures in the IP. Otherwise, if they "do a BMW", the sensors will be pretty much a waste of money, effort, and resources.
By waste of money do you mean you basically get a warning light whenever one of the tires is low on pressure without telling you the pressure or which tire?
Longhorn248 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 02:36 PM   #8
JDLM
Senior Member
 
JDLM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Drives: 2009 BMW 335i
Location: Olathe, Kansas, United States
Posts: 718
Thanks: 0
Thanked 42 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)


Here is an example of what mine do if they are low
__________________

AWE90/ZSP/ZPP/2XA/NAV/HID/DPE////M/EAS/Disma
JDLM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 02:39 PM   #9
Ryephile
Hot Dog
 
Ryephile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Drives: quicker than arghx7
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,316
Thanks: 103
Thanked 173 Times in 83 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDLM View Post
How are the BMW sensors useless? All 4 of mine are displayed on my I-drive .....
The pressures aren't displayed on MINI, or any non i-drive cars to my knowledge.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Longhorn248 View Post
By waste of money do you mean you basically get a warning light whenever one of the tires is low on pressure without telling you the pressure or which tire?
Exactly. Just as useless as ABS wheel speed sensor deduced TPMS, but much more expensive and hassle-prone when swapping wheels for winter/summer/track.
__________________
"Wisdom is a not a function of age, but a function of experience."
Just Say No to unqualified aftermarket products.
Ryephile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 02:41 PM   #10
JDLM
Senior Member
 
JDLM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Drives: 2009 BMW 335i
Location: Olathe, Kansas, United States
Posts: 718
Thanks: 0
Thanked 42 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryephile View Post
The pressures aren't displayed on MINI, or any non i-drive cars to my knowledge.
I am sure that this is all that is seen




Same w/ my wife's forester and various other systems
__________________

AWE90/ZSP/ZPP/2XA/NAV/HID/DPE////M/EAS/Disma
JDLM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 02:44 PM   #11
oneday
Opinionated
 
oneday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Drives: Something Red
Location: Holland
Posts: 311
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
There are aftermarket replacement sensors available (or will be very soon). Continental (the parent company that owns Continental Tire, General Tire, Uniroyal, and VDO gauges) has been developing a universal type of component. My BIL is part of the team developing the product..

I've gotten a few competitor type products to play with over the last year or so...one was really cool and allowed a mini-dash display that showed actual pressures in each tire...was cool for track days to monitor tires.
__________________
Most of the cars I drive have nets for windows.
oneday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 02:50 PM   #12
MightyAl
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Drives: 1992 Toyota Supra
Location: Quad Cities, IA
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I had the TPMS sensors installed on my winter wheels on my STi. The only thing they don't tell you that every time you switch wheels they have to be calibrated. Most dealerships charge for this service so I just learned to live with the red light.
MightyAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 03:08 PM   #13
JDLM
Senior Member
 
JDLM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Drives: 2009 BMW 335i
Location: Olathe, Kansas, United States
Posts: 718
Thanks: 0
Thanked 42 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MightyAl View Post
I had the TPMS sensors installed on my winter wheels on my STi. The only thing they don't tell you that every time you switch wheels they have to be calibrated. Most dealerships charge for this service so I just learned to live with the red light.

calibrated how?

I have swapped mine from my OEM wheels to my 19" wheels and now back to my OEM wheels (winter/selling) and I didn't have to calibrate anything
__________________

AWE90/ZSP/ZPP/2XA/NAV/HID/DPE////M/EAS/Disma
JDLM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 03:12 PM   #14
Ryephile
Hot Dog
 
Ryephile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Drives: quicker than arghx7
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 1,316
Thanks: 103
Thanked 173 Times in 83 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Not all TPMS receivers can ID multiple sets. This means every time you swap wheels, you [or the dealership] have to reset the car computer. An inconvenience for sure. Removing the dummy dash light and just forgetting about the whole thing is much easier and cheaper...and still doesn't change the fact you have to check your tires regularly anyway with most cars that don't show individual tire pressures in the dash.
__________________
"Wisdom is a not a function of age, but a function of experience."
Just Say No to unqualified aftermarket products.
Ryephile is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2022 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.