follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-20-2016, 03:30 PM   #1
Sonicp9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Drives: 2016 Raven FR-S
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 43
Thanks: 6
Thanked 19 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Need help installing subwoofer with amp to oem HU and sound system (2016 FRS)

Hey guys,

So I bought a 10 inch alpine subwoofer that is putting out 300w RMS and I plan on using my old mtx monoblock amp that I had from my previous car (the mtx subwoofers were just too big to fit in the trunk of the FRS).

I ordered a line out converter and some metra harnesses off amazon (the 70-1761 and 71-1761), with the hopes of creating a custom plug-n-play harness so I can connect the amp with RCA's and not have to do any splicing.

I am not sure anymore if this will work though. At first I was thinking of taking the rear speaker wires from the head unit and using those for the line out converter. That would, however, disable my rear speakers I believe. The rears are pretty crap anyway, but I was wondering if there is a way of doing this without needing to disable any of the speakers and avoid any wire splicing if possible.

Thanks!
Sonicp9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2016, 04:58 PM   #2
gramicci101
Off Topic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Drives: 2014 Subaru BRZ Limited
Location: Vegas, baby!
Posts: 4,610
Thanks: 2,369
Thanked 4,240 Times in 2,170 Posts
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
There's a much easier way to do it.

Use your metra harnesses to create a passthrough for the door speaker amp. Conveniently, this amp is located behind the rear seat on the driver's side. Here's a thread that covers how to repin the harnesses and in what order. Unlike that thread, you need to connect the 1760 to the 1761 to allow the signal to still pass to the door amp. Branch off the wires for L+, L-, R+, R-, and remote turn-on and connect these to your sub amp's harness. Don't cut them completely, because you still want the door speakers to work.

Then run power and ground wires for the sub amp, plug your passthrough in between the door amp harness and the door amp, and you're good to go.

I can get pics when I get home.
gramicci101 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to gramicci101 For This Useful Post:
ACT86 (07-02-2022), Chimera (06-20-2016), civicdrivr (07-21-2016), Sonicp9 (06-20-2016)
Old 06-20-2016, 05:02 PM   #3
Chimera
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FRS
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,181
Thanks: 575
Thanked 291 Times in 216 Posts
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
what he said^
Chimera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2016, 10:09 PM   #4
gramicci101
Off Topic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Drives: 2014 Subaru BRZ Limited
Location: Vegas, baby!
Posts: 4,610
Thanks: 2,369
Thanked 4,240 Times in 2,170 Posts
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Here is the whole assembly all connected and in place. The silver box is the OEM door amplifier; the black box is the sub amplifier. It's tiny and cute. And powerful: 200w RMS @ 0.5 ohms.



Here are the two repinned Metra wiring harnesses (white plugs) connected to each other to pass signal through, and the Kicker harness (black plug) bridged off the L+/-, R+/-, (white and grey) and remote turn-on (blue). Other wires coming off the Kicker plug are power, ground, and output going to the sub.



Here is where my assembled harness connects to the OEM harness.



And here is where it connects to the door amplifier. You can see I also used other Metra harnesses to extend the door amplifier power and ground. I didn't tap off these at all, but I needed to make it longer in order to fit all the extra wiring.


Last edited by gramicci101; 06-20-2016 at 10:27 PM.
gramicci101 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to gramicci101 For This Useful Post:
Chimera (06-20-2016), civicdrivr (07-21-2016), Sonicp9 (06-22-2016), SVXdc (06-25-2016)
Old 06-20-2016, 10:55 PM   #5
Chimera
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FRS
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,181
Thanks: 575
Thanked 291 Times in 216 Posts
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
I'ma say this post should probably be stickied for anyone wanting to do the same with a no wire cut install.
Chimera is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Chimera For This Useful Post:
surfwaxsmitty (07-02-2022)
Old 06-20-2016, 11:36 PM   #6
gramicci101
Off Topic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Drives: 2014 Subaru BRZ Limited
Location: Vegas, baby!
Posts: 4,610
Thanks: 2,369
Thanked 4,240 Times in 2,170 Posts
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
The only part that was cut or otherwise irreversibly modified was the chunk of foam I cut out to make a home for the sub amp. The sub itself is fastened to the back of the seat with industrial Velcro, so it's completely removable in case I need the space. So far I haven't needed the space. The amp is also Velcro'd down.

gramicci101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 11:39 AM   #7
Sonicp9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Drives: 2016 Raven FR-S
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 43
Thanks: 6
Thanked 19 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gramicci101 View Post
There's a much easier way to do it.

Use your metra harnesses to create a passthrough for the door speaker amp. Conveniently, this amp is located behind the rear seat on the driver's side. Here's a thread that covers how to repin the harnesses and in what order. Unlike that thread, you need to connect the 1760 to the 1761 to allow the signal to still pass to the door amp. Branch off the wires for L+, L-, R+, R-, and remote turn-on and connect these to your sub amp's harness. Don't cut them completely, because you still want the door speakers to work.

Then run power and ground wires for the sub amp, plug your passthrough in between the door amp harness and the door amp, and you're good to go.

I can get pics when I get home.
Honestly this is amazing. Definitely worth a sticky!

My only problem is my sub amp does not have a harness, it requires RCA's. But I guess I can simply connect it to the R and L +/- where your amp harness would go instead.

Thanks a bunch!! I will be doing a very similar install and will post results.
Sonicp9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 11:42 AM   #8
gramicci101
Off Topic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Drives: 2014 Subaru BRZ Limited
Location: Vegas, baby!
Posts: 4,610
Thanks: 2,369
Thanked 4,240 Times in 2,170 Posts
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonicp9 View Post
Honestly this is amazing. Definitely worth a sticky!

My only problem is my sub amp does not have a harness, it requires RCA's. But I guess I can simply connect it to the R and L +/- where your amp harness would go instead.

Thanks a bunch!! I will be doing a very similar install and will post results.
Your FR-S will very likely have RCA outputs on the OEM radio. I would check for that just to be sure. If so, then you only need to tap off the remote turn-on and you can run RCAs from the radio. My BRZ does not, so I had to tap the signal as well.
gramicci101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 12:03 PM   #9
starscream1201
Member
 
starscream1201's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Drives: 2015 Raven FR-S
Location: Mount Vernon, WA
Posts: 84
Thanks: 6
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by gramicci101 View Post
Your FR-S will very likely have RCA outputs on the OEM radio. I would check for that just to be sure. If so, then you only need to tap off the remote turn-on and you can run RCAs from the radio. My BRZ does not, so I had to tap the signal as well.


Scion no longer has pre outs on the back of their radio since they are no longer actually made by pioneer. The older non touch screen units out of the TC were the last ones I believe, maybe the 13/14 frs's, but I'm not certain. My frs is a 2015, pulled out the head unit thinking the same thing but they're just not there. Went with the hi/lo converter route for a few weeks. Four subs later said fuck it and just replaced the deck


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
starscream1201 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 02:43 PM   #10
Chimera
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FRS
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,181
Thanks: 575
Thanked 291 Times in 216 Posts
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
my 13 hu definitely did have sub preouts.
Chimera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 03:26 PM   #11
Leonardo
Country Boy 4 Life
 
Leonardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: 19' & 06' Ridgelines, 13' FR-S
Location: EUGENE
Posts: 5,228
Thanks: 6,719
Thanked 5,285 Times in 2,719 Posts
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chimera View Post
my 13 hu definitely did have sub preouts.
Mine too. You have to turn them on to work though. Buried in the menu, somewhere.
Leonardo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 06:55 PM   #12
Sonicp9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Drives: 2016 Raven FR-S
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 43
Thanks: 6
Thanked 19 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chimera View Post
my 13 hu definitely did have sub preouts.
My 16 does not have preouts. I know because I checked. Thus I need the converter. Is it still possible to connect the converter to the setup you described earlier?
Sonicp9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 07:09 PM   #13
gramicci101
Off Topic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Drives: 2014 Subaru BRZ Limited
Location: Vegas, baby!
Posts: 4,610
Thanks: 2,369
Thanked 4,240 Times in 2,170 Posts
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Yep. Where I tapped the L+/- and R+/- and fed it to the Kicker harness, just tap those wires and feed them to the line level converter. Then you can connect your RCAs to the converter and be good to go.
gramicci101 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gramicci101 For This Useful Post:
Sonicp9 (06-24-2016)
Old 07-02-2022, 01:02 AM   #14
surfwaxsmitty
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Drives: '14 BRZ 6MT
Location: NO, LA
Posts: 87
Thanks: 114
Thanked 61 Times in 32 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Here an adapter that does this. A nice plug and play option.. it says it must plug into the back of the stereo but multiple people have connected it directly to the factory amp in the trunk.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00CQUL240...4SGABG0544YK_0
surfwaxsmitty is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subwoofer RCA on 2016 FRS Sam.Vera Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 2 06-05-2016 04:06 PM
Looking for help adding sub and amp to existing 2016 FRS sound system and head unit Sonicp9 Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 2 02-27-2016 10:24 PM
Door Unlocked dash light coming and going after installing subwoofer tbertran Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 0 01-01-2014 10:22 PM
FS: Sound Ordnance B-8P Powered Subwoofer sdshores08 Audio/Visual, Electronics, Infotainment, NAV 3 09-09-2013 06:58 PM
[FR-S] Installing New Subwoofer and Mono Amp hx3 Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 0 08-09-2012 07:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2022 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.