follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Software Tuning

Software Tuning Discuss all software tuning topics.

User Tag List

Old 11-13-2014, 11:08 AM   #1
pseudo

Drives: 2008 Cayman S
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
OFT vs ECUFlash

Let me preface this by saying that I am not asking if OFT is better than ECUFlash or vice versa, I am just trying to figure out what the right choice is for me.

I am a software engineer, so I don't mind a steep learning curve. However, this is my first sports car, so I am new to tuning. My primary goal is to learn as much as I can about tuning my NA BRZ.

As I understand it, both OFT and ECUFlash will use romraider for tuning, but I believe that there are differences between the two. Can you use ECUFlash tunes with OFT and vice versa? Is there a translation step to editing the binary files between the two?

I like the fact that OFT has off the shelf tunes that I can use as a jumping off point. At the same time, there are many books on tuning that I could use to start off with ECUFlash.

Functionality appears to be better in OFT with features like flat-foot shifting and other stuff like that. Honestly, I probably won't use any features like this as my main goal in owning this car is to become a better driver, but I just want to get the whole picture.

I am a hacker by trade, so cracking open the .bin in IDA sounds appealing. I could help out the community by looking for new addresses to edit and stuff like that. For that reason ECUFlash is appealing.

Price is irrelevant, so please don't take that into account.

Overall, OFT seems like the safer/faster choice, but ECUFlash might be more rewarding in the long run.

Based on what I have said above, could you recommend a tuning solution for me?
Thanks!