follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-17-2016, 10:58 PM   #1
drz400dude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 152
Thanks: 54
Thanked 42 Times in 21 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Sub install question

So I pulled the subs out of my truck, and installed them in my trunk. Basic setup. 2 kicker comp RT 10's, alpine mrv-m500 amp. When I turn the car on with the subs connected to the amp, the amp goes on and off, in about 1/2 second intervals. With no subs connected the amp stays on steady. What would cause this?

Thanks.
drz400dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2016, 11:06 PM   #2
Leonardo
Country Boy 4 Life
 
Leonardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: 19' & 06' Ridgelines, 13' FR-S
Location: EUGENE
Posts: 5,233
Thanks: 6,718
Thanked 5,282 Times in 2,719 Posts
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Check out your power wires. I always run a bigger ground wire. Those connections are everything. It may look like a good connection, but when the subs take power, it is not good enough. Scrape to bare metal, paint is more insulating than you think. I modified my spare tire hold down bolt for my ground. It is working great for me.

Also, Check your fuses on the amp, and power wire. A partial blown fuse will cause strange behaviors.

Good luck!
Leonardo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2016, 11:15 PM   #3
gramicci101
Off Topic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Drives: 2014 Subaru BRZ Limited
Location: Vegas, baby!
Posts: 4,610
Thanks: 2,369
Thanked 4,236 Times in 2,170 Posts
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Comp RT 101 or 102? Are they wired series/series, series/parallel, or parallel/parallel?

If it's 2x CompRT101's wired in series/parallel (1 Ohm total load) or parallel/parallel (0.25 Ohm total load), you're presenting too low of an impedance for the 2 Ohm-stable amp to operate properly. Series/series presents a 4 Ohm load, which will work fine, it just isn't getting the most you can get out of the amp.

If it's 2x CompRT102's wired in parallel/parallel (1 Ohm total load), same thing. Wiring them in series/parallel would be an ideal match for the amp. Series/series will give you an 8 Ohm load, which will work , but isn't ideal.
gramicci101 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gramicci101 For This Useful Post:
Leonardo (12-17-2016)
Old 12-17-2016, 11:19 PM   #4
Leonardo
Country Boy 4 Life
 
Leonardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: 19' & 06' Ridgelines, 13' FR-S
Location: EUGENE
Posts: 5,233
Thanks: 6,718
Thanked 5,282 Times in 2,719 Posts
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
I agree! ^

DVC subs, ahhh. Yeah your ohm load will cause the amp to think it has a direct short and shut down. Not all amps are stable at 1 or 2ohms. 8ohm is going to be not as loud, but is safe and should work.
Leonardo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2016, 11:21 PM   #5
drz400dude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 152
Thanks: 54
Thanked 42 Times in 21 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
My ground I attached under the carpet to one of the bolts that looks to be holding down the tail light fixture. It is not painted so it's already bare metal. Maybe I can find a better ground?

I also checked the fuses. The one off the battery is brand new (I broke the old one taking it out of my truck). And the fuses on the amp look good. I've never seen a partially blown fuse? I'll look closer.

I also just noticed as soon as the amp gets power the sub slowly "puffs out" and stays there. weird stuff going on.
drz400dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2016, 11:22 PM   #6
gramicci101
Off Topic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Drives: 2014 Subaru BRZ Limited
Location: Vegas, baby!
Posts: 4,610
Thanks: 2,369
Thanked 4,236 Times in 2,170 Posts
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonardo View Post
I agree! ^

DVC subs, ahhh. Yeah your ohm load will cause the amp to think it has a direct short and shut down. Not all amps are stable at 1ohm. 8ohm is going to be not as loud, but is safe and should work.
Even more fun: the 101 is dual 1 Ohm. I have a CompRT 81, but I also have a 0.5 Ohm stable amp that was designed to work with it.
gramicci101 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gramicci101 For This Useful Post:
Leonardo (12-17-2016)
Old 12-17-2016, 11:24 PM   #7
Leonardo
Country Boy 4 Life
 
Leonardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: 19' & 06' Ridgelines, 13' FR-S
Location: EUGENE
Posts: 5,233
Thanks: 6,718
Thanked 5,282 Times in 2,719 Posts
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by drz400dude View Post
My ground I attached under the carpet to one of the bolts that looks to be holding down the tail light fixture. It is not painted so it's already bare metal. Maybe I can find a better ground?

I also checked the fuses. The one off the battery is brand new (I broke the old one taking it out of my truck). And the fuses on the amp look good. I've never seen a partially blown fuse? I'll look closer.

I also just noticed as soon as the amp gets power the sub slowly "puffs out" and stays there. weird stuff going on.
Gramicci101 had some great ideas that I missed. I would look into his suggestions.

Also, it is painted where you attached the bolt.
Leonardo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2016, 11:27 PM   #8
Leonardo
Country Boy 4 Life
 
Leonardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: 19' & 06' Ridgelines, 13' FR-S
Location: EUGENE
Posts: 5,233
Thanks: 6,718
Thanked 5,282 Times in 2,719 Posts
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gramicci101 View Post
Even more fun: the 101 is dual 1 Ohm. I have a CompRT 81, but I also have a 0.5 Ohm stable amp that was designed to work with it.
Nice! That sounds awesome I bet! Thanks, I did not know the specs on his subs.
Leonardo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2016, 11:48 PM   #9
drz400dude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 152
Thanks: 54
Thanked 42 Times in 21 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
So I moved my ground cable to the spare tire hold down bolt. I also disconnected one of the subs, so I'm just running directly to one sub from the amp. It's still doing the power cycling, and while it is on the speaker seems like it is crackling and making noise. The stereo isn't even on at this point.

I'm also not sure which sub it is, it came as a prefab that fit perfectly under my trucks back seat. This is what I have.

https://www.vminnovations.com/Produc...bi-hoCr9bw_wcB
drz400dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 12:03 AM   #10
drz400dude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 152
Thanks: 54
Thanked 42 Times in 21 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by gramicci101 View Post
Comp RT 101 or 102? Are they wired series/series, series/parallel, or parallel/parallel?

If it's 2x CompRT101's wired in series/parallel (1 Ohm total load) or parallel/parallel (0.25 Ohm total load), you're presenting too low of an impedance for the 2 Ohm-stable amp to operate properly. Series/series presents a 4 Ohm load, which will work fine, it just isn't getting the most you can get out of the amp.

If it's 2x CompRT102's wired in parallel/parallel (1 Ohm total load), same thing. Wiring them in series/parallel would be an ideal match for the amp. Series/series will give you an 8 Ohm load, which will work , but isn't ideal.
The website says 4 Ohm each. So if I wire them in series it should be 2 Ohm total right? But even with only one hooked up it is still acting weird.
drz400dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2016, 12:17 AM   #11
drz400dude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 152
Thanks: 54
Thanked 42 Times in 21 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
So I just tried it again, this time with the car running because I was scared I was going to drain my battery since I've been messing with this. This time the amp stayed on, but the speaker started smoking.
drz400dude is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
amp, audio, speakers, subwoofer

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amp/Sub Install question Nathan0726 Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 5 08-30-2014 05:02 AM
Frs lip install question Kai Uhl Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 4 07-21-2014 09:39 PM
KW variant 3 install question Stale_hotdog Suspension | Chassis | Brakes -- Sponsored by 949 Racing 9 01-28-2014 12:18 PM
Fog install question Cooper911 DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Guides 4 11-17-2013 01:43 PM
K&N Drop In Install Question joelg Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 18 03-05-2013 11:29 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.