follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Software Tuning

Software Tuning Discuss all software tuning topics.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-28-2021, 05:42 PM   #1
Arthur-A
Member
 
Arthur-A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Drives: 2020 Toyota 86
Location: PNW, USA
Posts: 12
Thanks: 8
Thanked 18 Times in 7 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
EcuTek and Torque Pro monitoring oil temp

Hi everyone, I've got a question regarding the Torque Pro compatibility with the EcuTek. I've got a stock 2020 86 Base model and say I buy a Bluetooth OBDII adapter and get a Torque Pro app to monitor oil and coolant temps, will it work after a have an EcuTek tune or I'll have to buy their proprietary adapter and use their app?
Arthur-A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2021, 11:38 AM   #2
Dzmitry
Senior Member
 
Dzmitry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Drives: 2018 Subaru BRZ Limited with PP
Location: Phildalphia, Pennsylvania
Posts: 396
Thanks: 663
Thanked 248 Times in 161 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arthur-A View Post
Hi everyone, I've got a question regarding the Torque Pro compatibility with the EcuTek. I've got a stock 2020 86 Base model and say I buy a Bluetooth OBDII adapter and get a Torque Pro app to monitor oil and coolant temps, will it work after a have an EcuTek tune or I'll have to buy their proprietary adapter and use their app?
Pretty sure a tune should have no affect on capability of getting readings from the ECU through something like Torque Pro. You can use either after a tune. Though I must say, I like EcuTek's interface and it is adjustable, much like in Torque Pro. I would like to think the EcuTek adapter is a good one and provides accurate and quick readings as well vs most OBDII adapters out there aside from the more expensive ones possibly.
Dzmitry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2021, 04:51 PM   #3
Arthur-A
Member
 
Arthur-A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Drives: 2020 Toyota 86
Location: PNW, USA
Posts: 12
Thanks: 8
Thanked 18 Times in 7 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzmitry View Post
Pretty sure a tune should have no affect on capability of getting readings from the ECU through something like Torque Pro. You can use either after a tune. Though I must say, I like EcuTek's interface and it is adjustable, much like in Torque Pro. I would like to think the EcuTek adapter is a good one and provides accurate and quick readings as well vs most OBDII adapters out there aside from the more expensive ones possibly.
Good to know, thanks! I'm planning to get a tune later down the road, but I'd like to see what my oil temp is right now.
Arthur-A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 07:19 AM   #4
Dzmitry
Senior Member
 
Dzmitry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Drives: 2018 Subaru BRZ Limited with PP
Location: Phildalphia, Pennsylvania
Posts: 396
Thanks: 663
Thanked 248 Times in 161 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arthur-A View Post
Good to know, thanks! I'm planning to get a tune later down the road, but I'd like to see what my oil temp is right now.
In a 2017+, you can read your oil temp and coolant temp from the gauge on the screen.
Dzmitry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 12:50 PM   #5
Arthur-A
Member
 
Arthur-A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Drives: 2020 Toyota 86
Location: PNW, USA
Posts: 12
Thanks: 8
Thanked 18 Times in 7 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzmitry View Post
In a 2017+, you can read your oil temp and coolant temp from the gauge on the screen.
I have a Base model, it has only basic display.
Arthur-A is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Arthur-A For This Useful Post:
Dzmitry (03-02-2021)
Old 03-02-2021, 12:56 PM   #6
Dzmitry
Senior Member
 
Dzmitry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Drives: 2018 Subaru BRZ Limited with PP
Location: Phildalphia, Pennsylvania
Posts: 396
Thanks: 663
Thanked 248 Times in 161 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arthur-A View Post
I have a Base model, it has only basic display.
Ah yes, sorry I got mixed up with the BRZ, which did not hold the base model in 2020.
Dzmitry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 01:09 PM   #7
Arthur-A
Member
 
Arthur-A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Drives: 2020 Toyota 86
Location: PNW, USA
Posts: 12
Thanks: 8
Thanked 18 Times in 7 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Yeah, I was a bit surprised that it didn't have that fancy cluster with the display, but as long as there's a way to get those readings, it's not a big deal.
Arthur-A is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Arthur-A For This Useful Post:
Dzmitry (03-02-2021)
Old 03-02-2021, 10:09 PM   #8
kev0
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Drives: '14
Location: Midwest
Posts: 450
Thanks: 218
Thanked 84 Times in 65 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
For those who don't know:

If you have a jailbroken iPhone, you can use the tweak 'CarBridge' to display your EcuTek gauges (assuming you have the Bluetooth adapter) onto your headunit.
kev0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 11:32 PM   #9
ls1ac
Senior Member
 
ls1ac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Drives: BRZ, Noble M400, AC-LS7,1956 AC
Location: Wi/Fl
Posts: 989
Thanks: 303
Thanked 815 Times in 446 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Just for FYI, usually you can not use two OBD2 devices at the same time . There are a few that will work together at the same time but one must be a monitor only. I have tried several using a "Y" cable. Where CAN buss is designed to work with many.
ls1ac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 05:49 AM   #10
Deisou
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Drives: 2013 Subaru BRZ
Location: Australia
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ls1ac View Post
Just for FYI, usually you can not use two OBD2 devices at the same time . There are a few that will work together at the same time but one must be a monitor only. I have tried several using a "Y" cable. Where CAN buss is designed to work with many.
So will the Y cable work if I wanted to run RaceChrono to log out things like RPM whilst also running a OBD2 gauge? Both read only.

Any hit to the data throughput especially for RPM logging?

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
Deisou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2021, 07:45 PM   #11
ls1ac
Senior Member
 
ls1ac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Drives: BRZ, Noble M400, AC-LS7,1956 AC
Location: Wi/Fl
Posts: 989
Thanks: 303
Thanked 815 Times in 446 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
I do not know about those two. As i said the only way is to try. Some you may think are read only are poling for information.
ls1ac is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Torque App not reading Oil temp properly dazbrz Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 8 01-15-2021 07:03 AM
How is Torque Measured? (EcuTek) Dzmitry Software Tuning 1 01-15-2020 09:36 AM
Worlds Highest Power and Torque FR-S Tuned on EcuTek EcuTek Forced Induction 65 09-03-2015 12:19 AM
Torque app with oil temp aaronsadventures Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 0 09-08-2014 09:14 AM
Engine oil temp now available in Torque App Yruyur Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 8 02-03-2013 10:52 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.