follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > FT86CLUB Shared Forum > Regional Forums > Mid-Atlantic

Mid-Atlantic DC, DE, MD, VA, WV

User Tag List

Old 03-25-2014, 09:26 PM   #1
Justinyuen16

Drives: White Monogram 6MT 2014
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Coilovers vs Springs

Hey Guys,

I'm new to car mods and I was wondering which would be better coilovers or springs?
I know there's a different thread else where but our area, the weather is temperamental, as everyone can see by our spring snow. But also I heard that coilovers aren't good with salt. Also that springs kill wheels. I've looked around and I see different things.
I have a MT Monogram, and I don't plan on taking it to the track, which apparently also makes a difference.

What should I take into consideration? maybe pros and cons? any suggestions?
Justinyuen16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2014, 11:51 PM   #2
camelflage

Drives: pinto power
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
I don't track my cars, and I've always gone with something like a Megan or bc coilover for the adjustability and ease of install. You can get some silicone spray and coat the coils to prevent dirt and grime buildup. Go with spring rates that are close to stock for a comfortable street ride. My .02...

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk
camelflage is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to camelflage For This Useful Post:
Justinyuen16 (03-26-2014)
Old 03-26-2014, 03:31 PM   #3
Tank
Mumbler

Drives: Sensibly
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
I don't have any ft86 specific input, but can comment from a holistic standpoint of modifying cars in MD.