follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Software Tuning

Software Tuning Discuss all software tuning topics.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-01-2017, 04:57 AM   #1
jslack
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Drives: 2017 Red subaru BRZ Limited
Location: Omaha
Posts: 191
Thanks: 5
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Best OBD2 app for Iphone

I wanted to buy and ODB2 sensor for the 2017 BRZ, but wasn't sure which is the best app to get for the iPhone. Can you guys give your reviews on which app would be the best paid and free. Thanks
jslack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 11:27 AM   #2
TofuJoe
Ohne Titel
 
TofuJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Drives: 2017 BRZ PP ISM
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 684
Thanks: 1,141
Thanked 412 Times in 234 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
DashCommand works pretty well. Interface isn't perfect, but once you use the examples to see how to set up custom settings it's alright. Stay away from cheap wi-fi OBD dongles. I had a Veepeak one that bent the pins on my car's OBD port. You might consider using an OBD2 extension and plugging the dongle into that. Some of them have a switch to prevent battery drain: http://amzn.to/2mF6DrX

I'm now using a Bluetooth Kiwi 3, and the update rate with Harry's LapTimer is much faster than wi-fi. It's $99 vs $15 though: http://amzn.to/2lyMxPo
TofuJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TofuJoe For This Useful Post:
DandoX (06-09-2017), RL_BRZ (03-01-2017)
Old 03-01-2017, 11:39 AM   #3
burningjello
Senior Member
 
burningjello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Drives: 2016 FR-S
Location: Tacoma WA
Posts: 148
Thanks: 186
Thanked 53 Times in 36 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TofuJoe View Post
DashCommand works pretty well. Interface isn't perfect, but once you use the examples to see how to set up custom settings it's alright. Stay away from cheap wi-fi OBD dongles. I had a Veepeak one that bent the pins on my car's OBD port. You might consider using an OBD2 extension and plugging the dongle into that. Some of them have a switch to prevent battery drain: http://amzn.to/2mF6DrX

I'm now using a Bluetooth Kiwi 3, and the update rate with Harry's LapTimer is much faster than wi-fi. It's $99 vs $15 though: http://amzn.to/2lyMxPo
I'm going through this Veepeak issue right now with my wifi adapter. Did you just bend them back yourself? Sorry if this is off topic.
burningjello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 03:09 PM   #4
TofuJoe
Ohne Titel
 
TofuJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Drives: 2017 BRZ PP ISM
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 684
Thanks: 1,141
Thanked 412 Times in 234 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
@burningjello - I got an extension cable, plugged it in to the OBD port, and that solved the problem. I was able to use an EcuTek cable with the extension, as well as 2 different dongles, and everything works fine. Worth a try for $10. This is the cable that worked for me: http://amzn.to/2lXice7

Although if I had to do it again, I like the idea of one with a switch (linked above).
TofuJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 04:41 PM   #5
abemo
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Drives: 2017 CWP BRZ
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 20
Thanks: 7
Thanked 12 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I use dash command and like it so far. It provides me with the data that I need so far. I didn't have any issues getting it up an running.
abemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2017, 01:48 PM   #6
cat94
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Drives: '17 86
Location: CA
Posts: 198
Thanks: 91
Thanked 46 Times in 34 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jslack View Post
I wanted to buy and ODB2 sensor for the 2017 BRZ, but wasn't sure which is the best app to get for the iPhone. Can you guys give your reviews on which app would be the best paid and free. Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by abemo View Post
I use dash command and like it so far. It provides me with the data that I need so far. I didn't have any issues getting it up an running.
Are you able to get oil temps on the 2017s? I have a reader on order, and downloaded the app in advance. I only see the in-app purchase for up to 2014 brz.
cat94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2017, 02:21 PM   #7
8RZ
The Gunshine State
 
8RZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Drives: '14 BRZ Limited
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,463
Thanks: 631
Thanked 1,163 Times in 587 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
I really wish the Torque app worked on iPhones, instead I just bought an old Android tablet and BT adapter and it's been working great. Check out the Torque app thread too.
__________________

Current DD: M235i
8RZ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 8RZ For This Useful Post:
Dadhawk (06-09-2017)
Old 06-12-2017, 10:15 AM   #8
abemo
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Drives: 2017 CWP BRZ
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 20
Thanks: 7
Thanked 12 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cat94 View Post
Are you able to get oil temps on the 2017s? I have a reader on order, and downloaded the app in advance. I only see the in-app purchase for up to 2014 brz.

Yup, I didn't have any issues getting oil temps. That's mainly what I use the app for.
abemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 01:07 PM   #9
cat94
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Drives: '17 86
Location: CA
Posts: 198
Thanks: 91
Thanked 46 Times in 34 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by abemo View Post
Yup, I didn't have any issues getting oil temps. That's mainly what I use the app for.
Same here. The 2017 didn't even need an in-app purchase to read oil temps.

When you disconnect & reconnect the wifi dongle, do you need to remove the wifi ip/gateway settings and re-configure in order for DashCommand to connect?

I want to disconnect the device when I'm not in the car, but this happens to me and is pretty inconvenient.
cat94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 01:18 PM   #10
abemo
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Drives: 2017 CWP BRZ
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 20
Thanks: 7
Thanked 12 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cat94 View Post
Same here. The 2017 didn't even need an in-app purchase to read oil temps.

When you disconnect & reconnect the wifi dongle, do you need to remove the wifi ip/gateway settings and re-configure in order for DashCommand to connect?

I want to disconnect the device when I'm not in the car, but this happens to me and is pretty inconvenient.

I haven't had that happen to me. I use one of these to turn the Dongle on/off. Not sure if thats why I haven't run into the issue. Although I would imagine switching it off would be the same as unplugging the dongle. What dongle are you using, I'm using this one
abemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 01:24 PM   #11
cat94
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Drives: '17 86
Location: CA
Posts: 198
Thanks: 91
Thanked 46 Times in 34 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by abemo View Post
I haven't had that happen to me. I use one of these to turn the Dongle on/off. Not sure if thats why I haven't run into the issue. Although I would imagine switching it off would be the same as unplugging the dongle. What dongle are you using, I'm using this one
hmm I think I may have a knockoff... I'm using this. I was planning on getting a cable with a switch too. Out of curiosity, where do you run the wire? Right now I'm taking it up by the ebrake and into the center cubby.
cat94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 01:30 PM   #12
abemo
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Drives: 2017 CWP BRZ
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 20
Thanks: 7
Thanked 12 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cat94 View Post
hmm I think I may have a knockoff... I'm using this. I was planning on getting a cable with a switch too. Out of curiosity, where do you run the wire? Right now I'm taking it up by the ebrake and into the center cubby.
Interesting, I would think that yours should work fine. I tucked it under the center console (where the plastic meets the carpet of the driver-side footwell) and wedged the dongle between the seat and my ebrake instead.
abemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 01:34 PM   #13
cat94
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Drives: '17 86
Location: CA
Posts: 198
Thanks: 91
Thanked 46 Times in 34 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by abemo View Post
Interesting, I would think that yours should work fine. I tucked it under the center console (where the plastic meets the carpet of the driver-side footwell) and wedged the dongle between the seat and my ebrake instead.
I like that idea, especially with the on/off switch. I think I'll pick one up and see if the issue persists. I think I'll also get another app that connects to these things and try to pinpoint whether the issue is with the app or device itself.

Thanks for the info
cat94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 11:37 AM   #14
revaholic
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Drives: 2016 Ablaze Scion FR-S
Location: Toronto
Posts: 76
Thanks: 8
Thanked 36 Times in 22 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Hey all, just some personal consumer advice. I got a Foseal Wifi OBD2 reader from Amazon for my iPhone and no matter which app I used, it just wasn't working even though the reader itself was making blinky lights saying that it was communicating with the phone.

Then I used a friend's Veepeak, which slipped into the OB2 port like butter and immediately got it working on Car Doctor. So despite what other's experiences have been with Veepeak, that's the one that worked on my car.
revaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OBD2 Port RJ_ AUSTRALIA 33 08-25-2016 11:25 PM
OBD2 to phone app? Jajanken86 Software Tuning 5 06-16-2016 03:27 PM
OBD2 for iPhone? Venator Software Tuning 8 07-21-2014 03:41 PM
WTB: OBD2 splitter 1Cor10:23 Canada Classifieds 0 04-07-2014 12:56 PM
OBD2.ca any good? zyvod CANADA 11 08-28-2013 11:34 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2024 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.