follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB

Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB Problems, issues, recalls, TSBs


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-07-2020, 04:07 AM   #1
Juicyseven
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Drives: Toyota Funcargo
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Unhappy Help! Cluster Pairing Problem

Long story short, my buddy bought a used JDM 86 cluster for his 2020 BRZ ts(Canadian Car), the car starts, but with a CEL and limp mode on. The car will not rev pass 4500 rpm.

We got some codes about lost communication with ECM, and used techstream to try to perform a "handshake" procedure, which is ECU Communication ID Registration. However, we got a message from techstream saying ECU Communication ID Registration has failed.

I have tried 2 different versions of techstream, and got the same results. I have read through every possible post about cluster swap on this forum, and found out nothing about this situation. Most people seem to not able to start the car after the cluster swap (cars with key ignition), and push start car should be plug and play.

Information I got here makes the situation even more confusing, because I put a brand new GR cluster in my GF's 2017 86(key ignition), it was a true plug and play, no techstream or anything involved, it just works. My buddy's BRZ is a push start car, which is supposed to be plug and play, but the car is now in limp mode. The results we get is the opposite to the posts here, maybe because we are in Canada??

Hope we can get some help here. Thanks in advance.
Juicyseven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 08:03 AM   #2
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,659
Thanks: 985
Thanked 4,753 Times in 2,846 Posts
Mentioned: 529 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Yes seems unusual


do you have fhe actual CEL code like Uxxxx ?


if you put original cluster back is problem solved ?


was cluster from samextransmission type car ie auto or manual


have you tried loop ing pins 4 and 13 on obd port for 30 minutes as per fhe ecu replacement proceedure ?


do you have a tactrix cable you could try flashing a later ecu calid revision to cars ecu. Its possible the latest 2020 needs to see and updated ecu revision
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2020, 06:41 PM   #3
q100082832
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Drives: 2020 Subaru BRZ Sport-Tech RS
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I got same problem with it.
When I try to use TechStream to do ECU communication ID registration, it said needs "Smart cancel funtion is OFF"...
WTF is smart cancel function???????
q100082832 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2020, 06:42 PM   #4
q100082832
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Drives: 2020 Subaru BRZ Sport-Tech RS
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve99 View Post
Yes seems unusual


do you have fhe actual CEL code like Uxxxx ?


if you put original cluster back is problem solved ?


was cluster from samextransmission type car ie auto or manual


have you tried loop ing pins 4 and 13 on obd port for 30 minutes as per fhe ecu replacement proceedure ?


do you have a tactrix cable you could try flashing a later ecu calid revision to cars ecu. Its possible the latest 2020 needs to see and updated ecu revision
Hey man thanks for reply, i got same problem with this guy. It is U1015. when change back to stock cluster, problem is gone.
q100082832 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2020, 07:30 AM   #5
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,659
Thanks: 985
Thanked 4,753 Times in 2,846 Posts
Mentioned: 529 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by q100082832 View Post
Hey man thanks for reply, i got same problem with this guy. It is U1015. when change back to stock cluster, problem is gone.

was your cat. 2020 as well was cluster from a 2020


the latest model 2020 have differebt ecu firmware, this may look for a specific cluster


you may need to revert the ecu firmare to a earlier revision. Not sure the cluster swaps worked on pre 2020 fine, but it pissible skmthing changed
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2020, 02:40 PM   #6
Opie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 2013 BRZ HPDE Car
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,267
Thanks: 822
Thanked 1,050 Times in 514 Posts
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
I'm pretty sure the cluster ties to the VIN from the BIU. When you do the ECU Communication ID Registration it writes the VIN from the BIU to the cluster, if the cluster already has a VIN stored it cannot be overwritten.

This is why when you lose all the keys in the car the cluster has to be sent in along with the BIU/Immobilizer (for Subaru's) and be erased before it can be programmed with new keys. Not sure if Techstream can erase the cluster info.
__________________
2013 BRZ Premium 6MT - Track Car, 2020 GMC Canyon Denali Duramax - Tow Vehicle, 2018 Forester XT - Wife's Daily, 2016 Crosstrek - Daughter's Ride, 1993 Honda Civic Hatchcrap Champcar, and always buying random twins...
Opie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2020, 09:31 AM   #7
Yoshoobaroo
Chips & Torque Dip
 
Yoshoobaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Drives: 2013 BRZ
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,042
Thanks: 955
Thanked 1,654 Times in 873 Posts
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opie View Post
I'm pretty sure the cluster ties to the VIN from the BIU. When you do the ECU Communication ID Registration it writes the VIN from the BIU to the cluster, if the cluster already has a VIN stored it cannot be overwritten.

This is why when you lose all the keys in the car the cluster has to be sent in along with the BIU/Immobilizer (for Subaru's) and be erased before it can be programmed with new keys. Not sure if Techstream can erase the cluster info.
But push button start cars' clusters are supposed to be virgin, as they are not part of the immobilizer loop on a push button start car.
Yoshoobaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
cluster, techstream

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OEM cluster 60 shipped engine bay bling 105. Hood cluster 105 Mr. Engine, Exhaust, Bolt-Ons 6 09-09-2019 11:34 PM
New Key Fob Pairing ZoomZoom1 Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum 16 05-07-2019 04:39 PM
Cluster Problem? racearizona Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 8 04-08-2014 07:56 PM
Pioneer AVICX9310BT Bluetooth Pairing Problem rip curl CANADA 1 09-26-2013 05:05 PM
Bluetooth pairing every time I get in the car (brz) (SOLVED) robot Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 7 09-12-2013 10:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.