follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Tracking / Autocross / HPDE / Drifting

Tracking / Autocross / HPDE / Drifting What these cars were built for!

User Tag List

Old 10-02-2012, 12:33 PM   #1
Mark Slide Squad

Drives: 2013 Whiteout FR-S 6MT, S14 Kouki
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
In car video of Buttonwillow event in my all stock FR-S

This was my FR-S' first track event. I've been doing track days for about 15 years now, but was heavily involved with drifting most of those years. I bought my FR-S about 2 months ago, and I have no regrets whatsoever!

The track is Buttonwillow, CA, out near Bakersfield. A great track that is technical, has elevation change, and relatively clean and well kept. The event was supposed to be the full course (13CW configuration) but due to a motorcycle accident the day prior on the East loop side on fresh tarmac which gouged up the newly laid surface pretty good, they were forced to close the East loop side. We did full West loop configuration #27 instead. It did extremely well in factory form out there on the track against the big boys (M3's, GTR, EVO X, Vette, etc) and I know there is a lot more potential in the car. Yeah, I know you've heard this all before from other postings, but the first thing that needs an upgrade is the factory tires. While they might be good for normal everyday driving and occasional canyon run, on the track they show their lack of grip. I understand that Subaru/Toyota put the tires on for a few reasons, to make the car feel more neutral and "fun to drive", as well as to keep costs down, since they are borrowed from the Prius.